swapping and sampling preserves

October 9, 2009 at 9:00 am 4 comments

‘Fortunate is the one who has learned to admire but not to envy.
To envy others neither diminishes their good fortune nor increases your own’ * Shaheen's chutney

Thankfully envy was absent while reading about gluts of gorgeous red tomatoes at Allotment2Kitchen a few weeks ago.  Admiring Mangocheeks’s tomatoey produce (and hard work) undoubtedly increased my own good fortune when I received these wonderful gifts:  a jar of Spicy Tomato and Apple Chutney and a copy of  the Hummingbird Bakery cookbook.  Warm, huggy thanks from my kitchen to yours Mangocheeks and I hope you enjoy the Marrow Cream and Hedgerow Jelly.mangocheeks chutney and book

Mangocheeks has written several posts about using home grown chillis and I’m coming round to the idea of adding a little more fire to my cuisine.  I’m usually a bit cautious with hot and spicy food after a friend’s over-chillied dish many moons ago left me feeling my insides had been blow torched.  I love the sweet kick of this spicy tomato chutney though.  We ate it with dinner the night it arrived and added generous spoonfuls to filled pittas for a lunch or two before polishing it off straight from the spoon.  How hard core is that for a chilli shy sampler?Mangocheeks chutney with dinner

allotment ingredients:   baked Robinta potatoes, roasted dwarf green beans, roasted beetroot
shop bought:  goats cheese

I thought it would be fitting to use an Allotment2Kitchen recipe to break my chilli embargo and experiment with the chilli peppers Dave gave me.  Where better to start than with a recipe I know I’ll enjoy?  Spicy tomato chutney jar

I made a couple of adjustments to Mangocheeks’ Spicy Tomato recipe because I didn’t have the same ingredients available

1) green and just turning orange tomatoes instead of ripe red ones
2) dates instead of raisins
3) an extra apple to compensate for the lack of sweetness from the unripe tomatoesMOSAIC - spicy tomato chutney

I was delighted with how it turned out and other than being a less vibrant red colour it tasted similar and had the same kind of kick.  I shall definitely be picking more of Dave’s chillis once I’d decided whether to freeze or dry them.  Oh heck, perhaps I’ll give both a try! Dave's chillis closeup

* Thought for Today the morning my gifts from Mangocheeks arrived

Entry filed under: allotment tales, great people, in the kitchen. Tags: , , , .

teeny tiny toms looking after lavender

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ann  |  October 9, 2009 at 3:22 pm

    Mmmmmm – looks chunky and delicious. And the cookbook looks exciting, hoping to see some of your baking from it. I’ve got to cut down on my baked goods for a few days, must lose the 4 lbs I’ve put on before I dare bake anymore.

    Reply
  • 2. Johanna  |  October 13, 2009 at 11:13 am

    I love chutney and it is twice as good when home made – I have been better at it lately – blogging is a great way to feel inspired! And that last chilli photo is gorgeous – they are so beautiful even if I too am chilli-wary!

    Reply
  • 3. Kimberly  |  November 1, 2009 at 10:07 pm

    I made a Curried Apple Chutney a few weeks ago. It called for hot and sweet peppers, but I did just sweet bc that is what I had and I am not a big fan of heat. I love the chutney though! It is fun to be inspired by one another.

    Reply
    • 4. Nip it in the bud  |  November 2, 2009 at 6:04 pm

      sounds yummy Kimberly, I have curried apple and carrot chutney on my list for making. Zillions of apples just need to get the other ingredients!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my mostly-about-gardening blog, with a dash of cooking and a smattering of cats.
I'd love to hear your comments and reply to all so don't be shy, come and say hello...

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!

Blog Stats

  • 335,579 hits
Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com
Tips and recipes to reduce food waste - Love Food Hate Waste

Flickr photos

Week 5 - personality_drinking bath water

Week 5 - personality_E with night light

Week 5 - personality_ice lolly

Week 5 - personality_playing with elderflowerheads

Week 4 - movement_E catching bubbles

Week 4 - movement_E eating chip

Week 4 - movement_E swimming with Daddy

Week 4 - movement_football on the beach

Week 3_day in the life mosaic_Glastonbury weekend*

Week 3 - family_E on the beach

More Photos
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

