souping green tomatoes

October 20, 2009 at 10:22 pm 15 comments

green tomato soup_close up*I’ve been reading Jacqueline’s fab Scottish food blog Tinned Tomatoes for quite some time; watching from the wings as the ‘No Croutons Required‘ soup challenge comes and goes each month.  This month’s challenge was to create a ‘frugal‘ soup or salad inspired by store cupboard favourites, leftovers or vegetables plucked from the garden.  Returning from the allotment on Sunday I decided I’d pick up the NCR gauntlet to create a nourishing soup that would warm me up, boost my immunity and most importantly fill me up.  A brief rummage through the fridge and freezer resulted in these ingredients …  Green tomato soup - toms and carrotGreen tomato soup_garlic bulbDaves chillis in box close upgreen tomato soup_coconut milk ice cubesbeing cooked like this… MOSAIC - green tomato soupwith a hearty sprinkling of coriander and cumin seeds.

A recipe in pictures for you!  If you’d like to check out the other soup or salad entries and cast your vote click here.  If you’re curious to know why I chose these ingredients:

green tomatoes – not enough to make chutney and a bit tired of all that stirring and bottling now anyway!

carrot –  the last chunk of my ‘bargain of the month‘ carrot – bought from the Farmer’s Market for 20p and the size of wine bottle!.  It wasn’t at all woody but I grated it to reduce the cooking time and retain the vitamin content.

garlic – sprouting and begging to be used.  I didn’t realise when I bought this garlic that they were single whole bulbs, rather than cloves.  As it cooked up it was stingingly strong but once the other spices and the coconut milk were added the dominance of the garlic mellowed.  It was probably equivalent to about 4 cloves.

chilli – added with the carrot, simmered and then removed before blending.  It added a nice kick that would have knocked me sideways if I’d left it in being a bit of a lightweight in the chilli department.  These chillis of Dave’s are really hot as I discovered when nibbling the end of the grated carrot and getting tingly lips from my chilli hands!

coconut milk, leftover from a curry I made a few weeks ago and frozen.  You can guess why I added it.

(butter beans… not added as the soup was thick enough without them and I didn’t want to alter the balance of flavours created)

creme fraiche - the dregs of a pot soon to be out of date to make it a little creamier.  If left out this soup is suitable for vegans.

pitta bread – toasted and torn in pieces for dipping (fresh, cough, from the freezer!).

Green tomato soup - George's with pitta

quantities for turning green tomatoes into a soupy orange delight
a dozen tomatoes, chopped – green + a few just ripening orange
1 chunk of a huge carrot (= about 3 normal size carrots), grated
2 small onions or 1 large onion, chopped
1 bulb of garlic, crushed (or about 4 cloves)
1 chilli pepper, de-seeded but kept whole to be removed before blending
2 heaped teaspoons of coriander powder
1 teaspoon cumin seeds
1 mug of vegetable stock
6 frozen cubes of coconut milk (= to 2 tablespoons?)
oil for frying onion and tomatoes
creme fraiche (optional to stir in at the end)

ps. just look how big that carrot was! MOSAIC - supersized carrot
update: my green tomato soup won

Entry filed under: allotment tales, in the kitchen. Tags: , .

lunching on leftovers speed making runner bean chutney

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. miss m  |  October 20, 2009 at 11:52 pm

    I’ve seen wonky vegetables before, but I’m not getting over that carrot … good gosh, it’s ginormous ! The heart-shaped cocunut milk cubes are just adorable !

    Another fabulous recipe that simply looks divine. Lovely ! thx for sharing.

    Reply
  • 2. Mrs Green  |  October 21, 2009 at 2:16 pm

    Gosh, that looks fab and you must be reading my mind. I was wondering what else I could do with green tomatoes except make chutney – I didn’t realise you could use them like this – doh! Thanks for the inspiration and the delicious photos!

    Reply
  • 3. Jacqueline  |  October 21, 2009 at 4:57 pm

    What a wonderful soup Nic! Thank you for entering it. I loved your idea for freezing coconut milk, as I rarely use a whole can at one time, except on those rare occasions when I come across the dinky liitle cans.

    Reply
  • 4. mangocheeks  |  October 21, 2009 at 5:55 pm

    Hey welcome to NCR. So glad to read you’re entering. It does look like a thick substantial tasty soup.

    Like Jacqueline, I love your coconut hearts.

    Reply
  • 5. Nip it in the bud  |  October 21, 2009 at 7:34 pm

    I was so chuffed with how this soup turned out and even more so now it’s been welcomed into the NCR club so warmly :o)

    Miss M – thank you for your kind comments. It was a crazy big carrot and looked very peculiar when we had giant slices on our plate that dwarfed our broccolli!

    Mrs Green – I didn’t either which is why I’m pleased being experimental paid off!

    Jac – it worked a treat and I still have 6 hearts in the freezer for some other soupy delight…

    MC – are you impressed with my use of chilli? I may actually leave some in next time (that’ll probably require the whole tray of frozen milk hearts!)

    Reply
  • 6. Your husband  |  October 21, 2009 at 9:36 pm

    best soup Nic’s ever made FACT!

    Reply
  • 7. The Ordinary Vegetarian  |  October 22, 2009 at 1:54 pm

    I am in awe of your carrot! well, and the soup too! sounds great

    Reply
  • 8. Nip it in the bud  |  October 22, 2009 at 5:21 pm

    thanks Sarah, it was great that a huge carrot bought for it’s comedy value was actually edible and juicy!
    You have some very tasty looking recipes. I wonder why so many vegetarian cooks have moggies prowling around their kitchen? Evie and Arnie look super cute :o)

    Reply
  • 9. The Ordinary Vegetarian  |  October 26, 2009 at 8:20 pm

    PS. I’m in love with this word ‘moggy’!! I’m totally adopting this word and bringing it full force to the US. :)

    Reply
    • 10. Nip it in the bud  |  October 26, 2009 at 10:24 pm

      yay, moggies rock. ‘pussy cat’ is cute too but if you ever come to England don’t shorten it or you may end up blushing

      Reply
  • 11. JoJo Jon  |  October 29, 2009 at 5:10 pm

    Hey, I saw yer post on nipitinthebud.wordpress.com. Very interesting.
    Great effort keep up the good work! John

    Reply
  • 12. mangocheeks  |  October 29, 2009 at 7:43 pm

    One little chilli is good. One step at a time.

    Reply
  • 13. Johanna  |  October 31, 2009 at 11:37 pm

    that carrot looks like one with oodles of personality and the soup looks delicious – congratulations on winning NCR this month

    Reply
    • 14. Nip it in the bud  |  November 1, 2009 at 12:37 pm

      thanks Johanna, I’m chuffed to have one :o)

      Reply
  • 15. Home Grown! « Vix Freespirit  |  November 14, 2011 at 5:58 pm

    [...] cheese sandwich. Green Tomato Soup was also created thanks to inspiration from WordPress bloggar Nip It In The Bud. Apart from being so simple (I just chucked everything into the slow-cooker, and waited), it was [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my mostly-about-gardening blog, with a dash of cooking and a smattering of cats.
I'd love to hear your comments and reply to all so don't be shy, come and say hello...

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!

Blog Stats

  • 315,175 hits
Tips and recipes to reduce food waste - Love Food Hate Waste

Flickr photos

Week 5 - personality_drinking bath water

Week 5 - personality_E with night light

Week 5 - personality_ice lolly

Week 5 - personality_playing with elderflowerheads

Week 4 - movement_E catching bubbles

Week 4 - movement_E eating chip

Week 4 - movement_E swimming with Daddy

Week 4 - movement_football on the beach

Week 3_day in the life mosaic_Glastonbury weekend*

Week 3 - family_E on the beach

More Photos
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

