making oat and onion roast

December 3, 2009 at 9:14 pm 15 comments

It’s been a while since I’ve made oat and onion roast.  It sprang to mind after reading Pam Corbin’s recommendation of saucy haw ketchup with a ‘ good nut roast‘.  I’ve not had the pleasure of a ‘good‘ nut roast but I really enjoy the simple, flavours of this oat and onion roast.  The first time I made it I went for a skinny version with half the cheese.  I also left out the marmite (I’m on the ‘hate‘ side of that fence) but the result was somewhat dry and flavourless.  So a heaped teaspoon of marmite is the only way to go (I do still use less cheese than the 6oz recommended in the original recipe).  Equal measures of oats and cheese is easier to remember anyway.  If you need any more persuading this is a great one pot wonder – mixing and baking in the same dish and it’s great cold the next day too.  before and after roasting

To make oat and onion roast
4 oz oats
4 oz cheese, grated
2 eggs, beaten
1 onion, choppped
1 dessert spoon of mixed herbs
1 heaped tsp of marmite

  • Preheat the oven to 200 degrees C.
  • Mix all the ingredients together then spread out evenly
  • Cook for 45 mins or less.  Cover with foil if starts to brown too quickly.  (I prefer to use a larger dish and spread thinner to ensure even cooking and less time in the oven)
  • Serve as an stuffing-like accompaniment to your main dish or with salad for a snack/lunch with a generous dollop of tomato chutney or ketchup
  • recipe adapted from:  my friend Ruth’s mum Pauline who’s been making oat and onion roast since Ruth was tiny.  Ruth now makes it for her boys and it’s a family favourite, especially with Rory.

I made a second version of the saucy haw ketchup with the addition of roasted tomato passata which thickens the ketchup up considerably.  It’s a healthier version of tomato ketchup because hawthorn berries are good for your heart: increasing blood flow to the heart and normalising blood pressure.  James Wong in the BBC programme ‘Grow your own drugs‘ made fruit leather with hawthorn berries and globe artichokes to reduce cholesterol.  I didn’t get to try it this year because the artichoke heads were too tough by the time the haw berries were ready but it’s definitely on my list for next summer.

(sigh, autumn is marching on and the poor light photos are not improving…)

Entry filed under: in the kitchen. Tags: , .

making christmas chutney christmas come early

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. miss m  |  December 3, 2009 at 11:02 pm

    Mmm, your roast and ketchup look delish ! Nothing like a hearty roast to hit the spot.
    James’ series was delightful, wasn’t it ? (He’s such a cutie !) We have a lovely “herboristerie” in the area. I hope to post about it one day.

    Reply
  • 2. Ann  |  December 4, 2009 at 8:54 am

    Looks delicious, your labels are a good idea, listing the ingredients is a good reminder of what you put into your recipes.

    Reply
  • 3. Hazel  |  December 4, 2009 at 9:35 am

    The delicious looking oat & onion roast is on the list for this weekend, Nic! I have plenty of stilton in at the mo, so I think a couple of ounces of that and a couple of oz of chedder…? Will let you know how it goes!

    Reply
  • 4. mangocheeks  |  December 4, 2009 at 9:51 am

    I’ve never made roast with oats befroe, so will keep in mind this recipe.

    Those Haw ketchup looks fantastic! And by the way are you selling those jars Madam? : D I like the idea of laberllign the ingredients too , if I am more organnised that is what i will be doing next year.

    Reply
  • 5. BitterSweet  |  December 4, 2009 at 2:40 pm

    What a unique and intriguing roast! I’m thinking it wouldn’t be too hard to veganize (soy cheese, tofu instead of eggs) and am becoming very tempted to try…! It really does sound like good, belly-warming comfort food. :)

    Reply
  • 6. Jacqueline  |  December 4, 2009 at 6:01 pm

    I’ve never tried a dish like this before. I am definitely on the hate side of the fence too, but I could see how it could add flavour as an ingredient and not the star of the show. Yeuch! Doesn’t bare thinking about otherwise. I really think I would enjoy this.

    Reply
  • 7. Deb  |  December 4, 2009 at 11:21 pm

    Nic this looks delish – I’m going to give it a go! I’ve not got an actual recipe for nut roast …. but know how to make up a good one. Basically grated onion, carrot and fine chopped celery, plus garlic all softened in olive oil. Add loads of chopped nuts – cashews and brazils are great for creamyness and peanuts, walnuts and almonds for taste. About equal amount of breadcrumbs. Then mix a paste from tomato puree, oxo, soya sauce, olive oil, pepper and a bit of boiling water and add just enough to bind it all together. Put in a loaf tin and tastes better if left in the fridge for 24hours before baking for about 40mins….

    Reply
  • 8. Nip it in the bud  |  December 5, 2009 at 9:31 am

    Miss M – I’d love to see your ‘herboristerie’ and all the plants we may share in common going by a different name in your garden (i’m afraid I dropped French as soon as I could at school – just couldn’t get on with it). James’s series was ace – I hope they re-run it. At least I copied all the recipes before they disappeared off the net ;o)

    Ann – so easy to forget what’s what especially when chutneys become experimental because your missing some of the ingredients they suggest. And don’t they look pretty ;o)

    Hazel – a cheese mix will be ace – a different roast every time. This one here had a bit of parmesan in it – I’m not a great fan of lots of oily melted cheddar

    MC – I’ll gladly sell them (and at a very reasonable price ;o) but they’re quite weighty to post. Just the small 110g jar that I posted to Ann cost a couple of quid. But if anyone would like to try them drop me a line….

    Hannah – i bet it would work with all sorts of things so long as there was something in it that binds it together. Look forward to seeing what you evolve it in to

    Jac – it’s lovely, simple and hearty. In fact I think I almost prefer it on it’s own like this for lunch than served up along something else straight from the oven

    Deb – …and I shall try your recipe too. Thanks so much, sounds lush.

    Reply
  • 9. shoestringalley  |  December 6, 2009 at 4:11 pm

    I’ve been having a good catch up on all of your posts. I’ve never heard of an oat and onion roast but it looks amazing!

    Reply
  • 10. Choclette  |  December 7, 2009 at 9:14 pm

    Love the winter arrangement – amazing what can be done at this time of year.

    If I need to thicken anything up to make it ketchup like, as I do in my chilli sauce, I use a bit of arrowroot. As well as acting as a thickening agent, it keeps the bottles nice and clean and it’s meant to be terribly good for you.

    Reply
    • 11. Nip it in the bud  |  December 8, 2009 at 10:08 am

      what a great tip Choclette, I will try that next time. I’ve seen arrowroot in the baking section but didn’t know what it was for. Bit like never really knowing when you should use baking powder and when to use bicarb.

      Reply
  • 12. how many? … winner « Nip it in the bud  |  December 15, 2009 at 3:33 pm

    [...] jar of roasted tomato and haw berry ketchup is on it’s way to Jo’s table in Peterborough.  I hope she enjoy’s sampling it as [...]

    Reply
  • 13. Johanna  |  December 17, 2009 at 1:27 am

    I get lots of pleasure from a good nut roast but have never heard of this onion and oat loaf – must try it as I love any sort of veg loaf

    Reply
  • 14. Ruth  |  October 29, 2011 at 6:25 pm

    My OH has suddenly decided he wants to eat lots of oats and it reminded me that I used to make a recipe for a roast similar to this one, many years ago. I got the recipe from She magazine but lost it. So far as I can remember, this looks like the same recipe, so thanks a lot! I will try it out next week.

    Reply
  • 15. Nip it in the bud  |  October 30, 2011 at 8:23 pm

    hello Ruth, thanks for posting your comment. I hope the roast tastes as good as you remember :o)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my mostly-about-gardening blog, with a dash of cooking and a smattering of cats.
I'd love to hear your comments and reply to all so don't be shy, come and say hello...

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!

Blog Stats

  • 295,321 hits

latest posts

Tips and recipes to reduce food waste - Love Food Hate Waste

Flickr photos

Week 5 - personality_drinking bath water

Week 5 - personality_E with night light

Week 5 - personality_ice lolly

Week 5 - personality_playing with elderflowerheads

Week 4 - movement_E catching bubbles

Week 4 - movement_E eating chip

Week 4 - movement_E swimming with Daddy

Week 4 - movement_football on the beach

Week 3_day in the life mosaic_Glastonbury weekend*

Week 3 - family_E on the beach

More Photos
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

