harvesting redcurrants for jelly making

Redcurrant twigs were one of the first things I planted when I took on my plot in the Autumn of 2004.  But in spite of their several years growth my redcurrant bushes have never really come to much.  They sit in the shade of an elderflower tree so this Autumn I will move them to a different location along with new cuttings from Henri’s fabulous redcurrant patch.  No prizes for guessing which redcurrant bushes belong to which plot holder!
So until I have an abundant crop of my own Henri kindly keeps me in redcurrants for my jelly making.

See last year’s making redcurrant jelly post for recipe

6 comments

  1. Oh how wonderful – they are such a wonderful colour and make such a gorgeous jelly. I managed to get hold of some last year, but no luck this year – sigh! Hope yours fare better in their new location.

  2. Love the colour of the redcurrant jelly.

    I’ll be using your rhubarb chutney recipe – thanks!

    My new camera is great, you are right. I’ve really enjoyed using it but I must learn all it’s functions to get the best from it.

  3. Those look great – I should have remembered to check your recipe before I made mine this summer. Mine turned out a little sweeter than I’d have liked. Good luck with getting more berries next year can’t wait to see what else you’ll make with them:)

  4. Looks wonderful! I saw red currants in the grocery store yesterday – $5 for a teeny tiny punnet! PIty as I’d love to make this.

    And, surprisingly, I saw gooseberries too – at much the same price…they were so small – thought they would be as big as grapes!

  5. choc – maybe you could get some cuttings to start your own bush. Just think of what you could do with redcurrants and dark chocolate, mmmmm

    Ann – enjoy the chutney :o) I kept meaning to learn how to use my camera properly but the simplicity of AI is just too seductive. And I love the spontaneity it provides – too easy to overthink a shot otherwise.

    Cheryl – there’s always next year ;o)

    Christine – what! Henri would be rich then if he set up a little stall :o) As for the gooseberries, they should be as big as grapes!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.