slow cooked green tomato and rhubarb chutney

October 11, 2010 at 10:18 pm 9 comments

After a typically British summer my tomato plants flowered abundantly during the dry spells then struggled to ripen their fruit after weeks of rain.  For a short while I enjoyed cherry tomatoes plucked straight from the vine and mealtimes showered with oven roasted tomatoes.

Heaps of green tomatoes at the end of the summer might have made the heart of many a gardener sink into their boots.  Mine was popping out of my chest at a prize far greater than sun ripened red ones.

My interest in gardening sprang from an insatiable desire for my mother-in-laws green tomato chutney; a preserve that money can’t buy and supermarkets can’t supply the main ingredient for.  Growing my own green tomatoes was the only way to ensure a lifetime supply of my favourite chutney. 

Dealing with over 10lbs of green tomatoes this year called for more pots than I had available.  Using a slow cooker was a revelation and I still haven’t worked out why it’s never occurred to me before!  I was able to make up a recipe as I went along adding vinegar, sugar and spices as teaspoon tastings dictated.  For two very sour raw fruits I was surprised at how modest a measure of sugar was needed compared to other green tomato chutney recipes.  For the first several hours it seems like nothing is happening and there are no vinegary fumes to give the game away.  You can let it simmer on a low heat overnight (no more past-midnight bottling for me – hooray!) and in the morning jar it up at your own leisure.

to make green tomato and rhubarb chutney

1lb (450g) green tomatoes, sliced or whole if cherry tomatoes
1lb (450g) rhubarb, chunks
2 large red onions, sliced
0.5 lb (225g) apples, weight after peeling and chopping
0.25 lb (110g) raisins
0.5 pint (284ml) red wine vinegar
1.5 lb (675g) sugar
4 cloves
2 tsp ground allspice

  • Put the tomatoes, rhubarb, onions, apple and raisins into the slow cooker and set to a medium heat.  (I used frozen rhubarb which added some moisture to the pot – if using fresh add half a cup of water)
  • Allow to reduce for about 4 hours or until the fruit looks like it’s starting to break down.  Increase the heat setting to high and add the vinegar, sugar and spices gradually according to taste (and different combinations according to the flavours you like).  Stir well as you do this and return from time to time to check it.
  • Continue to cook for a further 6-8 hours or when it’s turned a rich brown colour and is the thickness you like.  If leaving overnight turn down to a low heat.
  • Enjoy with just about anything if you’re a chutney addict like me.  My current fave is on top of cheddar or soft cheese on a thick salted rice cake.
Entry filed under: allotment tales, in the kitchen. Tags: .

making purple potato salad be content with what you have

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rachel @ Suburban Yogini  |  October 12, 2010 at 8:23 am

    Ah yes, we too had a million green tomatoes! Great recipe. I did a tomato and apple one here…. http://www.suburbanyogini.com/2010/10/06/humpday-recipe-tomato-chutney/

    Reply
  • 2. Janet/Plantaliscious  |  October 12, 2010 at 11:17 am

    That looks – and sounds – awesome. I only have a few green toms, so I guess I’ll have to save your post and hope for more next year…

    Reply
  • 3. Bilbo  |  October 13, 2010 at 10:03 am

    a prize far greater than sun ripened red ones

    I worry about you sometimes, I really do :} :} :}

    Reply
  • 4. Johanna GGG  |  October 13, 2010 at 12:55 pm

    I have never made green tomato chutney nor tasted it but am always curious about it – I do agree that home made chutneys are priceless for being able to have flavours that you struggle to find in bought ones

    Reply
  • 5. mary daniel  |  November 1, 2010 at 5:38 pm

    hye im doing a Christmas event in St Briavels pavillion hall on the 5th of december and wondered if you would like to join me with a stall with chutney and the likes.It is in aid of Alzheimers and a stall is £10. plus a raffle prize pleaselet me know if you would like to come.

    Reply
  • 6. Nip it in the bud  |  November 3, 2010 at 10:01 am

    Hi Mary, thanks for the kind offer. While I have more chutneys than one family needs it’s not enough to fill a stall.
    All the best with your Christmas Fayre.

    Reply
  • 7. C is for … « Nip it in the bud  |  August 4, 2011 at 3:48 pm

    [...] apple and carrot, spicy tomato and apple chutney if I get plenty of ripe tomatoes and green tomato chutney if I [...]

    Reply
  • 8. Alison  |  September 17, 2012 at 10:21 am

    I’ve just used my slow cooker for the first time to make this – the first time I’ve made chutney. Totally delish! Hope you don’t mind if I share your recipe :)

    Reply
  • 9. Nip it in the bud  |  September 18, 2012 at 6:58 am

    great to hear Alison. My slow cooker just gathers dust at the moment and this was my first year of no tomatoes or chutney making :o( Very happy for you to share the recipe

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my mostly-about-gardening blog, with a dash of cooking and a smattering of cats.
I'd love to hear your comments and reply to all so don't be shy, come and say hello...

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!

Blog Stats

  • 310,274 hits
Tips and recipes to reduce food waste - Love Food Hate Waste

Flickr photos

Week 5 - personality_drinking bath water

Week 5 - personality_E with night light

Week 5 - personality_ice lolly

Week 5 - personality_playing with elderflowerheads

Week 4 - movement_E catching bubbles

Week 4 - movement_E eating chip

Week 4 - movement_E swimming with Daddy

Week 4 - movement_football on the beach

Week 3_day in the life mosaic_Glastonbury weekend*

Week 3 - family_E on the beach

More Photos
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

