how do you like your eggs in the morning?

February 12, 2014 at 11:16 pm 5 comments

I like mine with a kiss.  Boiled or fried, I don’t mind, as long as I get my kiss.

This is exactly how I like my eggs to look – sunny side up, soft and runny.  Perfect.8-2-14 - yolky egg 4B

Years ago I tagged a blog post about Flower Power eggs using slices of bell peppers as moulds for fried eggs.  I finally got around to trying it this month when OXO Good Grips sent me a flip and fold omelette turner to try.  One pan, one pepper, one egg; easy peasy I thought.  What could possibly go wrong?12-2-14 - flower power egg 4B

Well it turns out making flower power eggs is easier said than done.  It took 3 attempts to get an egg appetising enough to eat and photograph!  Thank goodness I had my lovely wide, flexible omelette turner so that getting the egg out of the pan wasn’t on my list of things that didn’t work out.  I did learn 4 very important things about making flower power eggs:

  • cut the pepper rings thickly so the egg doesn’t overspill the sides
  • don’t flip it over no matter how much it seems like it’s not cooking (it’s not a pretty sight!).
  • expect it to take much longer to cook than the fried eggs you’re used to making (pop the pan under the grill briefly to remove the jelly like wobble from the top)
  • use your biggest pan to make several in one go12-2-14 - flower power egg_close up 4B

Disclosure: I was sent the omelette flip and fold turner for the purposes of this review. I was not required to write a positive review and all opinions expressed are my own.

Entry filed under: in the kitchen. Tags: .

a happy birthday week Me and Mine 2014 {February family portrait}

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Everlovin' Mum  |  February 13, 2014 at 11:06 am

    Looks interesting using a pepper to keep egg in place.I will try next time I have a fried egg to do.

    Reply
  • 2. Janet/Plantaliscious  |  February 13, 2014 at 11:20 am

    Now that looks tasty, going to have to try it for lunch!

    Reply
    • 3. Nip it in the bud  |  February 13, 2014 at 11:46 am

      Hello Janet and Mum. Re-read the original blog post and it looks like if you cover while cooking it might cook quicker. And the yolk may be more like the centre if a flower than in mine where the white congealed over the top. I too shall be making them again at lunch time ;0)

      Reply
  • 4. Jac -Tinned Tomatoes (@tinnedtoms)  |  February 22, 2014 at 10:24 pm

    I like mine soft and oozing too. Nice¬¬

    Reply
  • 5. cariemay  |  March 7, 2014 at 9:56 pm

    That’s really clever – maybe using small eggs might help, and finishing it off like you do a Spanish omlette, because it’s definitely worth it for the effect!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my mostly-about-gardening blog, with a dash of cooking and a smattering of cats.
I'd love to hear your comments and reply to all so don't be shy, come and say hello...

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!

Blog Stats

  • 335,649 hits
Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com
Tips and recipes to reduce food waste - Love Food Hate Waste

Flickr photos

Week 5 - personality_drinking bath water

Week 5 - personality_E with night light

Week 5 - personality_ice lolly

Week 5 - personality_playing with elderflowerheads

Week 4 - movement_E catching bubbles

Week 4 - movement_E eating chip

Week 4 - movement_E swimming with Daddy

Week 4 - movement_football on the beach

Week 3_day in the life mosaic_Glastonbury weekend*

Week 3 - family_E on the beach

More Photos
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

