snap, snap, snap and spelling mistakes

March 30, 2014 at 8:39 pm 5 comments

I can’t remember the last time I used my camera. My proper camera that is. Since G bought me a smart phone at Christmas I’ve taken all my snaps and videos of E using that. The quality isn’t as good but it’s always to hand and amazing for capturing fleeting moments.  I’m particularly enamoured with a phone app called 1 Second Everyday for making easy peasy movies.  I love the fact that it takes next to no time to mash clips together compared todownloading and editing the conventional way (having had to learn how to use movie making software first!).  And it stops me from being so perfectionist about the process and finished result.  Here’s the first 2 months of what will become a 5 minute 2014 movie. I just love it!

There is a downside to having such a clever phone.  Like discovering today, 12 days after the event, that I accidentally published this Souper Mix post when it was only intended as a memory jogging label for the photos.   A post with no recipe, no links but plenty of spelling mistakes (now corrected) having tapped it out on a tiny touch pad in the dark!  Thank you for all being too polite to mention how appallingly it read.  Just as well the photos were appetising enough. Thank you phone for being oh so helpful!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

a little splash of sunshine Me and Mine 2014 {March family portrait}

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Johanna GGG  |  March 31, 2014 at 1:07 am

    I got a smart phone last year and find I take my DSLR out and about less – the smart phone seems less intrusive and so much lighter – the one second a day app sounds like a great idea – love the clip – and I did wonder about that souper mix – is it a stock mix you keep in the fridge or a base for one soup – it looked very good

    Reply
    • 2. Nip it in the bud  |  April 1, 2014 at 9:19 pm

      phone snaps are brilliant in a whole different way aren’t they but I’m missing the creativity and sharpness that comes with using a proper camera. I still need to go and edit the Soup stock post with a link to the recipe but yes it is a stock you keep in the fridge (keeps for about a month or can be frozen) and you just add spoonfuls of it when cooking.

      Reply
  • […] The at-arms-length family portrait snapped on my phone wasn’t intended for Me and Mine (see my last post about never having a camera with me anymore) but it’s the only family portrait we have this […]

    Reply
  • 4. carie  |  April 1, 2014 at 12:50 pm

    I think my DSLR is still my favourite – but I love having my phone with me all the time for the occasional photo – I keep telling people it’s really a camera that just happens to make phone calls and I’m only half joking!

    Reply
    • 5. Nip it in the bud  |  April 1, 2014 at 9:21 pm

      it’s the video function I love so much – capturing the funny faces E pulls and super cute toddlerisms. It’s so full up though I’m at risk of the phone not working at all because I treat it like a camera that just happens to make calls :o)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my mostly-about-gardening blog, with a dash of cooking and a smattering of cats.
I'd love to hear your comments and reply to all so don't be shy, come and say hello...

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!

Blog Stats

  • 323,038 hits
Tips and recipes to reduce food waste - Love Food Hate Waste

Flickr photos

Week 5 - personality_drinking bath water

Week 5 - personality_E with night light

Week 5 - personality_ice lolly

Week 5 - personality_playing with elderflowerheads

Week 4 - movement_E catching bubbles

Week 4 - movement_E eating chip

Week 4 - movement_E swimming with Daddy

Week 4 - movement_football on the beach

Week 3_day in the life mosaic_Glastonbury weekend*

Week 3 - family_E on the beach

More Photos
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

