making a meadow pinny dress

July 6, 2009 at 8:53 am 12 comments

Yesterday I spent the afternoon making up my clothkits dress.  I was thankful for a rainy day so that my thoughts didn’t drift to things I should be doing at the allotment.  After a few teething problems setting up the machine the end result was very pleasing and received high praise from George.  ‘Wow, it’s perfect’ he said and of course I had to confess to a wonky buttonhole and straps of different widths.

completed front

prep time – 2.5 hours!
playing with the self-timer on the camera for the first time, cutting/ironing/pinning pieces, setting up the machine, phoning mum for advice as to why the bobbin wasn’t threading, experimenting with all 21 stitch settings and practicing the scary task of buttonholing.

MOSAIC - clothkit preparation

sewing up time – 2.5 hours
pinning, stitching, hemming, buttonholing, adding buttons and labels

MOSAIC - sewing up pinny

helpers – 4
1.  Billy’s tireless companionship all afternoon which made sitting on my lap, playing with pins and malting fluff onto every surface entirely forgiveable
2.  mum’s offer to come over and help if I couldn’t conquer the blasted bobbin
3.  gardener’s world on Radio 4 so I didn’t miss the allotment too much :o)
4.  chocolate coated summer fruits and cups of tea

Billy helping with the sewing!

Entry filed under: away from the plot, being creative, home life. Tags: , , .

plant happiness passion flower

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. alifelesssimple  |  July 6, 2009 at 8:04 pm

    That is lovely! I wish I knew how to use my sawing machine, I have one and that’s about as far as I’ve gotten.

    Have you heard of LETS?

    Reply
  • 2. Nip it in the bud  |  July 6, 2009 at 10:15 pm

    thanks Poppy. I’ve only made one other item of clothing and that was 19 years ago so I was somewhat rusty. With age you learn to be more patient, to enjoy the process and not put too much stock in what you end up with. Baby clothes are a good place to start – quicker, less wastage and often kind of square in shape!
    What’s LETS?

    Reply
  • 3. Kirsty  |  July 9, 2009 at 3:56 pm

    I LOVE the baby dress, you’re very clever and how do you do it? (Mum: I often think the same thing about all sorts of things Nic does/says!) Is it easy or is it hard? Hope to see you soon, bye. Love Kirsty xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

    Reply
    • 4. Nip it in the bud  |  July 9, 2009 at 4:08 pm

      what a lovely message Kirsty, thanks so much. Sewing is often not very easy but it’s not hard either, more fiddly and an exercise in being patient. If you start out expecting you’ll make mistakes it’s a lovely surprise when it works and you know it’ll be even better next time. One day I hope i’ll be able to say ‘it’s easy peasy’. Let’s get our thinking caps on for something exciting to do when school breaks for the summer x x x

      Reply
  • 5. reapwhatyougrow  |  July 10, 2009 at 10:42 pm

    How gorgeous. I have got a very similar clothkit for my daughter, and in the same colours. Can’t wait to compare notes.

    Reply
    • 6. Nip it in the bud  |  July 10, 2009 at 11:29 pm

      It was such a nice simple design. I might have a go at improvising another version. I’ve been hoarding fabric for the last 15 years – at least toddlers aren’t too fashion conscious if it’s a bit random!

      Reply
      • 7. reapwhatyougrow  |  December 3, 2010 at 1:18 pm

        You know what’s funny, I still haven’t finished mine. Luckily I bought it about 3 years too big, in a fit of self-awareness. I can’t wait to send you the photo when it is done, maybe I will give it a go today!

      • 8. Nip it in the bud  |  December 3, 2010 at 5:00 pm

        I shall look forward to seeing it 😮

  • 9. Jasmin  |  July 14, 2009 at 5:27 pm

    Oh Nic, this is adorable! You’re so clever and thank goodness for your 4 helpers to make a daunting job more enjoyable! x

    Reply
    • 10. Nip it in the bud  |  July 14, 2009 at 8:32 pm

      thank you sweetie :o) I’m still thinking a 20th birthday celebration of the skirt is in order. Look forward to seeing the skirt you soon

      Reply
  • 11. reapwhatyougrow  |  June 23, 2010 at 9:28 am

    I knew I had seen a clothkit on your blog, I’ve got the exact same one which I intend to finish today so it can finally be worn before it is grown out of!

    Reply
    • 12. Nip it in the bud  |  June 23, 2010 at 12:00 pm

      I have a terrible confession – this was the first and last outing for my new sewing machine. Must get my mum over to overcome the hurdle that is the dreaded rethreading of the bobbin!
      Have fun finishing yours – lucky girls :o)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 442,782 hits

Archives

Instagram

Someone was excited to find friends have come to stay. "Help Mummy and Daddy decorate the Christmas tree" is the #kindnesselves first suggestion.
.
#nipitinthebudblog #gloucesterlife E found his playgroup Angel Gabriel costume and photo from 2 years ago and found it amusing how much his arms had grown! 
#angelgabriel #christmasnativity 
#gloucesterlife It snowed all day and we were indoors with poorly boys (they had a 15 minute  play in the yard at least). This is what the allotment is probably looking like (#onefromthearchives January 2013). #nipitinthebudblog #snowyallotment #allotmentgardening #newblogpost - an @oxouk stocking fillers gift guide .  The steel jigger is our absolute favourite this year :0)
#nipitinthebudblog #gloucesterlife #oxogoodgrips #cookingwithkidsisfun #avocadoslicer #steeljiggers #stainlesssteeltongs #icecreamscoop #bakersdustingwand  #oxouk E's birthday is about 3 weeks after Christmas so I always start thinking about his celebrations around this time.  We've decided to book the community hall at our local cafe like we did a few years ago.  His 3rd birthday cake and jungle themed food will be a hard act to follow and he's chosen Dr Seuss for his theme so goodness knows what sort of cake we'll pull out the bag for this one! #birthdaycake #birthdaypartyfood #nipitinthebudblog #willywonkacake Rather intrigued by these!!!! @Regranned from @marksandspencer -  Introducing the avocado you never knew you needed. Our new cocktail avocados don’t have a stone and are completely edible (yes including the skin) In stores now in limited supply. 🥑🥑🥑 - #regrann
A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

