pie-tastic festival food

July 21, 2009 at 2:11 pm 5 comments

2000 Trees_Festival Food_Pieminister - live and eat pie

Festival food has improved massively in the last decade and particularly for veggies where chips, biscuits and dry chewy cheese baguettes was about all you could hope for.  Gladly most vendors now stock a tasty veggie option and occasionally 2 or 3 so I had the satisfaction of umming and ahhing about what to choose as much as the next hungry 2000 Trees festival goer.  I found myself drawn to the Pieminister stand and a Heidi pie (goats cheese, sweet potato, red onion and roasted garlic) with the full works – minty peas, mash and gravy.  I was not disappointed – all the taste, comfort and full up-ness of a sunday roast from a small cardboard box sitting on a hay bale in the beer tent.  Definitely gets my vote for ‘Best Festival Food’ if there is such a poll.

2000 Trees_Festival Food_Heidi pie the full works

MOSAIC - pieminister

2000 Trees_Festival Food_I love pie cropped

other pictures from the festival on Flickr and footage of Big Blue Sun’s gig here

Entry filed under: away from the plot, home life. Tags: .

2000 trees first carrots

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rufus  |  July 22, 2009 at 7:11 pm

    So that is u with the pie, my aren’t you a sweetie

    Reply
  • 2. mangocheeks  |  July 22, 2009 at 7:47 pm

    I agree with you about eating at festivals or outdoor events in relation to decent veggie food.

    This does look good, even the box…

    Reply
    • 3. Nip it in the bud  |  July 22, 2009 at 9:27 pm

      Mangocheeks – it’s lucky (or unlucky?) we don’t have a Pieminister nearby or I’m sure we’d adopt a weekly pie day. They do mail order pies though…
      Rufus – I look a bit happy with my pie don’t I! I thought since I’m taking photos of other people that I’d have to reveal my identity to the world at some point ;o)

      Reply
  • 4. mangocheeks  |  July 23, 2009 at 5:59 pm

    Ah interesting reason about showing your pretty face. I will still go under my pseudonym for now.

    Reply
    • 5. Nip it in the bud  |  July 23, 2009 at 6:17 pm

      everyone has been so gracious about letting me snap them it seemed only fair. Just need to find time to post them all up! (ps. do you have a short version of your pseudonym? or perhaps I’ll just adopt MC…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 429,018 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

