first beetroot

July 23, 2009 at 10:15 pm 3 comments

Beetroot-first picking close up

Surprised?  I was.  These seeds exceeded expectations simply by germinating (does anyone else ignore use by dates?) and then they came out long and lean.  Sown on 24th May, lifted on 23 July and if I’d kept the seed packet I’d be able to tell you what variety they are.  Nothing like a bit of surprise and intrigue in the garden.

Entry filed under: allotment tales. Tags: .

Derek’s peas in good hands

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mangocheeks  |  July 24, 2009 at 3:52 pm

    The are very nice. What variety are they?

    Reply
  • 2. alifelesssimple  |  July 24, 2009 at 7:57 pm

    I never take any notice of sow by dates, I’ve just sown some cabbages that were meant to have been sown by 2003 and they are coming up fine… I know they are coming up fine as all the seeds that I sowed that day are coming up fine but the labels have run so I have no idea which they are!

    Reply
  • 3. Nip it in the bud  |  July 24, 2009 at 9:37 pm

    I had a couple of different seeds but I’d transferred them to empty vitamin tubes so not entirely sure. It’s a couple of years since I bought the seed and I’m sure one at least was a boltardy variety so will have to see if my second sewing comes up round or long. They look like the beets in this pic which would make them beetroot cylindria and I’m liking the look of the stripey beetroot Chioggia for next year
    http://www.nickys-nursery.co.uk/seeds/pages/veg-beetroot.htm

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 423,117 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

