eating out in Glasgow

August 1, 2009 at 8:03 am 5 comments

homegrown and local menu

We may not have been eating our own home-grown goodies but it was lovely to be supporting the local network of farmers and growers in the area while tucking into delicious food at the Malmaison brasserie in Glasgow.

During our stay I ate carrot and ginger soup and new potatoe and goats cheese salad starters and roasted vegetable frittata and grilled bream mains.  George had salmon carpaccio and chicken liver parfait starters and chicken and haggis roulade and slow roast pork mains.

Entry filed under: away from the plot. Tags: .

cultural interlude Argyll adventures

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rufus  |  August 1, 2009 at 2:19 pm

    So after all that lot, how’s your cold?

    Reply
  • 2. Jacqueline  |  August 2, 2009 at 10:54 am

    Mmmmmm, I will have to visit that restaurant. I love brulee!

    Reply
    • 3. Nip it in the bud  |  August 2, 2009 at 9:23 pm

      me too Jaq, I had the most gorgeous brulee ever at the Kames Hotel last week with fresh raspberries and home made shortbread – total melt in the mouth heaven
      Rufus – cold booted out of touch now thanks with lots of ginger tea and vick vapo rub steaming

      Reply
  • 4. Robin  |  August 4, 2009 at 10:56 am

    Did you stay at the Malmaison? I always used to get my company to put me up there when I was in Glasgow on business (I’d pay the excess few quid on top of the limit they set…). It’s a great hotel in a fascinating bit of Glasgow (although I think all Glasgow is great…but I am a Glaswegian – sort of)

    Reply
  • 5. Nip it in the bud  |  August 4, 2009 at 12:11 pm

    it was ace and I think the deals may be even better now so start getting creative with how to persuade your company to send you there. £69 for a room or £99 for 2 courses for 2 + wine. we love Glasgow too

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 436,834 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

