the invisible menace

August 16, 2009 at 7:01 pm 8 comments

Having accepted the loss of my tomato plants last week I tried to salvage a couple of handfuls of green fruit.  I left them on the drainer while we went away for a few days and was startled to find brown dappled fruit on my return.  Blasted blight, no such thing as uncontaminated fruit once a plant succumbs.  A sad tale and a cautionary one; I noticed spots today on both of the house plants next to the drainer.  I’m trying not to think about what that says about microscopic spores floating about in the air above my sink.  MOSAIC - blight on house plants

Entry filed under: away from the plot, home life. Tags: .

blasted blight blight clean up

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Maggi  |  August 16, 2009 at 8:19 pm

    Oh dear. Not again! I hope I’m getting away with it but I’m not too confident.

    Reply
  • 2. Nip it in the bud  |  August 20, 2009 at 8:34 pm

    I hope so too Maggi and have my fingers and toes crossed for you

    Reply
  • 3. Bill Bartmann  |  September 2, 2009 at 11:05 am

    Excellent site, keep up the good work

    Reply
  • 4. Bill Bartmann Scam  |  September 6, 2009 at 10:27 pm

    This site rocks!

    Reply
  • 5. Rodger  |  May 27, 2010 at 9:45 pm

    Love your site. I was wondering if you know what the plant on the lower left-hand side is called? I have one myself. I have never seen them in a store, but I would love to know what it is called

    Reply
    • 6. Nip it in the bud  |  May 30, 2010 at 12:08 pm

      Hi Rodger, a lovely lady from Canada called Carmen asked me the same question last month and I had to admit I didn’t know!
      Over the last decade I’ve asked everyone and anyone to try and find out what it was, including taking leaves into garden centres but all to no avail. Fortunately for us Carmen’s curiosity wouldn’t be sated until she found the answer so I’m pleased to be able to tell you it’s a Chinese Money Plant – if you google it (or click on the link) you should recognise your plant in the pictures :o)

      Reply
  • 7. Cathy  |  December 10, 2010 at 10:30 pm

    Can you tell me what the plant in the lower RIGHT hand corner is? I have one that is dying and I need to know what to do with it!

    Reply
  • 8. Nip it in the bud  |  January 1, 2011 at 7:44 pm

    Hi Cathy
    I don’t know what it’s called and the ID card in the plant pot is long gone. I thought it was a house plant at first but after putting it outside when it was blighted it seemed to cope quite well with it. When it flowers it has tiny pink flowers which last for ages (the go kind of dried before they die). I’m sorry I can’t be more help than that. Mine is looking very miserable in a pot in the back yard after all the snow so I hope your plant is as hardy and makes a recovery.
    cheerio, Nic

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 442,782 hits

Archives

Instagram

Someone was excited to find friends have come to stay. "Help Mummy and Daddy decorate the Christmas tree" is the #kindnesselves first suggestion.
.
#nipitinthebudblog #gloucesterlife E found his playgroup Angel Gabriel costume and photo from 2 years ago and found it amusing how much his arms had grown! 
#angelgabriel #christmasnativity 
#gloucesterlife It snowed all day and we were indoors with poorly boys (they had a 15 minute  play in the yard at least). This is what the allotment is probably looking like (#onefromthearchives January 2013). #nipitinthebudblog #snowyallotment #allotmentgardening #newblogpost - an @oxouk stocking fillers gift guide .  The steel jigger is our absolute favourite this year :0)
#nipitinthebudblog #gloucesterlife #oxogoodgrips #cookingwithkidsisfun #avocadoslicer #steeljiggers #stainlesssteeltongs #icecreamscoop #bakersdustingwand  #oxouk E's birthday is about 3 weeks after Christmas so I always start thinking about his celebrations around this time.  We've decided to book the community hall at our local cafe like we did a few years ago.  His 3rd birthday cake and jungle themed food will be a hard act to follow and he's chosen Dr Seuss for his theme so goodness knows what sort of cake we'll pull out the bag for this one! #birthdaycake #birthdaypartyfood #nipitinthebudblog #willywonkacake Rather intrigued by these!!!! @Regranned from @marksandspencer -  Introducing the avocado you never knew you needed. Our new cocktail avocados don’t have a stone and are completely edible (yes including the skin) In stores now in limited supply. 🥑🥑🥑 - #regrann
A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

