using up black bananas

August 22, 2009 at 6:40 pm 10 comments

All week I’ve been thinking ‘I must make banana bread before they grow legs and walk themselves to the compost bin’.  Banana bread is a misnomer of course because most recipes use a cake sized quantity of sugar so I opted for a sugar free banana and date cookie recipe instead from The Healing Foods Cookbook.  A much better alternative considering the chief cake eater in our house is away for the weekend.

black bananasThis is a really user friendly recipe; the only instruction is to mix everything together really well.  Grab a fistful of mix, make a ball and flatten it onto an oiled baking sheet (I prefer shaping to scraping off tablespoons because it produces a more cakey cookie and who doesn’t love getting mucky when baking?).  What’s more these cookies are vegan, sugar free and suitable for a wheat free diet so no one needs to feel guilty about reaching for a second one and friends with particular diets who often expect to go without a treat with their cuppa will love you for the special effort you’ve gone to (which is really little effort at all).  Enjoy x

mosaicd5bbf1b6fe44f48162499f845ab95962c041be64

banana and date cookies
3 medium bananas, mashed
75g dried dates, finely chopped
75g walnuts, finely chopped
175 oats
150ml olive or sunflower oil
1 tsp vanilla essence
(variations to try: dollops of nut butter or jam, assorted seeds or coconut shavings)

bake at 200C/375F/gas 6 for 20-25 minutes

banana and date cookie

Entry filed under: in the kitchen. Tags: , , .

soya bean survival jerusalem artichoke and porcini mushroom soup

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jacqueline  |  August 23, 2009 at 9:11 am

    Brilliant! I only ever make banana bread with my nearly departed nanas. This is great 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Nip it in the bud  |  August 24, 2009 at 1:58 pm

      thanks Jaq, unlike other sugar free recipes I’ve tried they do taste delicious

      Reply
  • 3. jacqueline  |  August 24, 2009 at 4:29 pm

    Great, I will give them a go, although I will have to substitute another nut for the walnuts, as my hubby hates them. Something I have never been able to understand. How offensive can a nut really be?

    Reply
  • 4. David  |  September 6, 2009 at 12:01 pm

    The onion shown is a” Stuttgarter Riesen”

    Reply
    • 5. Nip it in the bud  |  September 8, 2009 at 1:12 am

      terrific, thanks Dave. They’ve all been brilliant, several used for chutney making this evening :o)

      Reply
  • 6. Rae  |  September 30, 2009 at 6:31 pm

    Thanks so much for this fabulous recipe – I’m always on the look out for inspiration for my DD who cannot eat refined sugar. These look lovely – she loves dates, oats and vanilla so I think these will go down a storm.

    I’ve got a banana and walnut loaf on my site if you’re interested: http://sugarfreerecipesforkids.blogspot.com/2009/08/banana-and-walnut-loaf.html

    I live in the Forest of Dean too – so not far away!

    Reply
    • 7. Nip it in the bud  |  September 30, 2009 at 7:17 pm

      goodness Rae, how do you manage all that cooking, blogging and saving the planet with all your environmental stuff too? You’re a marvel and I’m glad you popped over to say hello. You’ve got some great recipes, I especially like the look of the blackberry brownies and have a batch in the freezer that may be destined for a brownie mix :o)

      The healing food cookbook is pretty good for low/no sugar recipes and I also have ‘Vegetarian Cooking Without’ which is gluten/sugar/yeast/dairy/meat/fish/sat fat free. I’ve not made much from it though, not because the recipes are unappealing without all those things in but because the book doesn’t have many photos. I love photogenic cookbooks that make your mouth water just looking at the pages!

      Reply
  • 8. Rae  |  October 2, 2009 at 12:39 pm

    Hiya, oh I hear you on the need for photos. I have the ‘cooking without’ book too and seldom use it because I like to see the finished product.

    I’ll check out the healthy food cookbook though – thank you! And happy baking, I hope you have a go at the brownies 😉

    Reply
  • 9. Josie  |  November 25, 2013 at 9:46 pm

    Planning on trying this tomorrow! 🙂

    Reply
    • 10. Nip it in the bud  |  November 26, 2013 at 11:54 pm

      ooh hope you were happy with the results :o) Did Noah appreciate them?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 422,184 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

