steel wedding anniversary

September 5, 2009 at 7:57 am 17 comments

wedding_confetti picture”Bells will ring, the sun will shine, I’ll be his and he’ll be mine. We’ll love until the end of time and we’ll never be lonely anymore.  Because we’re goin’ to the chapel and we’re, gonna get married”.

When I asked George if there was anything he’d do differently if we got married again he said ‘nothing’ then added ‘except I’d invite all the people who are special to us now that we didn’t know then‘.

wedding_flower bouquet

I love the orange gerberas and purple irises we chose for our wedding flowers yet it has never before occurred to me to try growing them at the allotment. I have several other flower seed packets for sowing in February but wouldn’t it be lovely to pick an anniversary posy from our own garden next year.

wedding_purple cakeI always smile to myself when I think about our wedding cake.  Back in 1998 a custom made purple chocolate cake would have cost £400.  What!  That’s what we thought too so we set about making our own cake despite many a raised eyebrow and murmurings of insanity.  ‘You have made a wedding cake before haven’t you?‘ people asked.  ‘No‘ we said and each time someone nervously bit their lip in response our resolve became stronger!  It may have looked a bit odd but we loved it and most importantly the chocolate cake tasted delicious.


Entry filed under: home life, in the kitchen. Tags: , , .

Dave’s purple sprouting know your onions

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mangocheeks  |  September 5, 2009 at 12:52 pm

    Happy Steel Wedding Anniversary.

    What wonderful colourful photographs.

    I admire the fact you made your own wedding cake, who cares if it’s not the most smoothest, you know in your heart how much tender care and love went into making it, and eating it would have been far more pleasurable.

    I got married in October last year and wanted to make my own wedding cake too, but D persuaded me not too. Although the cake looked pretty good, it did not taste particularly nice at all. I was the one most dissapointed with it, as deep in my heart I knew I could make a lovelier and tastier version. But looks wise, maybe not, that take practice.

    Once again CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU BOTH!

    Reply
  • 2. Bilbo  |  September 5, 2009 at 1:44 pm

    Many congratulations. I have a similar ‘confetti filled’ photo from our wedding and it too is one of my favourites.

    Your cake is wonderful!

    Reply
  • 3. Kirsty  |  September 5, 2009 at 9:16 pm

    What a lovely photo of you and G, love and laughter, love and laughter … no change there then. You’re a lovely couple now, as it seems you’ve always been, many congratulations from the Monmouth possee – wish we’d been there to celebrate yours at the start, and vice versa xxxx

    Reply
    • 4. Nip it in the bud  |  September 6, 2009 at 7:07 am

      aw, thanks Monmouth possee. You’d be high up our list of guests if there was a do now. And when K hopped up and down with excitement and begged to be a bridesmaid the answer would be yes of course ;o3

      Blibo – are we being shy by liking the photos that cover our faces the most?

      MC – how about making the cake of your wedding dreams for you first anniversary next month? I’m sure we’d all love to read about that and I know you’re right when you say you would have made a better one. I only have to look at some of the dishes on your blog and I’m sure I can taste them!

      Reply
  • 5. Jenny  |  September 6, 2009 at 2:29 pm

    Wish we’d been there and so so glad you lovely two graced our special day!
    Congratulations for yesterday
    from fellow-own-wedding-cake-maker!! xxxxx

    Reply
    • 6. Nip it in the bud  |  September 6, 2009 at 3:24 pm

      we loved your wedding Jen :o3 I bet you get a few raised eyebrows too when you tell people you had bring-and-share wedding food. Wasn’t it brilliant though and it was lovely for us to be able to contribute in such a special way. I seem to recall George and Jem enjoyed keeping an eye on the bar!

      Reply
  • 7. mangocheeks  |  September 6, 2009 at 4:17 pm

    Lovely suggestion Nic,
    I admit I have thought about it, but I do not have family or close friends living near by, so it would be no fun making it, as there would not be many friends and family around to share a sweet slice with. I may think about making a small celebratory one for us though, enough for 4 – 6. Let me think about it.

    Reply
  • 8. Lucy  |  September 6, 2009 at 5:52 pm

    Ain’t love a great and many splendiferous thingammyjig!?

    Reply
  • 9. Nip it in the bud  |  September 6, 2009 at 6:21 pm

    celebratory cup cakes MC and then you come freeze some too? :o)
    splendiferous indeedy Luce. hope you’re all well. Can I interest you in another football? (pumpkin this time?)

    Reply
    • 10. Lucy  |  September 7, 2009 at 2:58 pm

      OO yes!! Please!!!!! Give anything a go once! And you know how my lot eat! They loved the big green one! And I know they like squashes in general.

      Reply
  • 11. Lei  |  September 7, 2009 at 1:54 pm

    Congratulations for both of you! Love the colour of your cake and I bet the taste must be very nice too, just like your life at the moment: sweet,tasty and happy.

    Reply
    • 12. Nip it in the bud  |  September 7, 2009 at 2:41 pm

      happy …and healthy which you have something to do with :o)

      Reply
  • 13. Nip it in the bud  |  September 7, 2009 at 6:24 pm

    hooray Lucy, someone who’ll take a family size football off me. I’m on my way round….

    Reply
    • 14. Lucy  |  September 7, 2009 at 6:25 pm

      Great!

      Reply
  • 15. digging up treasure « Nip it in the bud  |  September 24, 2009 at 8:10 am

    […] say lifting potatoes is like finding treasure.  A satisfied sigh escapes my lips thinking back to our anniversary weekend when we unearthed our loot:  a few kilos of Valor potatoes and half a pillow case full of Robinta […]

    Reply
  • 16. making a first birthday cake | Nip it in the bud  |  November 11, 2013 at 11:15 pm

    […] rather pleased with how it turned out considering I’d not used roll out icing since covering our wedding cake nearly 15 years ago.  As most of E’s party guests were snowed off we ended up eating cake […]

    Reply
  • 17. a porcelain wedding anniversary | Nip it in the bud  |  September 4, 2016 at 9:12 pm

    […] other anniversary stories: 11 years, 12 years, 15 years, 16 […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 420,681 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

