caterpillar clean up

September 13, 2009 at 2:00 pm 10 comments

Caterpillars close upI must have removed a couple of hundred caterpillars from the sprouts having overcome my squeamishness at picking them off .  They’re surprisingly soft and not at all prickly but gloves are essential; the yuck factor is still high because of the green toxic liquid they squirt out as soon as their touched to deter predators.  I seem to have lost my appetite for cabbage of late.  Can’t think why… Caterpillar nibbled cabbage

Such high hopes for these robust little seedlings when planted out on 27th July. autumn cabbages before planting out in June

Oh well, to end on a more cheery note – this was the first of our fabulous Primo summer cabbages lifted on 20th June (sown by Dave 18th Feb and planted out 28th April and netted) summer cabbage

And this was the coleslaw made from it with our first carrots. dinner - coleslaw

Entry filed under: allotment tales. Tags: , , .

where in the world is Bilbo: Gloucester cobnuts, a squirrels delight

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mangocheeks  |  September 13, 2009 at 3:27 pm

    Eek, eek eek rather you than me. Eek!

    Reply
    • 2. Nip it in the bud  |  September 13, 2009 at 4:08 pm

      finding pupae sacks on the inside of my water butt today ramped the eek factor up another crank (especially the bloated floaters in the water). oops, I’ve put you off your dinner now haven’t I

      Reply
  • 3. Matron  |  September 13, 2009 at 4:56 pm

    Do you know anyone who keeps chickens? they will mug you for those caterpillars and might give you some eggs in return!

    Reply
    • 4. Nip it in the bud  |  September 13, 2009 at 5:11 pm

      ooh, what a great tip. I have a chicken keeping friend who smiled with delight when she found a slug in the home grown cabbage I gave her. Good to remember for next year

      Reply
  • 5. Bilbo  |  September 14, 2009 at 7:35 am

    You are right, that could REALLY put one off growing cabbage!

    Like the look of your coleslaw {smile}

    Reply
  • 6. Darla  |  September 14, 2009 at 9:17 am

    I’ve been collecting monarch caterpillars to raise…..I sure hope our cabbage doesn’t get these visitors. I commented on the Bilbo post again……..I am just over the top!!

    Reply
    • 7. Nip it in the bud  |  September 14, 2009 at 12:03 pm

      your monarch’s look beautiful. want me to post some cabbage whites to you with Bilbo? (only joking ;o)

      Reply
  • 8. HeavenlyScarlett  |  September 14, 2009 at 3:22 pm

    Oh yuk! I didn’t know that the sight of caterpillars en masse could make me feel so sick, but it did!
    But the cabbage looks absolutely beautiful – I adore leafy green veg.

    I still haven’t found time for making marrow cream, but am grateful for your email with slight recipe adjustment. I’ll let you know how it goes.
    🙂

    Reply
    • 9. Nip it in the bud  |  September 14, 2009 at 4:33 pm

      oooh sorry about that! A disgust shared is a disgust halved, maybe – I felt better for sharing so thanks for squirming with me ;o)

      Reply
  • 10. how to grow perfect Primo Rollos « Nip it in the bud  |  May 25, 2010 at 8:06 am

    […] trapped under the netting today and recalled Matron’s comment in response to last years caterpillar clean up […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 436,936 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

