cobnuts, a squirrels delight

September 15, 2009 at 12:30 pm 4 comments

cobnut shellsWhile digging out my blighted tomato plants last month I noticed the cobnuts on the trees bordering our plot were turning brown and would soon be ready to fall from the trees.   I’ve never seen a squirrel at the plot but I ventured a guess that where cobnuts are found the squirrels will surely appear.  Sadly I still haven’t seen any squirrels but the broken open shells are evidence of their cobnut feasting.  A bit of scavenging myself produced a couple of handfuls of uncracked nuts and I wondered if the squirrels knew something I didn’t about the quality of the nuts inside or had just feasted until full and trundled off.  I had a vision of a little squirrel, nut in paws giving it a shake and a tap before dropping it in disgust at it’s hollowness. cobnuts collected

I fancy trying the honeyed hazlenuts recipe from the River Cottage Handbook to preserve them but I need to get cracking first to see if the nutty insides are worth the effortcobnut trees

Entry filed under: allotment tales. Tags: .

caterpillar clean up where in the world is Bilbo? flying to Florida

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bilbo  |  September 15, 2009 at 1:48 pm

    Very envious of those. We’re considering planting some of our Coppice area with Hazel to hopefully grow our own squirrel food – what could be better than native Red Squirrels eating home-grown food? I used hazel in a mixed hedgerow planting at our previous house and had cob nuts within three years.

    Reply
  • 2. Darla  |  September 15, 2009 at 2:23 pm

    Geez……..we are so tired of squirrels………sorry!

    Reply
  • 3. Nip it in the bud  |  September 15, 2009 at 3:00 pm

    Bilbo, you sound very green fingered, or would that be brown fingered with hazel growing?

    Darla – I can understand that seeing where you live. I feel the same about butterflies….

    Reply
  • 4. Peggy  |  September 15, 2009 at 8:29 pm

    It is years since I gathered hazel nuts! My granmother lived up a country laneway and the trees lined both sides of it ,now long gone to ‘progress’

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 420,556 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

