Billy the allotment dog

September 18, 2009 at 8:19 am 14 comments

MOSAIC - Billy allotment dog‘Billy look at me, this way’.  Billy and I met for the first time a couple of weeks ago and he proved to be a natural in front of the camera.  Billy belongs to Mary whose husband John is a seasoned gardener and has an immaculate plot.  Until recently that is when the weeds and blight took advantage of his absence following a leg operation.  John’s back on the allotment now and digging like a dynamo.  Already the weeds have beaten a hasty retreat; down to my patch I think …

*newsflash* Billy has some new admirers after being featured on Matron’s Dogblog Billy dog

Entry filed under: allotment tales, great people. Tags: .

become a bulbmaniac Autumn Glory

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bilbo  |  September 18, 2009 at 9:32 am

    Perhaps you should invite Billy to come and dig on your patch?

    Reply
  • 2. Darla  |  September 18, 2009 at 10:08 am

    cute dog…glad John is back working at the allotment again. Tell him to stop sending the weeds your way…LOL

    Reply
  • 3. Peggy  |  September 18, 2009 at 3:40 pm

    My dog will look anywhere but at the camera! The weeds grew unchecked in lots of plots this year as we had so many wet days, i like the idea of guerrilla bulb planting !

    Reply
  • 4. Ann  |  September 19, 2009 at 9:26 am

    He’s a friendly looking fellow!!! My dog loves coming up to the veg plot, especially when there are peas to harvest.

    Reply
  • 5. Nip it in the bud  |  September 19, 2009 at 9:30 am

    I sometimes day dream about having a pig at the allotment Bilbo to share the digging!
    Darla – I wanted to sneak him into my bag he was so cute
    Peggy – I’ll share a secret with you for taking pictures of fast moving, playful pets: do a few seconds of video instead and then grab a freeze frame.
    Ann – I wouldn’t be so welcoming if he went for my peas. they’re my favourite and the only thing I won’t share!

    Reply
  • 6. Matron  |  September 19, 2009 at 10:38 pm

    Please, I would love you to send a picture of Billy the Allotment dog do join in with Matron’s Dogblog on 28th September. He could be the star of the show!

    Reply
    • 7. Nip it in the bud  |  September 20, 2009 at 7:54 am

      thanks matron, I bet you’ve had a huge response for joining your dogblog. Your blog spurred me on to get this post up and Billy was sent over on the 17th (instead of me trying to sneak my cats in!)

      Reply
  • 8. Jacqueline  |  September 21, 2009 at 4:16 pm

    He is so cute! I want one!

    Reply
  • 9. Ami & Emily  |  October 1, 2009 at 5:12 pm

    Billy is our nanny&papa’s dog and yes, he is very cute and we all love him lots!!!

    Reply
    • 10. Nip it in the bud  |  October 1, 2009 at 6:28 pm

      Hi Amil and Emily, we’ve all fallen in love with Billy too :o) Do you think he’ll cope alright with the fame? He’s received a lot of love here as well http://veggies-only.blogspot.com/2009/09/matrons-dogblog_29.html
      cheerio and say ‘Hi’ to papa – he was digging up some of my raspberry canes yesterday so come next year I’m sure you’ll be getting some of those as well as all the lovely veggies he grows.

      Reply
  • 11. pete  |  October 1, 2009 at 7:34 pm

    billy is a great/mad dog. he wakes me up every morning when john or mary let him out, he then chases the cats away. billy is more like a human he’s got a great personality

    Reply
  • 12. Nip it in the bud  |  October 1, 2009 at 8:04 pm

    He was being very well behaved the day I met him and he was very giving with his licks. Might have been a different story if the allotment cat had been on the prowl!

    Reply
    • 13. pete  |  October 1, 2009 at 9:44 pm

      he’s a great dog, he’s ace with the kids and they love him to bits. when you talk to him he barks and talks back and he gets on with my dog willow. love the close up photo of him you did

      Reply
  • 14. Tianna  |  November 8, 2009 at 6:34 pm

    BILLY IS SO CUTE!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 436,834 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

