one million giraffes and one sunflower

September 22, 2009 at 8:56 pm 14 comments

Giraffes on window sillIt’s no secret that I adore all things giraffe.  Stuffed, sculpted, painted or drawn I love them all and I’d be hard pushed to say which is my favourite (ok, you twisted my arm, it probably is these gorgeous fellas but can you blame me?).  The giraffes that mean the most to me though, that’s easy: those lovingly hand crafted by friends who know I’ll be tickled pink to receive them.  Jasmin‘s silk painted giraffe and Rosy‘s stencilled giraffe hold pride of place on my notice board and can now be found on a wonderful website I stumbled across last week called onemilliongiraffes.comJasmin silk painted giraffe

Rosy giraffe card copyI was pondering which of my giraffe-y treasures to use as inspiration for a doodled, stitched or baked creation. (well probably not baked but Johanna’s green gourmet giraffe cake sowed the seed of suggestion for something a bit out of the ordinary).  My muse appeared in the shape of a sunflower at the allotment and it reminded me of what Michaelangelo said about his artistry.  ”I saw the angel in the marble and carved until I set it free”.  I saw my giraffe, set it free and now it’s one in a million (well 2 in a million actually and took Ole’s total to 267,350 giraffes). Do you have a giraffe inside you waiting to be set free?
sunflower giraffe*
Sunflower giraffes close up by purple tub
Update: yay, Ola liked my sunflower so much he made it his 234th Giraffe of the Day

Entry filed under: allotment tales, being creative, great people. Tags: , .

raiding the raspberries digging up treasure

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. reapwhatyougrow  |  September 22, 2009 at 8:59 pm

    Love it. I wish I could attach a similar picture we took of a smiley face.

    The giraffe’s eye is a particularly nice touch!

    Reply
    • 2. Nip it in the bud  |  September 22, 2009 at 9:07 pm

      a hawthorn berry for mum and a raspberry pip for baby :o) I could really get into drawing with sunflowers

      Reply
  • 3. Jasmin  |  September 23, 2009 at 5:12 am

    Oh Nic, this is amazing! How inspiring and so original, you could start something big with this sunflower art! I love it 🙂 xxx

    Reply
  • 4. Darla  |  September 23, 2009 at 10:43 am

    Creative juices are flowing here! Love it!!

    Reply
  • 5. mangocheeks  |  September 23, 2009 at 7:45 pm

    I really really love this, so inspirational! and so so lovely.

    Reply
    • 6. Nip it in the bud  |  September 23, 2009 at 9:15 pm

      all those years at school when I thought I wasn’t creative – I feel redeemed ;o)

      Reply
  • 7. Rufus  |  September 23, 2009 at 8:43 pm

    Hi Nic, saw BBC 1 tonight Nigel Slater’s simple suppers with berries and things, and then with a lady on her allotment with things she is growing on it. Some of them are very odd which made me think of you, the website is
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b00mm51f (no sun flowers or giraffes………….yet)

    Reply
    • 8. Nip it in the bud  |  September 23, 2009 at 9:17 pm

      thanks for the tip off Rufus, we don’t watch telly cos the reception here is so bad but I like picking the best of the bunch on iplayer. Will check it out and let you know what I think of the ‘odd’ things being grown. Will probably give me ideas though, you know how I like anything a bit kooky :o)

      Reply
  • 9. Rufus  |  September 23, 2009 at 9:51 pm

    and…………………………..does your local council do cheap compost bins?
    Try RecycleNow for a bin for £8 or £10 including delivery. (0845 0760223)

    Reply
  • 10. Emily  |  September 24, 2009 at 8:37 am

    Hi Nic this is really lovely, i will try growing sunflowers on the allotment again next year, but last year they only grew to about 2 foot and stayed all small and spindly. shameful as they’re supposed to be so easy to grow!! maybe they’ll grow better next year next to my new blue shed! x

    Reply
  • 11. Nip it in the bud  |  September 24, 2009 at 8:54 am

    they are easy to grow but the amount of water and type of soil will have an effect on size. Since your plot is more stones than soil I think you do brilliantly to grow anything. I’ll give you some of these seeds for next year – they’re giant russian sunflowers and reached 8 feet :o)

    Reply
  • 12. Johanna  |  September 25, 2009 at 2:10 am

    those sunflowers are so cool – I love all your giraffes but esp the sunflowers

    Reply
  • 13. Rufus  |  September 30, 2009 at 1:01 pm

    hi Nic, did you see in the national newspaper the man in Tuffley who has grown a sunflower with 19 heads on it?

    Reply
    • 14. Nip it in the bud  |  September 30, 2009 at 3:46 pm

      I hadn’t Rufus but just googled it. I thought mine with 8 heads was unusual but I’m sure there’s another one on the plot to rival his. I’ll have to find the photo but I seem to recall it having to stand a long way back to get them all in!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 423,117 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

