raiding the raspberries

September 22, 2009 at 9:00 am 10 comments

raspberries_green bug 3

spider on the raspberry

snail on raspberry plants

I’m not sure who was raiding whose raspberry supply here.  I certainly felt like I was stealing someone else’s lunch.  Just as well we grew enough to share …

Entry filed under: allotment tales. Tags: .

creaming the monster marrow one million giraffes and one sunflower

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ann  |  September 22, 2009 at 11:11 am

    I’m away at the coast for a few days so have plenty of time for a bit of surfing and checking out your recommendation to look at Katiecakes blog. Thanks so much for this, it’s just what I needed, did you see the Rolo cupcakes? Got to try those.

    Reply
    • 2. Nip it in the bud  |  September 22, 2009 at 2:13 pm

      ooh lovely, have an ace time and enjoy waxing up your surf board (only joking). Katie makes such gorgeous cakes but I’ve never yet made any – haven’t seen the rolo ones so I’ll look forward to seeing them on your blog (there, you have to make them now ;o) you could always post one to me if you’re worried about your waistline – I might need two to be sure of taste testing them properly!)

      Reply
      • 3. Ann  |  September 22, 2009 at 4:27 pm

        As soon as I typed that I thought “Hmmm, that’s appropriate!” so if anyone asks what I did at the seaside I can say I did a spot of surfing 🙂

  • 4. Darla  |  September 22, 2009 at 1:18 pm

    Great photographs…love the snail…glad he’s in your garden though, LOL. Waiting on Bilbo!!

    Reply
    • 5. Nip it in the bud  |  September 22, 2009 at 2:05 pm

      I hope Bilbo made it out of Britain before the backlog of postal millions started piling up. Our post office workers aren’t striking here but the post has started coming at 4pm instead of 10am

      Reply
  • 6. reapwhatyougrow  |  September 22, 2009 at 9:01 pm

    Once someone presented me with a bowl full of lovely home grown raspberries, but they were crawling with greenfly. I had to eat it or it would have been rude, but I have to confess it was hard and I ended up swallowing many of them whole.

    Had to reassure myself with the fact that they are harmless, and it’s all protein I suppose.

    Reply
    • 7. Nip it in the bud  |  September 22, 2009 at 9:08 pm

      yikes, that was very polite of you. How did you hide the gulp and grimace? I’m sure I’ve eaten plenty in my time too if that’s reassurance!

      Reply
  • 8. Bilbo  |  September 23, 2009 at 7:52 am

    Great photos – looks like someone has a nice macro lens which they have been playing with (she says enviously!)

    Reply
  • 9. Nip it in the bud  |  September 23, 2009 at 1:31 pm

    thanks Bilbo, shall I pretend I know what you’re talking about or ‘fess up and say I have a point and shoot digital camera. It’s a Panasonic Lumix and has a very handy setting called auto intelligence. It usually takes about a dozen shots of bugs to get the right one and then I crop it in photoshop.

    Reply
  • 10. Bilbo  |  September 23, 2009 at 1:51 pm

    and there was me thinking you’ve got a lovely DSLR with the lens that I covet {giggle}.

    The Lumix is a highly regarded little camera, not surprised you are getting such lovely shots.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 442,821 hits

Archives

Instagram

Someone was excited to find friends have come to stay. "Help Mummy and Daddy decorate the Christmas tree" is the #kindnesselves first suggestion.
.
#nipitinthebudblog #gloucesterlife E found his playgroup Angel Gabriel costume and photo from 2 years ago and found it amusing how much his arms had grown! 
#angelgabriel #christmasnativity 
#gloucesterlife It snowed all day and we were indoors with poorly boys (they had a 15 minute  play in the yard at least). This is what the allotment is probably looking like (#onefromthearchives January 2013). #nipitinthebudblog #snowyallotment #allotmentgardening #newblogpost - an @oxouk stocking fillers gift guide .  The steel jigger is our absolute favourite this year :0)
#nipitinthebudblog #gloucesterlife #oxogoodgrips #cookingwithkidsisfun #avocadoslicer #steeljiggers #stainlesssteeltongs #icecreamscoop #bakersdustingwand  #oxouk E's birthday is about 3 weeks after Christmas so I always start thinking about his celebrations around this time.  We've decided to book the community hall at our local cafe like we did a few years ago.  His 3rd birthday cake and jungle themed food will be a hard act to follow and he's chosen Dr Seuss for his theme so goodness knows what sort of cake we'll pull out the bag for this one! #birthdaycake #birthdaypartyfood #nipitinthebudblog #willywonkacake Rather intrigued by these!!!! @Regranned from @marksandspencer -  Introducing the avocado you never knew you needed. Our new cocktail avocados don’t have a stone and are completely edible (yes including the skin) In stores now in limited supply. 🥑🥑🥑 - #regrann
A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

