honeyed hazelnuts

October 1, 2009 at 10:12 am 11 comments

cobnuts honeyed top viewI read today that I can be officially classed as a nutter.  It wasn’t an insult it’s what you call someone who picks cobnuts (a cultivated form of hazelnuts).   The nutter police might disqualify me from their nutty inner circle if they knew that I didn’t actually pick any of my cobnuts off the tree.  But when the squirrels beat you to it there’s not much else you can do but scrabble about on your hands and knees foraging amongst their leftovers.  I know people are quick to laugh at squirrels for apparently hiding their nuts and forgetting where they buried them but our allotment squirrels are obviously cleverer than that.   As I suspected more than half the cobnuts I scavenged were empty and this was all I had to show for an hour of collecting and cracking.

MOSAIC - cobnuts

So was it really worth the effort?  Of course.  Fresh cobnuts taste delicious (much nicer than bitter dried out shop bought hazelnuts) and it’s said that 6 cobnuts contain as much protein as a 4oz sirloin steak.  It was hard to resist scoffing the lot but I stopped at a 12oz steak portion and tried out Pam Corbin’s Honeyed Hazels recipe with the handful that were left.  Pam recommends packing the nuts in tightly and you can see what happens when you don’t have enough nuts in the jar.  cobnuts_honeyed in jar

So like the squirrel will I have some lovely nuts to return to in winter or will I forget where I left them?  Neither, they’ve already been gobbled up, straight of the spoon with no regrets at not trying them drizzled over yoghurt, chocolate ice cream, porridge or muesli.  Delicious.

To make 2 x 225g jars of honeyed nuts

500g hazelnuts or cobnuts
340g clear honey

  • Crack all the nuts and remove the kernels.
  • Heat a frying pan over a low heat.  Toast the shelled nuts in batches for 4-5 minutes, jiggling and shaking the pan to make sure they don’t burn.  Remove from the heat and allow to cool.
  • Pack the nuts into sterilised jars adding 1 tbsp of honey at every third or fourth layer.  Continue until the jars are chock-a-block full, making sure that the nuts are well covered in honey.
  • Seal securely with a lid and store in a cool, dry, dark place.  Use within 12 months.
Entry filed under: allotment tales. Tags: , .

baking beetroot risotto Henley’s fabulous dahlias

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Darla  |  October 1, 2009 at 11:41 am

    You nutter you!

    Reply
  • 2. Bilbo  |  October 1, 2009 at 12:29 pm

    Oh YUM, YUM. Will you stop with the delicious recipes – I shall have to wipe dribble from my keyboard.

    BTW, we are convinced that the red squirrel here bury nuts in order to soften them and break down some of the outer shell and yes, they do remember where they put them.

    Reply
  • 3. miss m  |  October 1, 2009 at 2:40 pm

    And what does the nutter police say about displaying such an obscenely luscious titillating mouthwatering item ? (I reckon that first pic is subject to rating …)
    Yum³ !

    Reply
  • 4. mangocheeks  |  October 1, 2009 at 5:52 pm

    I already know this is going to be delicious, especially with vanilla ice-cream. My mother in law brought me back a jar of honey with mixed nuts from her holidays in the Med. I had not seen anything like it before. Yum yum – you nutter.

    Your photgraphs are fabulous!

    Reply
  • 5. Latane  |  October 1, 2009 at 6:15 pm

    I’m never met a ‘nutter’ before but I consider it a priveledge to get to read your blog and have you for a blogging friend.

    Reply
  • 6. Nip it in the bud  |  October 1, 2009 at 6:46 pm

    Bilbo – I reckon most animals are a lot smarter than we give them credit for. Sorry about the keyboard ;o)

    Miss M – it was the nutter police who made me do it!

    MC – I’m eyeballing all my jars of nuts now to see what I can refill with. Thanks for the compliment x

    Latane – thank you, my husband sometimes calls me a nutter but for my crack of dawn visits to the allotment usually rather than my picking habits!

    Reply
  • 7. Ann  |  October 2, 2009 at 8:05 am

    Your honeyed nuts look delicious, didn’t know you could do that with nuts! My favourites are chestnuts, I love them raw, there were some French ones in our local greengrocers this week.

    Reply
    • 8. Nip it in the bud  |  October 2, 2009 at 1:31 pm

      I only have chestnuts every other christmas toasted by my father-in-law on an open fire. i do love them but find fresh ones hard to track down. Chestnut puree in earthy squash or pumpkin soups is lovely.

      Reply
  • 9. Matron  |  October 2, 2009 at 7:39 pm

    That is also a must-make! I just love fresh English cobnuts!

    Reply
  • 10. Mr. P  |  November 25, 2009 at 11:21 am

    I was DESPERATE to try this this year, and was so tired when the cobs were about that it hasn’t happened.

    Shame. They look great. And I love pam. Have made some of her things for my Christmas too.

    Reply
    • 11. Nip it in the bud  |  November 25, 2009 at 9:37 pm

      that is a shame Peter. You have to be on the ball to beat those wily squirrels.
      I shall definitely do this again next year – I’ll give you a nudge and drag you out – you’ll thank me for it I promise ;o)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 418,695 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

