home grown and local apples

October 4, 2009 at 8:05 am 5 comments

Derek's apples - 50p

Living in the city centre you can’t get more local than this:  Golden Delicious apples plucked from a tree in the back garden of a house around the corner from mine.  I was cycling to the plot when I spotted this sign on the drive way straddling a bucket brimful of apples.  I intended to call by on my way home but my head was full of other things ‘to do’ by the time I left the allotment.  The next day both the bucket and sign had gone so I knocked at the door and a kindly man named Derek answered and said ‘Yes I’ve got a few apples left but they’ve probably got worms in so just take them’. Derek's apple close up

Finding unexpected inhabitants in your fruit is certainly not for the faint hearted but to me it signals unadulterated, home grown, organic fruit.  I won the tussle with Derek over the exchange of a pound and promising to return his bucket the next day I walked home swinging it happily.  I haven’t had any wormy surprises yet and as the days pass the apples are turning from green to golden.  Delicious!  bowl of Derek's apples

Entry filed under: great people, home life. Tags: .

Henley’s fabulous dahlias a week in pictures

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mangocheeks  |  October 4, 2009 at 9:37 am

    Its local finds like these that excite me. Good job no worms.

    I had a load of cooking apples fall off the tree in my garden last year, that I was giving away, this year barely a handful are growing, so I am envious of your local apples, even if they are eating apples. Enjoy your home-made creations, which I look forward to seeing in due course on your lovely blog.

    Reply
  • 2. Latane  |  October 4, 2009 at 12:19 pm

    Aren’t finds like that just delightful. And, apples are so good for you. What is the old saying ‘An apple a day keeps the doctor away’.

    Reply
  • 3. Ann  |  October 4, 2009 at 7:25 pm

    Nice find!!! Hope you come up with some recipes I can borrow. I have one of the small, straight cooking apple trees, can’t remember what they are called. I got enough apples off it to make an apple and blueberry betty.

    Reply
  • 4. Nip it in the bud  |  October 5, 2009 at 10:35 am

    I’m so pleased you’d have all skipped with joy too at coming across such a wonderful find. I’d love to send you some but will just have to come up with some lovely recipes to try instead. mmmm cake perhaps…

    Reply
  • 5. asteroidsadventures  |  July 20, 2012 at 5:22 pm

    Looks great! My fave apples are cox apples or pink lady apples! If you want to, visit my blog and se the work I have done on homemade food!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 423,240 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

