teeny tiny toms

October 8, 2009 at 8:56 am 6 comments

Teeny tiny tomsNow where was I?  Oh yes, the teeny tiny toms for Ann.  Don’t worry it’s not a tale of extreme eating and dining on drawing pins.  Do you remember the golden delicious apples from down the road?  When I returned Derek’s bucket he showed me around his back garden and I asked him about his spiky tomato plant and it’s tiny fruit.  He didn’t know what variety it was (he wouldn’t have had any tomato plants at all if a friend hadn’t given it to him) and he’s not even keen on eating tomatoes.  Derek's teeny tiny toms

Which is why they ended up coming home with me!  They were wonderfully sweet and each one popped when bitten.  I was wondering how to convey just how tiny they were hence playing around with drawing pins.  tiny toms 2 + pin

Little and large tiny toms_vertical + box

Pretty maids all in a row tiny toms_vertical

Entry filed under: allotment tales. Tags: .

a week in pictures swapping and sampling preserves

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ann  |  October 8, 2009 at 9:07 am

    Thanks Nic, those tiny tomatoes look so cute!!! I’ve never seen any so tiny, they are even smaller than the tomato plant I’ve got growing in a hanging basket, I just had to buy it for the tiny fruits.

    Reply
  • 2. Darla  |  October 8, 2009 at 11:14 am

    I could eat those until I had a stomach ache!

    Reply
  • 3. Bilbo  |  October 8, 2009 at 11:54 am

    and it sounds like you are developing a new gardening friend.

    Reply
  • 4. Jasmin  |  October 8, 2009 at 1:55 pm

    Ooh, this makes me feel less bad about our teeny tiny tomatoes! What a lovely post and fantastic photos!

    Reply
  • 5. glucosamine    |  October 9, 2009 at 7:45 am

    First of all I would like to say what wonderful pictures it is. I just love tomatoes! and here you have put tiny tomatoes which is very cute! Ha ha! I like it so much. Thank you very much for sharing such a nice pictures!!

    Reply
  • 6. Nip it in the bud  |  October 9, 2009 at 10:25 am

    Ann – cute fruit definitely tastes sweeter! I bet they looked lovely hanging up

    Darla – me too and even then I probably wouldn’t stop. You’ll be pleased to hear they didn’t though

    Bilbo – it’s lovely to recognise a few more faces from the neighbourhood and I’ve been invited back next year :o)

    Jas – don’t feel bad, size doesn’t matter – at least you got some toms. Bet Matt was thrilled, he had sort of adopted them hadn’t he

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 439,769 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

