flowering vegetables

October 12, 2009 at 10:00 am 8 comments

Apart from sunflowers I’m yet to grow ornamental flowers at the plot.  I like leaving the odd vegetable plant to flower though.  Pat does too so I’m in good company.  These are still blooming on our plot and neither of us seem in any hurry to pull them out. 

Do you recognise them?

Entry filed under: allotment tales. Tags: , .

looking after lavender surprise autumn strawberries

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Matron  |  October 12, 2009 at 11:42 am

    Don’t pull them out! i did a post back in the Spring, the insects seem to adore vegetable flowers if you allow a couple to go to flower in each batch. Especially visited were brassicas and parsnip flowers!

    Reply
  • 2. Darla  |  October 12, 2009 at 2:04 pm

    They are beautiful…broccoli, peas,squash of some sort?

    Reply
  • 3. jacqueline  |  October 12, 2009 at 4:23 pm

    So, so pretty. I see why you were pleased to leave them 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Bilbo  |  October 12, 2009 at 9:22 pm

    Do you recognise them?

    Nope – but they are all so pretty that you should leave them, in fact, maybe plant them deliberately in the flower bed next year!

    Reply
  • 5. Nip it in the bud  |  October 12, 2009 at 9:30 pm

    they are pretty aren’t they but the pumpkins are definitely coming out! I really like the pak choi (yellow flowers) and rocket (white flowers) and I’m sure I can work around them on the plot. Pat’s nasturtium’s (yellow close up) and chicory (blue) will be in for the duration too I’m sure.

    Reply
  • 6. Ann  |  October 13, 2009 at 9:54 am

    I thought I could only identify one, the last one I thought was courgette, but it’s a pumpkin is it? They all look so pretty don’t they.

    Reply
    • 7. Nip it in the bud  |  October 14, 2009 at 8:42 am

      they’re the same family Ann so you are right. That’s why half the time you can’t tell what variety you’ll get until they fruit, hence the surprise at the round football shaped courgettes from Dave this year

      Reply
  • 8. Cheryl  |  October 16, 2009 at 8:59 pm

    I recognized the first one straight away – this was my first year to plant broccoli and I didn’t pick it in time, so it surprised me and turned into a flower!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 421,942 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

