five ways with… a ton of damsons

October 15, 2009 at 12:18 pm 16 comments

damsons branch by shed 16-8-09*Not literally a ton of damsons… 1% of a ton in fact.  But it’s a ton of work picking, stoning and preserving  10 kilos of damsons.  Don’t let that put you off if you spot a tree though, they’re well worth the effort.  I’ll post full recipe details shortly but in the meantime here’s my Times on-line style ‘5 ways with …‘ spotlight on damsons.  Drum roll please, in order of success and recommendation here are my tried and tested

5 ways with … damsons
(quantities here are the amounts I used not the amounts you need to have!)

dambeena 4kg of damsons boiled and strained to make 3.5 litres of Pam Corbin’s dambeena cordial.  Unlike other cordials or jellies the leftover fruit pulp can be saved to make a delicious pie filling, a hot sauce to pour over ice-cream or mixed with double cream.  4kg of fruit pulp after straining and removing the stones produced 4 jam jars of puree. Damson cordial side view

damson jam 1.1kg made about 6 jars of jam.  I was thrilled to bits with how tasty my first ever jam making attempt turned out and it was given a big thumbs up by our visitors last week.  Hints of citrus and cinnamon intesified the flavour of the damsons beautifully.  (click here for recipe)Damson jam - close up

damson muffins I found this recipe in a copy of Waitrose Food magazine from September 2007 (thanks for letting me pinch it Lei).  It uses oil and yoghurt instead of butter and the damsons cook beautifully added raw to the sugared cake mix.  I had a wonderful assistant for this batch of baking but you’ll have to wait to find out who…  (update: damson muffins recipe here)damson muffins cut up *

damson chutney 1.35kg of damsons made into a dozen 110ml jars of Delia’s spiced damson chutney.  It cooks down to a very soft jam like consistency and is delicately spiced with cloves, all spice and ginger.  (click here for recipe)damson chutney_spooned

freezing damsons to delay decision making about other recipes to try!  3kg, about 10 litres, de-stoned while watching a film with George (be warned it’ll take about 40 minutes per kilo and requires a big dose of patience and a not easily irritated husband!).  I’ve still got purple stained fingers and a sore thumb so I’d recommend wearing latex gloves for this.  Damsons - 10 litre*

bottling damsons 1.2kg bottled in syrup.  I used kilner jars and wasn’t convinced that the seals were airtight because drops of liquid kept seaping out of the side and puddling on the worktop for about a week after.  Initially I I thought it was fermenting (suspicious looking bubbles at the top of the jar) but it seems to have dried off now and the bubbles have gone.  If I bottled fruit again I’d use jam jars and I can’t really vouch for the success of this method yet.  At least there shouldn’t be any bacteria in the jar as I topped them off with spoonful of cherry brandy.damsons in syrup

If you thought you’d spotted a deliberate mistake there with 6 options I don’t  think ‘freezing‘ really qualifies as a recipe!   I’m not really advocating bottling either so I actually need to offer you one more don’t I?  How about an alternative use for damson jam and a swirly dance with some cream to make  Steve Parle’s perfect damson ripple ice-cream.  Summer sunshine and melting ice creams may be long forgotten but don’t you just want to lean in and give this a lick!   Steve Parle's damson ice creamSteve Parle is a former River Cafe cook and writes food posts for the Observer Organic Allotment blog. I’ve not made Steve’s ice-cream yet so this is his blog photo not mine.

Entry filed under: 5 ways with ..., allotment tales, in the kitchen. Tags: , , , .

surprise autumn strawberries sunflower art to brighten up the garden

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mangocheeks  |  October 15, 2009 at 2:52 pm

    Your foraging is really working out. I want to go where you go, can I come along next time….I know I would be welcome, just the distance….boo hoo

    Reply
    • 2. Nip it in the bud  |  October 15, 2009 at 4:20 pm

      I’m spoilt MC, there are two trees on my plot, one behind the shed and one to the side of the jerusalem artichokes. You’re welcome to come down next year ;o) there’s more than enough to go around!

      Reply
  • 3. catloiscat  |  October 15, 2009 at 9:01 pm

    I successfully made damson and bramley apple crumble with some of ‘nip it in the buds’ beautiful damsons yesterday.. it was delicious served with ice cream. had to borrow an oven mind you as mine blew up unfortunately.. x

    Reply
    • 4. Nip it in the bud  |  October 15, 2009 at 9:44 pm

      hooray, you made it, a bet it was delicious! just think of all those other lovely baked goodies you’ll be able to try when your oven is fixed. I’ll be posting the muffins soon with my mystery guest….

      Reply
  • 5. Ann  |  October 16, 2009 at 8:22 am

    I love damsons, reminds me of my childhood when we live in Shropshire, there were damson trees everywhere! The Dambeena looks delicious, must try it with plums, haven’t seen any damsons here at all.

    Reply
  • 6. Jasmin  |  October 18, 2009 at 6:55 am

    Nic,you’re so clever! I can’t believe you’ve never made jam before…truly delicious! x

    Reply
  • 8. Nic's Husband  |  August 13, 2011 at 10:00 am

    2011 – this year’s update – after 2009’s bumper crop, last year’s damson harvest wasn’t so good, but this year it’s looking promising on the trees. I think they often skip a year like that after a big crop. I pruned the tree in the autumn of 2010 too so that probably helped. I purchased some demi-johns to make rhubarb wine – there’s one empty one which is reserved for damson wine – I’ll ask N to blog about it when it’s done.

    Reply
  • 9. Oxo Tots baking Granny style | Nip it in the bud  |  September 29, 2013 at 1:29 pm

    […] usually gathering ingredients for chutney making:  using up a glut of courgettes or beetroot or damsons. With no allotment grown veggies this year I’m using up my preserve stores instead and […]

    Reply
  • 10. decisions decisions | Nip it in the bud  |  January 16, 2014 at 3:25 pm

    […] me on 73 new posts in 2013, growing my total archive to 440 posts. Not too bad afterall then! And in case you were wondering …5 ways with a ton of damsons is still the most popular post with 8,403 views since it was written in 2009 (click on link below […]

    Reply
  • 11. Annette  |  September 9, 2014 at 11:05 am

    I use a gadget designed to remove stones from cherries and olives to remove the stones from damsons – it works a treat!

    Reply
    • 12. Nip it in the bud  |  September 9, 2014 at 12:40 pm

      I’ve been wondering if my cherry pitter would be up to the task (acquired long after I wrote this post). Now I’ve got a toddler there is so much less time for making preserves – damsons bunged in whole to make cordial is about the extent of it!

      Reply
  • 13. a berry nice bowl | Nip it in the bud  |  September 20, 2014 at 4:20 pm

    […] come to expect nothing less from the Good Grips range. For other great Damson recipes check out 5 ways with a ton of Damsons Disclosure: I was sent the bowl set to review. I was not required to write a positive review and […]

    Reply
  • 14. recipe for happiness | Nip it in the bud  |  November 20, 2014 at 8:01 am

    […] a strange and curious thing looking at blog stats like that.  By contrast the most popular post, ’5 ways with… a ton of damsons’ has been viewed 13,100 times!  Who are all these people?   I’m obviously not alone in my […]

    Reply
  • […] five ways with… a ton of damsons […]

    Reply
  • 16. a forager’s paradise | Nip it in the bud  |  September 13, 2016 at 11:30 am

    […] Damsons: 5 ways with..a ton of damsons (dambeena, muffins, chutney, jam, bottled) […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 441,706 hits

Archives

Instagram

#onefromthearchives in the days when I had time to experiment with preserve recipes and create edible gifts
#nipitinthebudblog #gloucesterlife #chutneyaddict #allotmentgardening #foragersdelight #preservemaking So totally stoked to receive my #thisisbritainphotobook this morning.  My gut feeling was right - bedtime stories with our Lumie bed bug was the photo chosen by #rankin for inclusion.  Overjoyed to see my beautiful boys in print
#photographybook #photobox #lumiebedbug @lumie.lights 
#proudmumma #newblogpost 5 ways with . . . a ton of rhubarb.  Many thanks to @choclette8 for sharing two of her recipes so I could finally complete this post! 
#nipitinthebudblog #gloucesterlife #rhubarb #preservemaking #greentomatochutney #chutneyaddict #rhubarbwine #rhubarbicecream A first birthday fruit stack tower #nipitinthebudblog #gloucesterlife #duplo #firstbirthdaysugarfree I was reminded of these ridiculous German Hilds Blue radishes I grew once when @happyacrefarm posted their giant spud picture today.  I say grew but I actually just forgot about them and they did this all by themselves! 
#nipitinthebudblog #growinggiantveg #oversizedvegetables #gloucesterlife
A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

