making damson muffins

October 17, 2009 at 8:08 am 17 comments

catherine muffin eyes *Meet my lovely sister-in-law Catherine and my secret muffin maker.  Catherine came to stay for the weekend and we spent a fab Sunday afternoon cooking up the fruits of our morning allotment pickings.  We picked the last of the damsons and made muffins and more dambeena cordial and froze what is probably the last of the autumn raspberries.  The recipe we used for the damson muffins was from a 2007 copy of The Waitrose Good Food magazine.damson muffins cut up *

320g damsons
275g plain flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
200g caster sugar
2 eggs
100ml sunflower oil
250ml natural yoghurt

MOSAIC - damsons, egg and oil

  • Preheat the oven to 180C/gas mark 4.
  • Thoroughly wash the damsons and cut them in half to remove the stones, being sure to cut out any bad bits.  Roughly chop into quarters and set aside.
  • Sift the flour, baking powder and bicarbonate of soda into a large mixing bowl and stir in the sugar.
  • Whisk together the eggs, oil and yoghurt in a separate jug.  Stir this mixture into the flour until just combined.  Add the damsons and stir again.
  • When mixed, divide between a greased 12 hole muffin tin.  Bake for about 15 minutes, until the muffins spring back when pressed.
  • Leave to cool on a wire rack.  Serve while still warm.

damson muffins in cake tin close up

I always use cake cases inside cake tins.  Partly because I don’t like making washing up harder than it needs to be but also because it’s a waste of good cake crumbs scraping muffins off metal.  We experimented with a couple and spooned the mixture directly into the tin.  They broke up a bit when lifted out because the cake mix is quite light and fluffly.  I don’t think they would have stored as well as they did without the silicone case holding them together.  It does mean your muffins will be more like cakes but on the plus side you’ll get 18 cakes instead of the suggested 12 muffins. damson muffins

Did I mention that we shared our morning at the allotment with a constant stream of drizzle?  No wonder we wanted to do some warming baking when we got back.  It was brilliant having an extra pair of hands and as Piglet would say ‘it’s so much friendlier with two‘.  So thanks for all your help in the kitchen Catherine and for picking these catherine's raspberries

so that I could do this MOSAIC - Nic digging

ps. a little nutritional info from The Waitrose magazine.
per muffin – 276 kcals, 10.9g fat, 18g sat fat, 0.4g salt, 23.2g sugars

Entry filed under: allotment tales, great people, in the kitchen. Tags: , , .

sunflower art to brighten up the garden making a strawberry hat come egg cosy

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mangocheeks  |  October 17, 2009 at 9:22 am

    I don’t think I have ever tasted damsons in any form. Those muffins do look good, I try to make a dozen for the start of the week for my working week.

    Quick question Nic, How do you find those silicone cases? I bought a dozen and have used them twice, but have not been so successful with them, is there anything i shoudl be doing before putting the filling in, as they never come out the casing well.

    Reply
    • 2. Nip it in the bud  |  October 17, 2009 at 10:59 am

      I find they’re great. The cases peel off easily when the cakes have cooled down more so than when the contents are warm (perhaps try oiling them like you would a cake tin?). I even used them to hold fish cakes together when I didn’t have any eggs. I’ve got a pack of 12 I paid a fiver for from M&S and a pack of 6 from the 99p stores and they both perform equally well.

      ps. just made another batch of damson jam this morning using small 110ml jars – it’s absolutely delicious. Want to swap something?

      Reply
  • 3. miss m  |  October 17, 2009 at 3:04 pm

    Your pics always look so appetizing !
    So lovely and yummy. Thx for sharing your tips and recipe.

    Reply
    • 4. Nip it in the bud  |  October 18, 2009 at 3:18 pm

      thank you Miss M, using oil instead of butter worked well with these and they were lighter and less dry than normal cakes. I ate the last one today on a digging break ;o)

      Reply
  • 5. Ann  |  October 17, 2009 at 5:25 pm

    I’m going to try these muffins, they look delicious! Thanks for the recipe.

    Reply
  • 6. Ann  |  October 17, 2009 at 7:59 pm

    Sorry about the double comment, I’m using my lap top, which I hate, we’re still away from home – at the seaside, weather is terrible!!!

    Reply
    • 7. Nip it in the bud  |  October 18, 2009 at 3:16 pm

      not to worry Ann, I can delete one off. What a shame your seaside break hasn’t been kind with the weather. Hope it’s better today.
      cheerio, Nic x

      Reply
  • 8. Michelle  |  October 18, 2009 at 2:11 am

    I’ve never heard of damsons before this post, but they sound delicious!

    Reply
    • 9. Nip it in the bud  |  October 18, 2009 at 3:15 pm

      they are Michelle. If you were in the UK I’d send you some jam to try or even some damsons for you to add to your muffins :o)

      Reply
  • 10. Jasmin  |  October 18, 2009 at 6:56 am

    These look fab…how lucky to have a beautiful assistant to help! x

    Reply
    • 11. Nip it in the bud  |  October 18, 2009 at 3:11 pm

      thank you, she did the washing up too. what a star!

      Reply
  • 12. catloiscat  |  October 18, 2009 at 4:38 pm

    I loved sampling the delicious damson moorey muffins whilst they were just out of the oven and still warm, melting in my mouth.. yummie. and I loved washing up.. think its like therapy sometimes. makes you feel relaxed, cleansed and better…. some people may disagree.. but i like it. From Nic inspiring me I have so far made four individual portioned size and two big apple and damson crumbles and also a rubarb and apple crumble today!!! will sample this at the folks tonight. xxx let you know how it is..

    Reply
  • 13. Nip it in the bud  |  October 19, 2009 at 9:06 pm

    mmm, if only there wasn’t a postal strike… rhubarb crumble yummy, I bet you had ice cream AND cream with it. Delicious x

    Reply
  • 14. feeding the soil with green manure « Nip it in the bud  |  October 24, 2009 at 11:20 am

    […] tomato patch.  It took about an hour and half to dig the rest of the weeds out (started the weekend of rain and muffin making), about the same time to remove the runner bean canes and a couple of the sprout stalks and a […]

    Reply
  • 15. Helen of Manchester  |  August 21, 2011 at 8:59 am

    I made these eariler inthe year when my freezer packed up and left me with tons of defrosted damsons. Today I’ve just made these with some of my mountain of wild plums. It made 24 muffins and the most lovely breakfast. Thank you for posting.

    Reply
    • 16. Nip it in the bud  |  August 21, 2011 at 9:35 am

      what a fab way to start the day Helen and thanks for coming back to leave a comment. Always lovely to hear that recipes are a success in other people’s kitchen and how they’ve been adapted to make something slightly different

      Reply
  • 17. Lynn, Belfast  |  September 1, 2014 at 1:29 pm

    I know you posted this recipe a few years ago but just wanted to say that after my mum in law gave me loads of damsons, I had lots left over after making jam so found your recipe after a google search. Just wanted to say that I adapted the recipe a little bit to try and see if they would wok gluten free and they did! I substituted the flour for 200g gluten free self raising flour and 75g of gram (chickpea) flour and the baking powder was gluten free but apart from that, the rest of the recipe was the same . I’m delighted with the results and have bookmarked this page so I can make them again! Thank you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 439,898 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

