making a strawberry hat come egg cosy

October 18, 2009 at 1:30 pm 7 comments

Big Knit - hatsI nearly forgot all about the teeny tiny strawberry hat I said I’d make for The Big Knit.  I was right not to build up expectations with rash promises to make more than one hat.  Before you congratulate me for doubling my efforts this lovely little blue hat, with fetching red pom pom, was made by Catherine (she of the muffin making fame).  Not bad for someone who hasn’t done any knitting since being taught by her mum a couple of decades ago.  Did you notice how neat her stitches are?  Very impressive.  Big Knit - strawberry hat egg cosyI was quite pleased with my strawberry hat which I found was a perfect fit as an egg cosy.  Our hats are on the their way to Fruit Towers now and Innocent have decided to extend the deadline to the end of the month to allow for delays with postal strikes.  So still 2 weeks to get knitting if you’d forgotten too…

note to self:  persevere with finding out how to take better photos indoors – wheelie bins do not make glamorous stands and rain is not good for cameras!

Entry filed under: being creative. Tags: .

making damson muffins lunching on leftovers

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ann  |  October 18, 2009 at 4:34 pm

    hah – these are fun!!! Knitting is something I don’t do.

    Reply
  • 2. mangocheeks  |  October 18, 2009 at 4:53 pm

    So so cute. Maybe with the winter nearing, I will get back to some knitting.

    I went to the bookshop earlier today and in the cookbook section they had some knitted carrots, apples and strawberries on display, I thought they were delightful, one-day I will make my own.

    Reply
  • 3. marketcook  |  October 18, 2009 at 5:25 pm

    Hi, Nic – thanks for the comment in my blog; I’m going to add yours to my blogroll if you don’t mind.

    I’ve found that the best way to get good indoor food photos is to set up near a window during the daytime, position yourself so you’re not shooting *toward* the window (which would throw everything in silhouette) – and use a tripod.

    Reply
  • 4. Nip it in the bud  |  October 19, 2009 at 10:48 am

    Ann – my mother-in-law is a master knitter but says all knitting, even the complicated stitches, is just a variation of the two basic Knit and Purl stitches.

    mc – knitted fruits look ace don’t they. I quite fancy that myself too :o)

    Pat – thanks for coming to say hello, the tag and the tips :o) Ah, I do point towards the window because I’ve been getting shadow with it behind me. I shall try it from the spare bedroom perhaps which has a bigger window. A tripod would certainly help with hand shake. I phoned a photographer friend yesterday and he suggested a white background and it worked a treat for last night’s dinner. I mean what fool would try to get a good shot against a purple wall. Hmm, that would be me then!

    Reply
  • 5. Bilbo  |  October 19, 2009 at 4:51 pm

    You’re mad, quite, quite wonderfully mad. Must be why we get on – kindred spirits and all that!

    Reply
  • 6. Nip it in the bud  |  October 19, 2009 at 5:26 pm

    yep, mad as a hat… er !

    Reply
  • 7. Kiki  |  October 28, 2009 at 11:54 am

    Oh my gosh..these are super adorable!! What fun!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 436,440 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

