cabbage comeback and the next generation

October 29, 2009 at 11:24 am 7 comments

cabbage_recovery from caterpillars close up*The cabbages I planted in July are nearly ready to be eaten.  They’re a pleasing size and look very appetising which is a great improvement on how I felt about them a few months ago when they were being devoured by cabbage white caterpillars.  Another example of a Lazarus like recovery in the garden. cabbage_recovery from caterpillarsI’ve been planting these Spring cabbage seedlings from John this week.people_John with spring cabbagesJohn dug up some of my surplus raspberry canes last month and when he asked if I wanted anything for them I said ‘well, if you have any spare autumn plants I’d be happy to relieve you of them.  I’m yet to master the art of sowing seeds for overwintering plants in the midst of summer harvesting’. And lo and behold a few weeks later John waved me over to pass on this tray of 25 spring cabbage seedlings.  cabbage patch seedlingscabbage patch_towards shedI planted 15 cabbage seedlings and gave the rest to my neighbour Pat.  For the eagle eyed among you the savoy cabbage you can see was grown by Bernadette and was donated as an unexpected thank you for the damson jam she’d received.  I love the currency of fruit and veg!Cabbage from Bernadette

Entry filed under: allotment tales. Tags: .

brie baked apples vegetarian stuffed marrows

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Hazel  |  October 29, 2009 at 12:06 pm

    I’m yet to master the art of sowing seeds for overwintering plants in the midst of summer harvesting

    Snap! Note for me too for next year to sow brassicas for winter in July…

    I love the allotment ‘currency’ too – those seedlings look wonderful!

    Reply
    • 2. Nip it in the bud  |  October 29, 2009 at 7:04 pm

      I reckon you have to rack up double figures in gardening years before you can manage sowing, growing and harvesting alongside one another!

      Reply
  • 3. Ann  |  October 29, 2009 at 12:56 pm

    Your friend John’s seedlings look very healthy, unlike my puny things!

    Reply
    • 4. Nip it in the bud  |  October 29, 2009 at 7:03 pm

      feed them with some of your chicken pellets and I’m sure they’ll revive Ann

      Reply
  • 5. miss m  |  October 30, 2009 at 2:05 am

    Hurray for barter buds ! Those seedlings look splendid.

    Reply
  • 6. moving things around « Nip it in the bud  |  November 21, 2009 at 9:25 am

    […] been quite a bit of bed hopping and moving round taking place over the last month! 1.  cabbages now in the early pumpkin patch 2.  broad beans in the late pumpkin patch 3.  onion sets where the […]

    Reply
  • 7. Maphutha Ramphagane  |  July 9, 2010 at 12:47 pm

    Good day. May u please send me cabbage seedlings that are ready to be transplanted.I will be presenting on cabbage production from 12-16 for small scale farmers

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 441,706 hits

Archives

Instagram

#onefromthearchives in the days when I had time to experiment with preserve recipes and create edible gifts
#nipitinthebudblog #gloucesterlife #chutneyaddict #allotmentgardening #foragersdelight #preservemaking So totally stoked to receive my #thisisbritainphotobook this morning.  My gut feeling was right - bedtime stories with our Lumie bed bug was the photo chosen by #rankin for inclusion.  Overjoyed to see my beautiful boys in print
#photographybook #photobox #lumiebedbug @lumie.lights 
#proudmumma #newblogpost 5 ways with . . . a ton of rhubarb.  Many thanks to @choclette8 for sharing two of her recipes so I could finally complete this post! 
#nipitinthebudblog #gloucesterlife #rhubarb #preservemaking #greentomatochutney #chutneyaddict #rhubarbwine #rhubarbicecream A first birthday fruit stack tower #nipitinthebudblog #gloucesterlife #duplo #firstbirthdaysugarfree I was reminded of these ridiculous German Hilds Blue radishes I grew once when @happyacrefarm posted their giant spud picture today.  I say grew but I actually just forgot about them and they did this all by themselves! 
#nipitinthebudblog #growinggiantveg #oversizedvegetables #gloucesterlife
A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

