resisting temptation

November 4, 2009 at 7:17 pm 5 comments

wellies at B&QWellies adorned with stripes and spots are on sale at B&Q and I think I did really well to come home without a pair.  My heart skipped a beat when I saw what I thought were giraffe print wellies.  I walked past, glanced back, paused and retraced my steps to ummm and aaaah.  I even went so far as to try one on (a bit snug in my usual size 4 with my extra pair of allotment socks already on).  Maybe a size 5?  I picked up another pair to check the label and read ‘Size 5 leopard print‘.  And back on the shelf they went.  An easy mistake to make mixing up your animal prints in the flush of excitement at spying giraffe colours.  I don’t suppose anyone else would have realised either if I had got them.  But I would have known and it would have been like settling for a rice cake when you really want chocolate.  And of course there’s the small fact of not actually needing them:  my 5 year old green wellies, also purchased from B&Q, are doing a fine job of keeping my feet dry inspite of being stored in a shed with no roof.  As long as I remember to do this and check for spiders before I put them on it’s fine! wellies waiting for rainWhile I was at B&Q I had a look at the sheds and daydreamed about which little hideaway I’d choose if I found a pot of gold at the end of a rainbow to buy a shed (after buying a house with a cottage garden to put it in!).   Maybe a nice little potting shed?  Or a Wayne Hemmingway designed storage shack?  Or perhaps a summer house for snoozing and entertaining in between digs? potting shed copyTridoor bikestore copysummer house copy

And if I really had money to burn perhaps I’d bring a bit of cheek to the plot by getting one of these Butt Butt‘s for collecting the rainwater from my shed/shack/summerhouse…butt butt ad copy

What would be on your gardening wishlist if you found a pot of gold?

© Wayne Hemmingway and B&Q for shed and waterbutt images used
(sheds shown: Corner potting store, Tridoor bikestore, Corsica summerhouse )

Entry filed under: home life. Tags: .

potting up strawberry runners give a ‘hog a home

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Johanna  |  November 4, 2009 at 10:39 pm

    I too would have thought they were giraffe boots and coveted a pair – that butt is hilarious

    Reply
  • 2. miss m  |  November 4, 2009 at 10:59 pm

    My wish ? LAND ! lots and lots of it … Acres ! Don’t care about the house as long as it comes with land.

    I saw that butt the other day (can’t remember where) … Wazzup with that ? A humorous ploy to get ppl green ? It’s butt ugly if you ask me … Eeek ! 😛

    I’d pass on the leopard print too but giraffe would be totally awesome ! 😉

    Reply
  • 3. Ann  |  November 5, 2009 at 9:05 am

    I’d have the garage replaced with that fabulous summer house, our garage just has gardening stuff in it anyway and it’s halfway down the garden. And I’d have someone come and re-do my raised beds in a more workable design.

    Thanks for the link, something else to go on my to do list!!!

    Reply
  • 4. Sarah Longthorn  |  November 5, 2009 at 3:52 pm

    If you want to look good and stand out from the crowd, you need our “Giraffe Glamour” WedgeWelly boots!

    Our Wellies are guaranteed to give you a height advantage over those flat Wellie wearers, and…………………. the high fashion surface patterns will make you the envy of everyone!!!!

    And if that’s not enough………………. these Wellies will be the most comfortable you will ever put on your feet (so if you’re planning long walks, make sure your feet are well looked after in our slipper inspired WedgeWellys!!).

    Mud never looked so gud!

    Sarah xx

    Reply
  • 5. Nip it in the bud  |  November 6, 2009 at 1:56 pm

    Jo – there’s a real gap in the fashion market for giraffe addicts

    Miss M – butt ugly I agree :o) they also have a giant water bottle but who’d really have these in their garden? I’m with you on the land wish…

    Ann – when you replace your garage can I have it ;o) bikes in the kitchen is not a good look!

    Sarah – gorgeous wellies but their too nice for digging! And I have trouble walking in heels as it is so wedge wellies and my flat feet are not a good combination. I’d probably end up face to face with the mud when I trip over my own feet!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 436,440 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

