urban apple scrumping

November 6, 2009 at 1:35 pm 10 comments

Apple picking_close up*We went out on our bikes last weekend to make the most of the fading autumn sunshine and my foraging feelers spied these lovely apples high up in the branches of a tree on our way home.  There were a couple of small green windfalls on the ground but like a magpie to shiny objects I was drawn to the large red and yellow tree ripening apples on the branches beyond reach.  Apple picking_apples on branchC’mon‘ sighed George as I stood astride my bike transfixed,  ‘you can’t have them, it’s scrumping if you take them!‘  I had no intention of scrumping of course and every intention of asking so I paused while he cycled off and smiled to myself as I wheeled my bike up the drive to knock on the door.  Two minutes later when George doubled back to find me I introduced him to Sue and Martin who had picked all the apples they could reach and were more than happy for us to return the next day with the car and a ladder to take as many as we wanted. MOSAIC_apple pickingWhat a haul!  An entire tub full of apples.  I shall return with an appley delight when I decide what I’m going to do with them all; in the meantime a damson jam thank you had to suffice. Apple picking_applesI did wonder if any of the neighbours would approach us while picking as Sue and Martin were out when we arrived but apart from this fine lady peering over the wall of the house opposite we were left to our peaceful picking. Apple picking scarecrow

 

Entry filed under: away from the plot, great people. Tags: .

give a ‘hog a home planting spring bulbs

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. miss m  |  November 6, 2009 at 2:05 pm

    How nice of Sue and Martin ! and good for you for asking. Lovely haul ! Looking forward to the appley delights to come.

    ps. Gotta love that scarecrow !

    Reply
    • 2. Nip it in the bud  |  November 8, 2009 at 4:32 pm

      mostly juicey delights I think as I there’s not much room left for storing chutney.

      Reply
  • 3. Ann  |  November 7, 2009 at 8:02 am

    That was brave of you, to go and ask if you could pick some apples, and what a great haul you got!!! Bet they’ll love your damson jam too.

    Reply
    • 4. Nip it in the bud  |  November 8, 2009 at 4:33 pm

      Even just a year ago I would have thought it far too cheeky to ask such a thing but as Sue said herself ‘you never know until you ask’. And I’ve found that people who have left fruit on their tree are usually more than happy to part with it and make me an offer before the ‘can I… words leave my lips!

      Reply
  • 5. Jasmin  |  November 8, 2009 at 11:20 am

    This is such a great story and how lovely of Sue and Martin to share so willingly. I’m sure they’ll love the damson jam! x

    Reply
    • 6. Nip it in the bud  |  November 8, 2009 at 4:31 pm

      The apples nearly killed my juicer so I’ve been boiling them up to make cordial today instead. Should be lovely with some blackberries from the freezer or perhaps some christmas spices. yummy x

      Reply
  • 7. Johanna  |  November 9, 2009 at 4:06 am

    wow that is brave to ask for them – and it does give hope that the community spirit is not dead – I hope you find some great things to make – highly recommend the soup that I made with my apple post

    Reply
    • 8. Nip it in the bud  |  November 9, 2009 at 3:48 pm

      Hi Johanna, I will definitely do that. I’ve been wondering how to make my sprouts more exciting too. thanks x

      Reply
  • 9. Trish  |  November 25, 2009 at 11:52 pm

    Lucky you! That’s something I would love to do! I can’t go foraging for apples here in central texas, however, I can, and do, forage for pecans! Your blog is absolutely jampacked with beautiful pictures, recipes,and info! I will definitely be looking in on a regular basis! (texasnative7)

    Reply
    • 10. Nip it in the bud  |  November 27, 2009 at 5:42 pm

      wow pecans, what a treat! look forward to swapping foraging stories again when you popped back. No wonder you’re growing your own apple trees with none to forage from ;o)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 436,440 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

