planting spring bulbs

November 9, 2009 at 3:38 pm 5 comments

Taurus crafts_bulb close upThe purchase of these lovely allium bulbs was inspired by Bulbmania to bring a little colour to my garden in the Spring when other plants are still sleeping.  I’ve not planted bulbs before and had to scribble the name of each bulb on the paper bags I wrapped them in at the garden centre.  I don’t really want to play ‘guess who‘ with the flowers next spring.  Admitting I didn’t know the names of Henley’s flowers was one thing but planting bulbs and being baffled about what to expect when the flowers emerge would be a bit daft.

So what can I look forward to in the spring?  Irises of course, although they’ll be a season too soon for our wedding anniversary. blue magic iris bulbs Taurus Crafts irisesAnemone bulbs looked too intriguing to pass up precisely because they look nothing like bulbs.  I can’t wait to see what emerges from such a strange knotty lump and I jumbled up all the colours in one bag so at least there will be some surprises come Spring.  anemone bulbsTaurus crafts anemonesI began this post at the end of September; harvest season and the long awaited rain then kept me from completing it.  I’ve since planted a few of the bulbs in a space between the strawberry patch and the spinach bed after removing the dwarf bean plants and feeding the soil with chicken pellets.  (note to self:  planted 25/10/09) MOSAIC - bulbsSpring bulbs planted on 25-10-09I’ve got another week or so to decide where the rest of them are going to go (along with some lovely looking mini bulbs called Puschkina Libanotica which will produce blue striped white flowers).  Just as well I’ve been busy digging in spite of the rain!

update: flowered in April – see amazing anemones

Entry filed under: allotment tales. Tags: .

urban apple scrumping Jon’s garden, cats and tea

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ann  |  November 10, 2009 at 9:55 am

    I’m looking forward to seeing your bulbs next spring! You’ve reminded me to get some allium bulbs.

    I answered your questions on my comments page, by the way.

    Reply
  • 2. jeff-nhn  |  November 10, 2009 at 1:58 pm

    This weekend I will be planting bulbs. Shall I say my wife and I will be planting bulbs. We have waited until the soil temperatures have lowered some. Our new kick is Allium bulbs. I’m not sure of the count but we have dozens to plant.

    Reply
  • 3. Nip it in the bud  |  November 10, 2009 at 5:18 pm

    I’m in good company then Jeff with continuing my planting at the weekend. I just can’t decide where to put them to be sure I get the most from their colourful flowering next year. I think a scattering in several places is called for!
    Enjoy being a bulbmaniac and spread the word :o)

    Reply
  • 4. moving things around « Nip it in the bud  |  November 21, 2009 at 9:25 am

    […] first sowing of spring bulbs where the dwarf beans were, second sowing of bulbs and wallflowers in the early potatoes patch The […]

    Reply
  • 5. plot taming … oh my word! « Nip it in the bud  |  June 2, 2012 at 7:00 pm

    […] there were some spring bulbs that had resurfaced again to cheer us on our way.  Yellow and purple irises that were starting to […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 428,414 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

