Jon’s garden, cats and tea

November 10, 2009 at 8:35 pm 4 comments

MOSAIC-JonWhen I told our friend Jon about the gorgeous virginia creeper cloaking a shed at the allotment he offered to give me a cutting from his garden to get me started on my shed’s covering.  I couldn’t resist taking photos of his gorgeous plants, trees and feline friends when I popped round to collect my potted cutting.  That was a couple of weeks ago when the autumn shades of red and yellow leaves were at their most vibrant.  I suspect Jon’s virginia creeper has dropped all it’s leaves now…Jon's virginia creeper_close up.. that the ivy is still climbingJon's ivy_top…that these leaves are no longer redJon's red-green leaves…that the water snails have had their fill of appleJon's pond with snails on apple_close up…that Jon has made some tasty dish using his home grown thyme…Jon's thyme_yellow…and that his cat Greenhouse is still refusing to give any ground to the stray cat that has adopted Jon’s garden bench as her new home.  MOSAIC-Jon's catsJon’s offer of tea turned into a rummage in the cupboard when I asked for something herbal or fruity.   We cracked open Jon’s vintage tea boxes from his travels several years ago and we sampled some surprisingly palletable coffee coloured passion fruit tea.  We then moved on to 10 year old Egyptian hibiscus leaves authentically served with a dash of honey – the colour of a fine red wine and totally delicious.MOSAIC-Jon's teaJon’s family moved to his house when he was 8 years old and this plant was transferred from his grandmother’s garden soon after.  It’s over 80 years old.  How amazing is that?  Pretty cool I’d say and I’d love to be able to recall key moments of my life through the changing landscape of my back garden.  Jon's grandma's plant - 80 years old!Jon’s inspired me to consider growing bamboo at the allotment.  He has an amazing bamboo plant that’s over 10 feet tall.  No photo unfortunately as the bamboo provides shade for the garden bench and you may recall what feline distractions are to be found under there!

Entry filed under: away from the plot, great people. Tags: , , .

planting spring bulbs reminders

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nicisme  |  November 10, 2009 at 9:49 pm

    Nice to meet another Nic!
    You have some wonderful things on your blog and lots of super recipes too! Will bookmark it and add to my link page.

    Reply
  • 2. mangocheeks  |  November 11, 2009 at 9:22 am

    Thanks for introducing us to Jons garden and his felines.

    My plot neighbour has bamboo growing and it provides us with a little shade, the only other probelm is the plant if also creeping on our side of the plot, which is good as we have written off that bit of earth for shelter. I like the sound of the noise when the bamboo ruffles in the wind.

    I also love the boxes of those fruit tea boxes. Vintage!

    Reply
  • 3. Nip it in the bud  |  November 11, 2009 at 11:54 pm

    Nic – thanks for popping over to my patch and for the kind words about my recipes. High praise indeed having favourited your blog too. And your photography, well, that pancaked shot was highly deserving of the accolade it received.

    MC – a bamboo shelter cool, and with no effort to grow it either! I’d love to see a picture of it on your blog – Jon’s is still very lush and green

    Reply
  • 4. sudhir g.wagh  |  December 19, 2009 at 6:19 am

    wonderfull,beutyfull

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 428,518 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

