shed envy

November 13, 2009 at 10:00 am 9 comments

Steph's shed copyI’m very much a cup half full kind of gal and envy is not part of my day to day existence.  Today, however,  the green eyed monster leapt well and truly out of the bag when I came across Steph’s shed of wonderment.  Steph inherited this shed and all it’s treasures when she found herself at the top of the allotment waiting list in April this year.MOSAIC-Stephs shed

Coming across Steph’s blog got me thinking about the concept of 6 degrees of separation.  Let me explain:

a) The Informal Gardener is one of my favourite blogs and it’s creator Miss M and I share a love of gardening and black cats.  I wrote about Mikey last week and implored her to share her 5 black beauties, which she did.

b) after a few virtual strokes of Miss M’s felines I scanned her blogroll and The Green Grower caught my eye.  One click later I was green with envy exploring Steph’s shed on her allotment in Cheltenham.  Cue thoughts about 6 degrees of separation…

c) 6 degrees of separation is the idea that if a person is one step away from each person they know and two steps away from each person their friends’ know, then everyone is at most six steps away from any other person on Earth.  I grew up in Cheltenham so it’s highly likely I know someone Steph knows.  If this proves not to be the case then our mutual blogging friend Miss M all the way over in Canada is a mighty fine link in the chain and just shows how much smaller the world becomes through on-line networks.

I’d really like to know if Steph inherited some magic hours along with the clock in her shed.  As well as working, gardening and cooking she finds time for creating gorgeous glass fused crafts and gifts.  And blogs about that as well!  So if you’re on the look out for unusual hand made gifts this Christmas you might like to take a nosy over to Steph’s on-line shop (she’ll even do custom made commissions). stephs glass copyAnyway, back to the subject of allotments.  My bird on a wire for all things green and local, otherwise known as my neighbour Pat, tells me that Gloucester’s City Centre Community Partnership (GCCCP) have made a proposal to turn the old Bowling Green in the heart of the city into a community area.  Various suggested uses for the derelict space have been made and I shall be contacting the chair@gloscccp.co.uk to cast my vote for a community allotment area.  Especially when elsewhere in the County allotment holders are fighting plans to build an access road through their allotments for a new housing development.  And in London the Manor Road Allotments were bulldozed this year to make way for the 2012 Olympics.  Devastating.

Entry filed under: away from the plot. Tags: .

reminders making sloe gin

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. miss m  |  November 13, 2009 at 3:44 pm

    What a fabulous post Nic ! Isn’t Steph’s shed fabulous ?! I’m jealous too !
    My fascination with the 6 degrees of separation concept started after seeing the movie (although I vaguely remember it now, Will Smith’s bit in the rich folks’ appartment springs to mind). It boggles the mind (and seems far fetched at times) that we’re all only six steps away from ANYONE else in the world, but I reckon it’s possible. Now more than ever, as the internet brings this concept to a whole new level.

    Hmm, now you’ve got me scratching my head trying to remember how I came upon your blog … lol ! I can’t recall, but I’m glad I did ! 😀

    Reply
  • 2. Ann  |  November 13, 2009 at 5:23 pm

    Fab shed your blog friend has, love the door. I agree with you about the 6 degrees of separation it’s amazing how often this crops up in life and, as Miss M says, the internet makes it even more likely.

    Reply
  • 3. Nip it in the bud  |  November 14, 2009 at 11:22 am

    awww, thanks Miss M, I’m glad I found you too :o) I think I found you from Matron’s blog so perhaps hosting Bilbo is the connection?

    Ann – amazing indeed

    Reply
  • 4. Steph  |  November 14, 2009 at 2:38 pm

    Thanks for your lovely post about me, my shed and my glassy goodies, Nic. You’ll be pleased to hear that the shed looks little less like the site of a battle/massacre! I was really lucky with the plot I got 🙂 Fortune favoured me!

    Reply
    • 5. Nip it in the bud  |  November 14, 2009 at 7:47 pm

      it’s a pleasure Steph. I like your garden designs too and see you have a little pond behind the shed. How lovely :o)

      Reply
  • 6. mangocheeks  |  November 14, 2009 at 2:50 pm

    I came across Steph blog and saw the shed too and felt exatly as you: Envy, especially as she inherited everything from the previous occupants. It made me happy, that there are still places, that have the right principles, that whats in the shed and on the plot goes to the new owners. Unlike where I am, where as soon as the committee knows that an allotment plot is avaialble, they completely ravage the plot: not just what in the shed, but dig out any decent flowers and plants too.

    Coming across Stephs shed and its treasures restored my faith somewhat that not all committees are the same. It made me smile.

    Reply
  • 7. Nip it in the bud  |  November 14, 2009 at 7:50 pm

    that’s a sad story MC so I’m glad your faith in people has been restored a little. I can see why it was such a hard decision for you to give up your other plot knowing it would be ravaged. Keep smiling :o)

    Reply
  • 8. alifelesssimple  |  November 19, 2009 at 11:49 am

    I love Steph’s shed too, it is an amazing thing to be left for you!

    Reply
  • 9. beeseeker  |  November 11, 2013 at 7:32 am

    Thanks for the link to this.
    We may need to look at the degrees of separation again in light of the Internet. I remain amazed that I could, at some point, literally stand next to someone whose blog I follow … And not know them!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 436,936 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

