chutney for a chicken

November 16, 2009 at 2:30 pm 7 comments

MOSAIC - Ann's chickenYou know how much I love chutney.  I love it straight off the spoon, I spread it on things and I sometimes stir it into soups and casseroles.  But being a vegetarian I don’t eat it with chicken and this is not a post about such culinary combinations. This is a post about a fabulous swap with my blog buddy Ann at Calico and Cards.christmas chicken + goodiesThe chicken in question is this lovely Christmas chicken which I swapped for a jar of my damson chutney.  Ann’s a bit handy with a needle and thread and generously included a fabric covered tin of sewing accessories too – all made by her own fair hand.  What a treat!

Ann has some autumn print chickens left over from a recent craft fair  and she’s posted a ‘chicken in a bag’ swap today.  If you’d like to exchange something with Ann leave a comment on her swap post or email her directly.  And don’t worry if you’ve not been stitching or stirring up creations yourself – Ann’s open to swapping non-crafty creations so drop her a line if you think you have a chicken worthy carrot to dangle. Chicken in a Bag

Entry filed under: away from the plot. Tags: , .

making sloe gin making saucy haw ketchup

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ann  |  November 16, 2009 at 4:32 pm

    Thanks for this post Nic, a great advert for my chicken!!! I told my son about your pictures of the Christmas chicken visiting your allotment, he thinks we are nuts!!!

    Reply
  • 2. mangocheeks  |  November 16, 2009 at 7:31 pm

    Great post Nic and i am tempted,
    Off to make an offering.

    Reply
  • 3. miss m  |  November 17, 2009 at 2:51 am

    Oh, marvelous swap ! Your chicken is adorable, Ann.

    Reply
  • 4. Nip it in the bud  |  November 17, 2009 at 8:50 am

    Ann – you didn’t know that already ;o3

    MC – thanks MC, this is good calorie free temptation. You’ll not be disappointed.

    Miss M – bit of a long way for it to fly to you though, shame.

    Reply
  • 5. Johanna  |  November 20, 2009 at 7:07 am

    that chicken is cute – just the sort I would like to have with my chutney – and I agree with you about chutney – have been wondering about making some with summer fruits

    Reply
  • 6. mangocheeks  |  November 20, 2009 at 3:30 pm

    The chicken has been given a good home. She may not lay eggs, but I adore her.

    Reply
  • 7. Nip it in the bud  |  November 21, 2009 at 9:28 am

    Johanna – I shall look forward to see what you cook up

    MC – hooray, she said she was looking forward to pecking up the crumbs from your table ;o)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 441,702 hits

Archives

Instagram

#onefromthearchives in the days when I had time to experiment with preserve recipes and create edible gifts
#nipitinthebudblog #gloucesterlife #chutneyaddict #allotmentgardening #foragersdelight #preservemaking So totally stoked to receive my #thisisbritainphotobook this morning.  My gut feeling was right - bedtime stories with our Lumie bed bug was the photo chosen by #rankin for inclusion.  Overjoyed to see my beautiful boys in print
#photographybook #photobox #lumiebedbug @lumie.lights 
#proudmumma #newblogpost 5 ways with . . . a ton of rhubarb.  Many thanks to @choclette8 for sharing two of her recipes so I could finally complete this post! 
#nipitinthebudblog #gloucesterlife #rhubarb #preservemaking #greentomatochutney #chutneyaddict #rhubarbwine #rhubarbicecream A first birthday fruit stack tower #nipitinthebudblog #gloucesterlife #duplo #firstbirthdaysugarfree I was reminded of these ridiculous German Hilds Blue radishes I grew once when @happyacrefarm posted their giant spud picture today.  I say grew but I actually just forgot about them and they did this all by themselves! 
#nipitinthebudblog #growinggiantveg #oversizedvegetables #gloucesterlife
A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

