24 carrot gold

November 29, 2009 at 11:00 am 6 comments

Fortune favoured me when I found myself at the allotment the same time as my neighbour Derek last week.
D – do you want some carrots?
Me – to eat?
D –  yes, just dig some out
Me  – brilliant, thank you (very excitedly)
I love making hearty autumnal soups and stews using carrots but eating freshly picked home grown carrots raw when the wind is howling and the rain is hammering the windows is like taking a mouthful of summer sunshine and breathing in blue skies.  Scrubbed up beautifully didn’t they.One of my favourite ways of preserving the natural sweetness of carrots is to saute them in a little butter or oil sprinkled with cumin seeds (add a splash of water or vegetable stock if they start to catch).  They’re especially nice when the carrots are small enough to cook whole and with the skins on.  Delicious.

Entry filed under: allotment tales, in the kitchen. Tags: , .

Buy Nothing Day making christmas chutney

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mangocheeks  |  November 29, 2009 at 12:18 pm

    They do look good, soon there will be no more. So savour the flavour and Enjoy. I love the warmth cumin adds to vegetables.

    Thanks for the virtual hug, it was appreciated… my greenhouse, my poor greenhouse.

    Reply
  • 2. miss m  |  November 29, 2009 at 2:38 pm

    I like the part where you ask him, ‘to eat ?’. What else were you thinking, Nic ?
    They did scrub up beautifully and look heavenly plate side.

    Reply
  • 3. Hazel  |  November 29, 2009 at 3:22 pm

    Oh how lovely! Yum yum!

    I struggle to grow carrots which don’t get ‘got’ by the carrot fly – I won’t give up though, another ‘challenge’ for next year!

    Reply
  • 4. Kirsten  |  November 29, 2009 at 6:05 pm

    Gorgeous! So lucky to have great gardening friends!

    Reply
  • 5. Nip it in the bud  |  November 29, 2009 at 6:21 pm

    MC – they taste as good as summer carrots which is a total surprise for this time of year. Certainly savouring :o)

    Miss M – seemed perfectly sane from inside my head {grin}. We ate the last of our carrots in August so I was expecting them to be ‘real’ carrots yet an offer of seed would have been just as surprising for this time of year. Derek’s had them under a cloche which is why they’ve survived the autumn weather.

    Hazel – I have a theory about not attracting carrot fly by not thinning out the seedlings – see carrot post here. I shall certainly be sowing carrots early and late next year – you can never have too many ;o)

    Kirsten – I am indeed. Gardeners have big generous hearts x

    Reply
  • 6. Ann  |  November 29, 2009 at 8:16 pm

    Lucky you, never had any luck growing carrots but will try again. The way you cook them looks a nice change from just boiled.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 441,706 hits

Archives

Instagram

#onefromthearchives in the days when I had time to experiment with preserve recipes and create edible gifts
#nipitinthebudblog #gloucesterlife #chutneyaddict #allotmentgardening #foragersdelight #preservemaking So totally stoked to receive my #thisisbritainphotobook this morning.  My gut feeling was right - bedtime stories with our Lumie bed bug was the photo chosen by #rankin for inclusion.  Overjoyed to see my beautiful boys in print
#photographybook #photobox #lumiebedbug @lumie.lights 
#proudmumma #newblogpost 5 ways with . . . a ton of rhubarb.  Many thanks to @choclette8 for sharing two of her recipes so I could finally complete this post! 
#nipitinthebudblog #gloucesterlife #rhubarb #preservemaking #greentomatochutney #chutneyaddict #rhubarbwine #rhubarbicecream A first birthday fruit stack tower #nipitinthebudblog #gloucesterlife #duplo #firstbirthdaysugarfree I was reminded of these ridiculous German Hilds Blue radishes I grew once when @happyacrefarm posted their giant spud picture today.  I say grew but I actually just forgot about them and they did this all by themselves! 
#nipitinthebudblog #growinggiantveg #oversizedvegetables #gloucesterlife
A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

