making curried apple and carrot chutney

December 12, 2009 at 9:07 am 11 comments

My chutney making addiction was ignited about 8 years ago and this recipe was one of the first ones I tried from Sensational Preserves. It has a sweetness akin to mango chutney and is spiced lightly enough to eat in the usual chutney fashion or spoon onto your poppadoms (if you like spicy food you’ll probably want to increase spice quantities to add more of a kick – for a softy like me this is just right).

To make curried apple and carrot chutney
600g/1.25 lb cooking apples peeled, cored and chopped
250g/9 oz carrots, thinly sliced lengthways
1 onion, sliced
115g/4 oz raisins
115g/4 oz fresh horseradish, grated
(I used horcica kremzska, a Slovakian condiment made with horseradish & mustard)
1 tbsp curry powder
1 tbsp ground ginger
1 tsp mustard seeds
300ml/10 fl oz cider vinegar
225g/ 8oz soft light brown sugar
2 tsp sea salt

    • Stir all the ingredients together in a pan and heat gently, stirring constantly, until the sugar has dissolved.
    • Bring to the boil, then simmer, stirring frequently for about 45 minutes, until the ingredients are tender, the chutney is thick and there is no free liquid.
    • Spoon the chutney into warm, clean, dry jars, taking care not to trap any air bubbles (makes about 1.1kg/2.5 lb)
    • Cover with vinegar proof lids and seal.  Store in a cool, dark, dry place for at least 2 months before eating.

Curried apple and carrot chutney was another foraging delight: made using Derek’s carrots and some windfall apples from a new friend at the local leisure centre.  Long story short, Keith and I got talking at the end of our morning swim about apples and he mentioned a friend’s orchard carpeted with apples lying uncollected on the ground.  I asked Keith where the orchard was so I could go collecting myself and I nearly fell over when he said ‘‘well, the easiest thing would be for me to drop a box in to you after I’ve collected them”. And that’s what he did, literally a whole box full.  Beautiful red skinned apples that have since been turned into gorgeous pink cordials and jellies as well as all sorts of chutneys.  The kindness of strangers is certainly alive and well in Gloucester.

I thought I’d post a chutney giveaway tomorrow.  I think I can spare one!
So watch this space….

Entry filed under: in the kitchen. Tags: , , .

making beetroot and chocolate muffins how many! … giveaway

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mrs Green  |  December 12, 2009 at 3:37 pm

    what an awesome sounding chutney – i always used to think that chutneys were just raisins and apples, but I’m learning a lot since the time I made marrow last year.

    This one sounds really nice – I’ve never made mango because the fruits are so expensive, but using carrot instead is a brilliant idea

    Reply
  • 2. Don  |  December 12, 2009 at 5:02 pm

    Surely horseradish and mustard is the recipe for Tewkesbury Mustard. Why not stay English? However, the recipe sounds nice but what are the small mauve dots in the picture?
    Regards, Don

    Reply
  • 3. Choclette  |  December 12, 2009 at 7:44 pm

    Sounds like a great chutney – am always on the look out for a different sort of apple chutney, so may well give this one a go – especially like the horseradish addition – we’ve got some to dig up. Had some lovely apple and cardamom chutney at a shared food event last night, so will be trying that too at some point.

    Reply
  • 4. Hazel  |  December 12, 2009 at 8:49 pm

    I must be more adventurous with my chutney making! I end up making tons of one sort as I have loads of whatever-it-is – I think I should be looking at just a jar or two of lots of different ones….ha! I spy a NY resolution!

    PS on the subject of rather good combos, I added a big spoon of my caramalised plum jam to the pan of pork chump chops for tea tonight – I know you’re a veggie, Nic, but it really was very very good!

    Reply
  • 5. Nip it in the bud  |  December 13, 2009 at 11:08 am

    Mrs Green – I love mango chutney but have only made it once for the same reason. I made a nice marrow chutney once, now where did I put that recipe…

    Don – the dots are the mustard seeds. I’ve not heard of Tewkesbury mustard even though i lived there for a year! We always have horcica in the fridge because it’s a great quick addition to coleslaw and dressings as well as delicious with spuds. It takes the mess out of grating and chopping things. I find english mustard a little hot but for some reason tolerate the eye smarting heat of horseradish quite well.

    chocolette – I bet it will be even better with your freshly grated horseradish. Cardomons are fab and I don’t use them enough – the seeds look particularly attractive in lighter coloured chutneys.

    Hazel – oooh, caramelised plum sounds divine. I’ve been using my spicy damson chutney in veggie sausage casserole so I can imagine how good your tea was.

    Reply
  • 6. Karine  |  December 16, 2009 at 2:29 am

    Great combo of flavors in your chutney! It looks delicious 🙂

    Reply
  • 7. Sylvia  |  September 28, 2013 at 7:57 am

    The kindness of strangers – yesterday I had 2.4 cubic metres of firewood delivered to the road outside my house, so with the rusty wheelbarrow borrowed from a neighbour I started the lengthy process of transferring each of the logs to my back garden. Then a man walked by and offered to help, set his things down, and for the next hour carted each individual log to the back of the house for me to stack. Dripping with sweat and clutching a recenly-made jar of plum and pear chutney as a token of thanks, he went on his way. Long may we continue to experience this kind of kindness in Gloucester!

    Reply
    • 8. Nip it in the bud  |  September 29, 2013 at 1:07 pm

      yay for kindness in Gloucester – what a rare breed he is giving so much time to a stranger. I hope he had a spring in his weary, sweat step when he left knowing what a good turn he’d done. But then it’s the sort of thing you’d do so what goes around …. Thanks for sharing, so very cheery x

      Reply
  • 9. five ways with … a ton of apples | Nip it in the bud  |  October 17, 2013 at 9:06 pm

    […] curried apple and carrot chutney The Folk Museum in Gloucester will be hosting their fabulous National Apple Day on Saturday 19th October from 10am – 4pm. Perhaps we’ll see you there? […]

    Reply
  • 10. Chris Ingram  |  September 30, 2015 at 12:49 pm

    Oh…the year is 2015. Just getting into pickles here. More time at home and trees bearing fruits in the garden. Going to try your carrot(aldi) and apple(garden) curried pickle. I’ll have to update you come December when it is given as a gift and eaten. I will send a second message if I struggle a tad ( or not) with the recipe. I have got to say I am excited about finding the recipe!

    Reply
    • 11. Nip it in the bud  |  September 30, 2015 at 1:56 pm

      Hey Chris, lovely to hear from you. You’ll have no trouble with the recipe I’m sure. How lovely to have your own apples. If you’re feeling really thrifty you could try making apple cordial or apple jelly with your apple peelings and cores too. All the best, they’ll make fine christmas gifts.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 429,018 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

