snow cats and apple rings

January 6, 2010 at 10:31 pm 7 comments

snow is falling, all around us, children playing, having fun…‘  I’m not the only one finding it hard to shake off the Christmas toons if an overheard conversation at the swimming pool yesterday is anything to go by.

Boy:  {singing} ‘away in a manger, no crib for a bed, the little lord Jesus, laid down his sweet head, the stars in the bright sky…
Dad:  I think you need to sing something else now that Christmas is over
Boy:  {starts to sing}
Dad:  no, not Frosty the Snowman
Boy:  {starts to sing}
Dad:  no, not Little Donkey

The day always starts with singing in our house; Mikey caterwauling for his breakfast or his morning yard time usually.  The snow on the ground took him by surprise today but he bravely ventured out.  It was amusing watching him gingerly tip-toe around the edges of the wheelie bin to keep his paws out of the snow only to land right in it when he leapt up on to the top of it. 

Poppet just looked around, sniffed the air and turned tail.  Billy had the right idea and settling down on the stairs to watch from the window! 
A day spent indoors today was perfect timing fora trial run with my new Magimix (does having a food processor now make me a proper cook?).  The skin on the last of my stored apples was looking shrivelly so I Magimixed them into rings.  I held my breath as I pressed the ‘on’ button (have you seen how sharp the blade is!) and fortunately it was over before I could even utter a gasp of surprise (which I did!). 

I baked the rings at 100°c for a couple of hours then turned the oven off and left them overnight to continue dehydrating.  Next time I’ll add a winter warming sprinkling of cinnamon to them. 

Entry filed under: home life. Tags: , , .

Happy New Year winter wonderland

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bilbo  |  January 7, 2010 at 9:55 am

    What a GREAT idea, I’ve got some apples which have got a bit wrinkly and I hate the purchased apple rings which always smell of sulphur.

    Reply
  • 2. Ann  |  January 7, 2010 at 9:56 am

    I haven’t been out for days but got to go shopping today. I’m sure you’ll love your magimix, careful of those blades though!

    Glad the bag handle idea came in useful.

    Reply
  • 3. shoestringalley  |  January 7, 2010 at 6:12 pm

    These look amazing – I’ll have to see if my food processor is up to the job sometime!

    Reply
  • 4. miss m  |  January 7, 2010 at 10:28 pm

    Billy, you gorgeous beast ! Oh and hello there pretty Poppet ! I see Mikey is the risk taker in the family ! Big snow hugs to all three ! xxx 😀

    What a wonderful prezzie, Nic ! You’ll be dicing and slicing to your heart’s content !

    Reply
  • 5. catherine  |  January 7, 2010 at 11:22 pm

    lovely! especially footprints… what cuties…xxx

    Reply
  • 6. Johanna  |  January 8, 2010 at 12:45 am

    love hearing about your cats in the snow and that photo of billy at the window is just beautiful – we have wondered how zinc would go in the snow but not likely to ever find out – hope you are keeping warm – how are you eating the apple rings – by themselves or in baking?

    Reply
  • 7. Nip it in the bud  |  January 8, 2010 at 9:26 am

    Bilbo – I’m not a fan of shop bought ones either. Bit too spongey and sticky for my liking

    Ann – it was so beautiful yesterday, glad you made it out for provisions

    alley – or just slice thinly with a veg knife (mind your fingers though!)

    Miss M – Mikey is definitely our outdoor boy! Snowy hugs to your gorgeous beasties too. I reckon the Magimix will save me hours when chutney season comes round again

    Cat – don’t you just love pussy paw prints. Has Trouble ventured out?

    Johanna – we’re all very snug indoors thanks and strange to think you’re in the middle of summer! I’m just eating my rings straight up (or rather ‘ate’ as they’ve nearly all gone). Thinking about trying root vegetable crisps next …

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 423,243 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

