winter wonderland

January 9, 2010 at 12:38 pm 8 comments

It may be freezing outside but when the sun is streaming through the window, the sky is blue and the birds are singing how could you not want to go for a walk?  With a slip and slide in my step I naturally found myself at the allotment gate.  Wrestling with the frozen padlock I smiled to see I was the first visitor of 2010.  And then I realised why:  the padlock was frozen and the new Fortnocks style fencing erected since my last December visit made it impossible to break in.  Fortunately the same big freeze keeping me out was keeping sane people indoors so after a failed attempt with some borrowed WD40 and a knock at a fellow allotment holder’s door I made it plotside through his garden which backs on to the allotment site.

This is the first year I’ve been to the allotment in January and the first time I’ve had anything growing over winter.  The brussell sprouts were nicely preserved under a blanket of snow and the kale is now perfectly white fly free.   

I suspect my broad bean seedlings have snuffed it so I expect I’ll be re-sowing in in February.  So this solitary rye sun seeker was a welcome sight.

Top of my list of allotment things ‘To Do‘ in the Spring will be roofing the shed.  After clearing out all the snow and rain soaked contents that is!

Entry filed under: allotment tales. Tags: .

snow cats and apple rings making kale crisps

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mangocheeks  |  January 9, 2010 at 2:59 pm

    Hi Nic,

    Looks lovely, but c c coooldddddd!!!!

    You were fortunate to get to harvest some of your veg, I couldn’t get into my plot because of the frozen padlocks.

    I don’t tend to sow my broadbean in advance like yourself, i tried once and they didn’t germinate.

    Reply
  • 2. miss m  |  January 9, 2010 at 6:34 pm

    Thinking back to last year’s storm and the havoc it created, how are people coping with the snow this year ?
    Your kale and b. sprouts are looking great. No white fly, that’s for sure ! lol.

    Reply
  • 3. Tom  |  January 9, 2010 at 8:52 pm

    Brrrrrrrrrr!

    Reply
  • 4. Johanna  |  January 10, 2010 at 12:38 am

    that snow looks gorgeous and your sprouts seem to have done well despite it (or do they like it) – but I bet you are rugging up when you go outside

    Reply
  • 5. Choclette  |  January 10, 2010 at 9:22 pm

    You’re a braver lass than me – I haven’t ventured down to ours this year and am just crossing fingers all OK. Your sprouts look wonderful.

    Reply
  • 6. Ann  |  January 11, 2010 at 9:46 am

    Nice pictures. I’m hoping a lot of the garden pests are cleared out this winter, the last few years we’ve even had aphids on the plants during the winter.

    Reply
  • 7. Oliver Reavey  |  January 11, 2010 at 3:58 pm

    Great article, well written.
    I am the MD of text-lock and we are soon launching our new product text-padlock, which is a padlock which can be operated remotely by mobile phone, leaving an electronic signature of anyone using or requesting access. Please see http://www.text-lock.com/text-lock_GSM_SMS_padlock.html for more details on the product.
    I welcome your opinions on this and would be fascinated to see your views in this blog.
    Oliver

    Reply
  • 8. allotofveg  |  March 19, 2010 at 7:16 pm

    I see the problem. Hurrah for OH helpers – hope it is sorted soon

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 436,936 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

