the vanishing of the bees

January 19, 2010 at 8:11 pm 8 comments

‘Imagine half a million adults skipping town and leaving their children behind. Picture an opened suitcase filled with bundles of cash at a bus stop and yet no robber wants to snatch it.  The apiary science mystery known as “Colony Collapse Disorder” displays these very symptoms.  Not only do the bees abandon their hive, but the queen and the brood as well.  Unnatural.  Unheard of.  Even the predators that usually raid the hive for honey stay far away.  At first, this occurrence sounds like an urban legend or an exaggerated tale.  Except it’s not.  The situation is both dire and all too real.  Bees are disappearing all over the planet and no one knows why.’

‘Beekeepers and scientists are still unsure what is causing the loss of so many bees, but the fact is that bees are disappearing at alarming rates all over the world.  In the UK, around one fifth of honeybee hives were lost in the winter of 2008/09.  The British Beekeepers Association (BBKA) estimates that if people were to take over the job of pollination from bees in the UK, it would require a workforce of 30 million.  In southern China pear trees have to be pollinated by hand after the uncontrolled use of pesticides in the 1980s killed their honeybee population.’

As a workforce of one down on my allotment I rely on the bees for nearly all of my crops.  Without them I wouldn’t have been able to eat any of these allotment harvested fruits, vegetables and herbs (click here for a full list of bee reliant crops)

While the garden rests over winter the gardener does not.  Pouring over seed catalogue’s and hatching plans for companion planting to encourage bees into your garden takes quite some thought.  So to ensure my efforts aren’t wasted I’ll be visiting Gloucester Guildhall on 28th January to see ‘The Vanishing of the bees‘, followed by a talk from The Global Bee Project.   If you live in Gloucestershire please spread the word and come along. 
For film showings in other areas click this link.

Entry filed under: away from the plot. Tags: , .

recycling food waste Potato days

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. alifelesssimple  |  January 20, 2010 at 8:41 pm

    I will come along to that! Thanks for the post about it.

    Will also see who I can round up to come with me…

    Reply
  • 2. Choclette  |  January 20, 2010 at 9:05 pm

    I saw this film a few months ago – it is indeed horribly disturbing and made me incredibly angry. It’s made CT want to get back into bee keeping, which is great. With this in mind, we had a top bar hive made for my mother (who also wants to keep bees and has the space to do it) for Christmas. We’re all really excited about it.. Now we just need the bees.

    Reply
  • 3. Nip it in the bud  |  January 20, 2010 at 10:58 pm

    Poppy – that would be terrific. The Guildhall’s great for putting on these sort of films (sometimes in response to requests) so it’s important people come out of the woodwork to support them so they keep doing it. See you next Thursday then ;o

    Choclette – you know you’ve seen a good film when you want to steam into action afterwards. I think bee keeping is going to be the next big thing this summer. I’ll look forward to hearing how you get on. And who knows where hives may end up.. on allotments too perhaps? (It would get my vote since I have my plot for lack of a garden at home)

    Reply
  • 4. Johanna GGG  |  January 22, 2010 at 12:44 pm

    stranger than fiction! we don’t have those cute cuddly bumblebees in Australia but I love watching the bees on my citrus trees – very disturbing to imagine a world without them

    Reply
  • 5. miss m  |  January 23, 2010 at 1:18 am

    Great post ! (Sorry I missed it – sometimes I think my blogroll doesn’t update !)

    I have so much to say on the subject that I’ll refrain from commenting. 😀 (The box isn’t big enough!)

    Reply
  • 6. Nip it in the bud  |  January 23, 2010 at 4:56 am

    Johanna – gardening has taught me a thing or two about bees and strangely I’m now least afraid of the cuddly bumblebees

    Miss M – oh go on, a post within a post is always welcomed ;o

    Reply
  • 7. matthew  |  March 30, 2010 at 2:43 am

    ….people don’t seem to realise if bees all die off so will the human race in 4 years so said albert elstine….that was more then 60 years ago i would give a year tops if it happend now. in other words don’t worry about some virus or rock falling from the sky or NWO

    if the bees die so do we

    Reply
  • 8. Nip it in the bud  |  March 30, 2010 at 9:40 pm

    there was a lively discussion after the film about the importance of all bees (many of the campaigns tend to focus on just the honeybee). About time I got round to writing my review of the film then…
    Thanks for dropping by Matthew and adding your voice

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 439,898 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

