perfect pancakes

February 16, 2010 at 6:49 pm 15 comments

My favourite memories of Pancake Day as a child are dotted with raisins and drizzled with golden syrup.  Pancakes for pudding were such a treat I imagined all sorts of reasons for making them more than once a year when I was older.  The annual heart-in-the-throat moment between the pancake leaving the pan, flipping over and landing right side up in the pan would certainly be tamed (I certainly wouldn’t be able to get a photo as amazing as Nic’s if I was the flipster).   So, my first Shrove Tuesday minus mum-made pancakes came as a student in 1994 and as I prepared the batter for enough pancakes to fill both dinner and pudding space in my tummy I was horrified by how my Yorkshire house mate was preparing hers:  filling them them with baked beans and cheese violated all my conditioning about what a pancake should or shouldn’t be perfected with!

I still can’t get my head round savoury pancakes but I’ve not really experimented with sweet fillings beyond the traditional lemon and sugar, golden syrup or raisin speckled either.  If you’re looking for sweet inspiration take a mouthwatering look at Cherrapeno’s seasonal pancake ideas.  Something as simple as folding your pancake a different way may be all it takes to jazz up an old favourite filling.

Have a flippin’ great evening whatever you end up tucking into.

© Cherrapeno’s images not mine (thanks Nic)

Entry filed under: home life, in the kitchen. Tags: , .

the way to a man’s heart the ‘Ministry of Food’ exhibition part 2: Digging for Victory

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bilbo  |  February 16, 2010 at 7:48 pm

    Oh yummy, drool, dribble. Can I come to your house next Pancake Day, pretty please???

    Reply
  • 2. Ann  |  February 16, 2010 at 7:54 pm

    Agree with you, pancakes are sweet! I usually have lemon and sugar but today had plum compote.
    Nic’s flipping picture looks very artistic

    Reply
  • 3. Ann  |  February 16, 2010 at 7:56 pm

    P.S.

    That pattern from Melissa has a giraffe pattern in it – bet you definitely want to borrow it now!!!

    Reply
  • 4. miss m  |  February 16, 2010 at 8:24 pm

    Oh, doesn’t that dessert look drooooolingly good. Napkin please !

    Reply
  • 5. Choclette  |  February 16, 2010 at 8:42 pm

    What an amazing photo of the flying pancake – was that one yours?
    Now I grew up with both traditional lemon and sugar pancakes on pancake day and pancakes filled with various savoury fillings throughout the year. If I was every allowed to choose what to have for dinner, it would be pancakes and cheese sauce – stodge on a plate – yum!

    Reply
  • 6. Nip it in the bud  |  February 16, 2010 at 9:44 pm

    Bilbo – G’s out tonight so we’re deferring to tomorrow – gives me more time to decide what yummy filling to try

    Ann – mmm, good idea – perhaps I’ll try spreading my damson jam with ice cream tomorrow… ref. giraffe, I do I do I do :o)

    Miss M – almost feel satisfied just looking at all Nic’s lovely dishes

    Choclette – no, Nic the photographer and I share the same name but I’d be happy to have half of her creative talent when it comes to cooking and snapping. Check out her blog Cherrapeno, plenty of inspiration chocolate recipes for you to try :o)

    Reply
  • 7. Jacqueline  |  February 16, 2010 at 11:21 pm

    I like my pancakes with fruit or with maple syrup and ice cream.
    Nic’s photo is amazing 🙂

    Reply
  • 8. miss m  |  February 16, 2010 at 11:37 pm

    Hey ! What happened to the first part of my comment ? That first pic is so cool ! (The more I look at it, the dizzier I get).

    Ok, I see, not your pics. (I knew the fabulous dessert pic came from Cherrapeno’s blog, but I thought the flying pancake was yours. I figured G was doing the flippin’ :P). So Nic from Cherrapeno, cool pic !

    Reply
  • 9. Your husband  |  February 17, 2010 at 8:03 am

    hmmm, feeling qualified to comment again – high quality vanilla ice cream with strawberry jam is the way to do them. One year when I was a wee boy my mum cooked up a batch of pancakes using brown flour, stacked them between greaseproof paper and I had them the next day warming them in the microwave before eating them. Sounds weird but I remember them to be the most delicious I have ever had. We haven’t got a microwave but maybe one day I’ll try making them like that at my folks for a sentimental/nostalgic gastronomic experiment

    Reply
  • 10. Nip it in the bud  |  February 17, 2010 at 8:33 am

    Jac – I love maple syrup too and am always tempted to spoon out one for the pancake, one for me, one for the pancake…

    Miss M – it was getting uncomfortable receiving undue praise. I’ve still not mastered evening photos so daytime pancake flipping is the only way we’ll get an action shot!

    G – I’ve got home-made raspberry jam (swapped a crab apple and clove jelly with Lida) :o)

    Reply
  • 11. Catherine  |  February 17, 2010 at 8:35 am

    I’m from Yorkshire, and I wouldn’t dream of putting beans on mine – golden syrup and banana all the way 😉 Mmmmmm!

    Reply
  • 12. Johanna GGG  |  February 18, 2010 at 11:48 am

    savoury or sweet I love pancakes – in fact I made blinis this year and had them both ways – made me realise how little I had made pancakes for breakfast lately – they are so good! I can’t say I have had golden syrup on them but maybe will try it next time I made some

    Reply
  • 13. alison  |  February 18, 2010 at 5:09 pm

    Home-made chocolate fudge sauce with sliced bananas here. My 4 year-old scoffed 2, and my 3 year-old carefully unrolled them, picked out the banana, licked off the chocolate sauce and left the rest.

    Reply
  • 14. Nip it in the bud  |  February 18, 2010 at 8:25 pm

    Catherine – glad to hear it! I love them with banana too but usually make the batter thicker so they’re more like fritters. They are definitely more than a once a year occurance!

    Johanna – I can appreciate savoury blinis but have never tried to make my own (did try scotch pancakes though). Golden syrup is so yummy, be warned it takes enormous will power to not just eat it off the spoon though.

    Alison – mmmmm, I bet you got lots of ‘you’re the best mum’ smiles. Your 3 year old’s pancake eating style reminds me of a friend’s sister who used to lick the salt and vinegar off chips then put them back in the bowl!

    Reply
  • 15. deeba  |  February 19, 2010 at 11:39 am

    Love Nic and her flipping pancakes…yum delicious!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 436,834 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

