after the snow

February 21, 2010 at 11:00 am 10 comments

‘Nature does not hurry, yet everything is accomplished’ – Lao Tzu 

Hooray, the first of my bulbs to emerge through the soil.  Smaller than my little finger, I’m not entirely sure which of these hyacinth bulbs it is so just as well I like surprises!  

The rest of my bulbs were planted at the end of November.  Time will tell if my paper bag scribble will help me identify what’s what.  This year’s planting was a bit like painting by numbers so fingers crossed for a beautiful rainbow result and not a techni-colour nightmare.

Elsewhere on the plot post-snow survival is evident in various shades of green, yellow and brown.

The Good (wallflowers, broad beans, grazing rye, autumn raspberries)

The Bad (rotten greens, overly frosted sprouts and soggy spinach)

The Ugly (sludgy cabbages and snow soaked purple sprouting)

Entry filed under: allotment tales. Tags: .

the ‘Ministry of Food’ exhibition part 2: Digging for Victory favourites

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kirsten  |  February 21, 2010 at 1:37 pm

    I love the “good, the bad and the ugly”! Very envious of your plot! It’s hard to come by a plot here in L.A., but guess there are other trade offs! Thanks for the pics!

    Reply
  • 2. Rufus  |  February 21, 2010 at 5:45 pm

    Hi Nic, nice to see your first bulb through. You mention
    surprises. I see there is a new entry after your Dorset cereals.
    He is now your nearest rival. We need to get some more
    support and backup to keep you in front.
    Regards

    Reply
  • 3. Peggy  |  February 21, 2010 at 6:41 pm

    I love your planting by colour and what ever way it comes up they will be stunning! We have some soggy snow damaged veg around too but most of it cleared away by now. We have another very cold spell with snow and frost so planting out is delayed for another few weeks at least.

    Reply
  • 4. maria v  |  February 21, 2010 at 7:20 pm

    I can imagine how excited you are at what you are seeing sprouting from the earth. We are never snowed under, so our earth is always pretty much green. We start to have serious gardening problems when our winters are too warm – some of our spinach, lettuce and cabbages simply dried up just when they were at their best, due to 25-degree Celsius warm winds last week!

    Reply
  • 5. Choclette  |  February 21, 2010 at 8:29 pm

    It’s always so exciting when you see the first shoots coming up heralding spring and the promise of so much more to come.

    Reply
  • 6. Ann  |  February 22, 2010 at 10:34 am

    Those bulbs are something to look forward to, and we need it after this winter. Won’t be long now before you see some flowers. You’ll have some early broad beans by the look of it.

    Reply
  • 7. mangocheeks  |  February 23, 2010 at 9:24 pm

    Those first shoots are bringing a tear to my eye, honest.

    Lovely Nic. Thank you for sharing the colours and the joy!

    Reply
  • 8. Nip it in the bud  |  February 23, 2010 at 11:39 pm

    Kirsten – gardening certainly isn’t all rosy! and I reckon I have a good/bad/ugly kitchen post up my sleeve too. I’m sure there’s much to envy about living in LA ;o)

    Rufus – oh dear the potter has quite a lead, if only I’d been in the popular gang at school I’d have so many more people to call on to vote {grin}. Looks like I’ll be sticking with my usual porridge breakfast then. Very sweet of you to follow it so closely though and your support is appreciated :o)

    Peggy – i’m not looking forward to clearing up the sludge. In fact the greens were left to keep the bees in flowers through the autumn. oh well.

    Maria – wow, a world of opposites. When I’ve been to Greece I’ve always marvelled at how plants seek out even the tiniest drop of moisture in the soil. Hope you managed to salvage some of your plants. Sounds like Crete is the place for Brits to holiday right now!

    choc – … much more to come – hooray.

    Ann – looking forward to a flowerfilled March. So relieved to see the broad beans made it – I’ve not sown in November before. If I get my sludgy greens cleared I can sow some more now…

    MC – you’re welcome and as long as you’re feeling joyful I won’t worry about the tears ;o) I hope you have some colour to look out onto from the window of your flat

    Reply
  • 9. miss m  |  February 24, 2010 at 12:26 am

    Ah, your sprouting bulb is just lovely ! You think if I cleared the snow around here, stuff would start growing too ? 😀

    Tsut, tsut ! I can’t believe you wasted those perfectly beautiful Brussel sprouts !

    Reply
  • 10. Nip it in the bud  |  February 25, 2010 at 10:48 am

    Miss M – who knows ;o) fear not for the sprouts and spinach – they may be bad but they’re not ugly which means they’re salveagable – anyway who notices the colour when they’re whizzed up for soup?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 423,117 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

