making bootees for tiny toes

March 29, 2010 at 11:00 am 8 comments

Baby bootees are a good place to start if you’re new to knitting.  These bootees, my first (yay), were made for my friend Deb’s baby and took an evening to knit (+ a little time the next day to sew them up and add the buttons).   Milo was a Christmas baby so using 2 strands of DK yarn for the bottom of the bootee was as much about creating a more interesting colour as it was creating a little extra warmth and cushioning for his tiny toes.  I’m taking Milo’s smiley face to mean ‘good job‘.

©  Saartjes bootees pattern used – see Saartje’s blog for other inspiring knits

Entry filed under: being creative.

…six potato, seven potato, eight potato, more Another Place

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. reapwhatyougrow  |  March 29, 2010 at 6:12 pm

    How cute, that reminds me to get knitting for my sister’s new baby!! I love this pattern.

    Reply
  • 2. Choclette  |  March 29, 2010 at 6:53 pm

    Oh, they are such darling little things – the recipient certainly looks happy

    Reply
  • 3. miss m  |  March 30, 2010 at 12:27 am

    Oh no, these are tooooooo cute !

    Reply
  • 4. mangocheeks  |  March 30, 2010 at 11:26 am

    From the title I thought you were talking about your tiny toots, than I thought you were telling us something 😀
    Then I clicked and realised it was neither.
    Such a cutie, both the little one and the bootees.
    I need you nearby to encourage me to knit, otherwise its just not happening Nic.

    Reply
  • 5. Nip it in the bud  |  March 30, 2010 at 9:23 pm

    Moy – you’re an old hand at this knitting lark aren’t you – you’ll whip them up in a jiffy

    Choclette – and they’re pretty stretchy too for more growing :o)

    Miss M – don’t just want to scoop him up – he’s a real little poppet

    MC – be brave, this is a lovely simple pattern. Give it a try and if you get really stuck we could compare stitches on Skype!

    Reply
  • 6. Deb  |  March 30, 2010 at 9:24 pm

    Well, well, famous before he’s 4 months old – not bad!!

    Reply
  • 7. Christine @ Grub, Sweat and Cheers  |  March 31, 2010 at 3:09 pm

    Hi – just stumbled across your blog (it’s lovely!) looking for other allotment gardeners and exactly how/what they do as I’m going to be starting my own soon (albeit later than you as I’m in Canada). You have some great information here.

    Oh yes – cute booties – I’m a knitter too!

    Reply
  • 8. Johanna GGG  |  April 6, 2010 at 12:54 pm

    wish I could knit for babies – if I had time for anything else in my life – have dreams of knitting sylvia a simple scarf and haven’t found time to buy wool – but I love your boottees – so clever and so quick and gorgeous

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 422,184 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

