grow your own grub

April 27, 2010 at 9:59 am 8 comments

Hooray!  I missed out on free seeds last year for taking part in the BBC’s Dig In campaign to grow your own grub.   Not so this time and I can now look forward to sowing Blue Lakes, Black Beauties, Royal Chantenay Reds, Sweet Genovese and mixed salad leaves.  
Did you guess which variety is which?  If you’ve missed out on free seeds this year don’t lose heart.  Tracey at Igrowveg has tracked down suppliers selling the same varieties.  Or if you’re lucky enough to live in a town visited by the Dig In van on tour between April and June you’ll be able to access workshops, activities and expert advice as well as collecting some free Dig In seeds.

Here’s a copy of the Grow your own grub booklet to help you along no matter how you come by your black beauty courgettes or blue lake french beans.

© Dig In Van image with thanks – Johnnyg1955

Entry filed under: allotment tales.

bunches of cheeryuppyness yes peas!

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ann  |  April 27, 2010 at 4:41 pm

    I hadn’t heard about this scheme Nic! I’ll have to look out for it in future.

    Love all the flower pictures in your presvious posting, very cheerful colours aren’t they, and the cat is cute too.

    Reply
  • 2. Hawthorn  |  April 27, 2010 at 6:56 pm

    Hi Nic, thanks for popping by my blog, you asked for the orange muesli muffin recipe, its already on my blog, I’ve just put a link but I suspect I’ve not done it correctly, if I haven’t, then the post is dated the 16.04.10
    x

    http://hawthorntime.blogspot.com/2010/04/160410-busy-hands-and-request.html

    Reply
  • 3. Choclette  |  April 27, 2010 at 7:55 pm

    Glad you’re on the mend. We received ours this weekend too. They took so long to come I’d given up and like you we didn’t get any last year either, so all very exciting. Haven’t done anything with them yet though.

    Your potatoes are starting to come up – I just love those first pots pushing through.

    Reply
  • 4. miss m  |  April 28, 2010 at 12:46 am

    Yay ! You got your dig in seeds ! I love that campaign. I think it’s a great idea. 💡

    Reply
  • 5. Nip it in the bud  |  April 28, 2010 at 4:48 pm

    Ann – if you’ve missed out on seeds the Dig In site is still well worth a visit. Lots of handy hints and tips and little videos for those of us who learn best by seeing and doing :o)
    The flowers are lasting really well and still providing lots of cheer and Billy is as gorgeous as ever of course

    Hawthorn – oooh thanks – they sounded yummy and are on my list to try now

    Choclette – how exciting. Hope my earlies are ok – a bit thirsty I imagine. Happy sowing x

    Miss M – gotta love the Beeb :o)

    Reply
  • 6. Christine @ Grub, sweat and cheers  |  April 28, 2010 at 8:34 pm

    I saw this on the beeb gardening website awhile ago – what a brilliant idea. As is the Landshare one. Nice to see initiatives like this bringing people back to their roots so to speak. Hope they all grow well for you!

    Reply
  • 7. Lucy  |  June 30, 2010 at 4:58 pm

    Hey the seeds from the salad packet (featured above) that you gave me have grown so well! I had my first salad from them tonight! I think it was rocket!!???? Thank you so much! 😀

    Reply
  • 8. Nip it in the bud  |  July 1, 2010 at 1:26 pm

    yay, good for you. TLC for home grown plants does wonders for the taste on your plate :o)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 439,769 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

