yes peas!

April 29, 2010 at 2:22 pm 12 comments

I’ve heard it said that man cannot live on bread alone but peas?  Well I reckon I could give it a good go.  George, however, could not so I thought it was high time I persuaded him of the virtues of the humble pea by doing more than just boiling them up as one of our five-a-day.  A recipe for pea and tuna kedgeree caught my eye in this month’s ‘Yes Peas’ newsletter and I must confess it’s my first foray into into pea dedicated dishes.  Using store cupboard staples of rice and tinned tuna it also provides an opportunity to use canned fish as more than just a sandwich or jacket potato filling.  The result is a delicately spiced dish that still retains the flavour of each individual ingredient.  If you’re cooking for two I’d recommend using the quantities for 4 as it’s easier than being left with half the tuna or onion.  Not that making this dish isn’t easy.  The 2 leftover portions provide an effortless lunchbox filling or second day tea.  So you can guess what we’re having tonight …

what you need (to serve 4)
300g frozen peas
4 eggs, hard boiled and shelled
250g long grain rice (I used Basmiti)
1 tbsp olive oil (left out as my tuna was in sunflower oil)
30g butter
1 medium onion, peeled and finely chopped
2 tsp mild curry paste (I used curry powder)
1 tsp cumin seeds
400g tin of tuna, drained
3 tbsp parsley, chopped (I didn’t have any!)
Squeeze of lemon
Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper

to make pea and tuna kedgeree

  • Pre heat oven to 160degC, gas mark 3
  • Cook the frozen peas in boiling water for 3 minutes, drain and set aside.
  • Cook the eggs in boiling water for 8 minutes, drain under cold water, shell and roughly chop.
  • Add a pinch of salt to a large pan of boiling water, add the rice and return to the boil, stir well, reduce the heat and leave to simmer for 15 minutes or until the rice is tender, drain in a sieve and set aside.
  • Heat the oil and butter in a heavy bottomed sautee pan, add the chopped onions, curry paste and cumin seeds and fry until the onion is cooked, but not brown, stirring all the time. This will take about 3 minutes.
  • Then add the rice, peas and tuna to the cooked onions and mix in well. Cover and place in the oven for 20 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  • Remove from the oven, add the roughly chopped eggs, parsley and lemon juice and adjust the seasoning accordingly. Serve with a green salad.

Tip: Cooked salmon or smoked haddock can be used instead of tuna, and chopped coriander can replace the parsley.

nutritional value
per serving: 532 kcal, 32.3g protein, 63.8g carbohydrate, 4.2g sugars, 18.4g fat, 6.7g saturates, 4.6g fibre, 1.2g salt

For other pea inspired dishes you can request a copy of the Yes Peas Recipe Book (free to UK postcodes,  £2.50 P&P the rest of the world).

The Peas.org website is worth a looksy with all sorts of yummy recipes, interesting facts, odes and songs and jokes!

A story to end with in praise of peas ….
A 12 month old black and white tabby cat is believed to have survived -2°c (-28°f) temparatures in a chilled food warehouse by eating frozen peas and licking moisture off icy food packets.  Trapped for four weeks, the cat nicknamed Frosty by RSPCA staff, is thought to have entered the warehouse in the back of a lorry and then been too frightened by the noise and activity by the main doors to leave.  Frosty is expected to make a full recovery but lost both his ears and tail to frostbite.  The RSPCA had over 100 offers to re-home him but one of the warehouse workers has already reserved him and colleagues have been collecting money to pay the vet bills. 

© recipe from peas.org, picture of Frosty from the BBC website

Entry filed under: in the kitchen.

grow your own grub fancy a dip?

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. KarenV  |  April 29, 2010 at 5:06 pm

    Aww, poor Frosty! Glad that he’s found a good home. Thanks for the recipe – looks like it would be a good one for lunch

    Reply
  • 2. Ann  |  April 29, 2010 at 6:19 pm

    Have you tried pea soup, Nic, that’s a good one to try too. I love raw peas (so does our dog).

    Reply
  • 3. Jacqueline  |  April 29, 2010 at 7:23 pm

    Poor wee cat, but good for him being so resourceful.

    Reply
  • 4. Catherine  |  April 30, 2010 at 8:44 am

    This looks delicious! I love peas!

    I’m going to give this a go, but without the fish as I’m vegetarian! (does that still make it a kedgeree?)

    Reply
  • 5. Nip it in the bud  |  April 30, 2010 at 9:23 am

    Karen – he’ll be getting lots of love now I’m sure. Recipe definitely gets a thumbs up as a lunch snack and reheating it for dinner last night made the rice slightly crunchy making it even more yummy than first time round

    Ann – I think I did once but can’t remember what I did. I love raw peas too and how they pop in your mouth so blending them up loses something for. The only peas I can’t abide are mushy peas – it’s just wrong!

    Jac – plucky little fella indeed

    Catherine – according to Wikipedia mine’s not a bona-fide Kedgeree either because i missed out the parsley! (to qualify it needs to include fish, rice, hard boiled eggs, parsley, curry and butter). Let me know how you get on with your vedgeree :o)

    Reply
  • 6. hawthorn  |  April 30, 2010 at 11:30 am

    That sounds good, the recipe that is, and poor old Frosty as least he’s nice new home.

    Did you ever watch ‘It’s not easy being green’ with Dick Strawbridge? they had a delicious soup with sweetcorn and pea and it was bright green and very tasty!
    I made it a couple of times but I can’t find the recipe, hmmm, think I might go for a look, really fancy that again. But am definitely going to try your easy peasy yes peas!

    Reply
  • 7. Christine @ Grub, Sweat and Cheers  |  April 30, 2010 at 1:35 pm

    Oh that poor cat! That’s dreadful.

    I’m not a huge pea fan when they are on their own but that looks great…I love dishes like that where it’s easy to have all the necessary items on hand.

    Hope you have a nice weekend!

    Reply
  • 8. anita  |  April 30, 2010 at 7:30 pm

    oh, love him (the cat that is … oh and George also come to think of it. I used to really loathe peas, but as K loves them I think I just got used to having them around so much that I’ve finally become a pea lover. I’m loud, I’m proud, and I love peas!).

    Kedgeree, now that’s a different matter. Mum made it one time too often and although the rest of the family just got bored with it, for some reason after one particular meal I was … a bit poorly shall we say (I’ll save the gruesome details) and I’ve never felt the same about it since.

    Your tempting pics and descriptions may have helped me on the way to recovery though …

    x

    Reply
  • 9. Rufus  |  May 1, 2010 at 8:47 pm

    Hi Nic, so peased to see you are getting back to your inspiring, educational ways.

    Reply
  • 10. Nip it in the bud  |  May 2, 2010 at 9:54 am

    Hawthorn – I didn’t see any of those programmes but the pea-corn soup sounds scrummy. let me know if you track down the recipe.

    Christine – definitely ranks as a simple supper. Hope the girls like it.

    Anita – I knew there was some deep connection between me and K – pea love obviously! Your impending visit will be a good excuse to try out another recipe.

    boo for memories of food nasties (I have a knew jerk (or is that stomach tremble) reaction to badly cooked risotto. As you wouldn’t put fish in yours anyway I vote re-branding it – there’s all sorts of lovely things you could put in a veggeree :o)

    Rufus – that’s kind of you. Gotta love a story with a happy ending :o)

    Reply
  • 11. Johanna GGG  |  May 7, 2010 at 4:11 am

    what a sad story about that cat – but I hope he finds a happy and very warm home

    I love peas but prefer them cooked – highly recommend Tinned Tomatoes pea pesto – good on toast or with pasta

    Reply
  • 12. recipe for happiness | Nip it in the bud  |  November 20, 2014 at 8:02 am

    […] my cooking more really –  512 blog posts later there’s just one pea recipe in the archive (pea and tuna kedgeree).  I guess it proves I just love them on their own too much and now E is here they don’t even […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 436,936 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

