magimixing in minutes

May 3, 2010 at 7:58 pm 7 comments

It’s true to say I’ve not fully incorporated my MagiMix food processor into daily life yet.  Or used any of the special features that justify it’s ‘twice-the-price-of-your-average-food-processor-but-worth-it‘ reputation.  You could argue it’s an expensive way to improve your grating, blending and chopping experience in the kitchen.  And is it worth it?  Really? Absolutely.  My fingers and time are very valuable to me and both are saved every time I use my MagiMix!  George is able to breath easy knowing I’m not trying to create skinny vegetable sticks and slices with inappropriate knives and I’m relieved that reaching my next birthday with all 10 digits intact is looking more likely.  I’m enjoying the skin on my knuckles being grate free and my smoothies being super smooth.  The time saving I hear you ask?  Believe me when I say I can make a huge batch of coleslaw in minutes.  Trialling my MagiMix in the middle of a cold and snowy January called for an alternative take on the usual mayonnaise laden version.  I used Spiced Damson Ketchup to add a little warmth and colour to the onion, carrot and red cabbage mix.  The damson ketchup was an accidental by product of frozen damsons creating too much liquid in a batch of Spiced Damson Chutney.

Entry filed under: in the kitchen.

fancy a dip? amazing anemones

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Catherine  |  May 4, 2010 at 10:29 am

    That looks AMAZING! I hate mayonaise but love coleslaw-esque salads; I must try this!

    Reply
  • 2. Jacqueline  |  May 4, 2010 at 6:04 pm

    That looks tasty, but I wanted a photo of your magimix too.

    Reply
  • 3. anenthusiast  |  May 5, 2010 at 10:04 am

    Lovely blog! I’ll enjoy reading this- found my way here from the Ministry of Food exhibition blog!

    Reply
  • 4. Nip it in the bud  |  May 5, 2010 at 10:16 pm

    Catherine – what’s not to love about bright purple food ;o)

    Jac – maybe when the kitchen is looking a little tidier!

    an enthusiast – loving your ID ;o) thanks, I’m a fan of the IWM blog too.

    Reply
  • 5. peggy  |  May 13, 2010 at 10:22 am

    The coleslaw looks colourfull and appetizing especially on a cold day! I am not the owner of a MM so I do know what grated knuckles feel like!

    Reply
  • 6. Sophie  |  May 23, 2010 at 9:29 am

    The funky colseslaw looks wonderful & so does the spiced ketchup of damsons ..home made!

    Must be very tasty!

    Reply
  • 7. Nip it in the bud  |  May 25, 2010 at 8:03 am

    Peggy – yikes grated knuckles from a MM would mean no fingers! I used to catch my knuckles on my good old fashioned hand held grater

    Sophie – tasty tasty :o)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 436,936 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

