amazing anemones

May 5, 2010 at 10:03 pm 16 comments

Amazing that such beautiful anemones grow from such gnarly rhizomes.I wonder if it’s worth trying to save some of the seeds?  When I planted the root stalks in October I didn’t know anemones are a perennial flowering herb so wind scattered seed may bring me a surprise flower or two next year anyway.  Such amazing colours are always welcome in my garden.

note to self: flowered in April after a snow laden winter and mild Spring:  pink Sylphide and red Hollandia (a single bloom of each).  No sign of the blue Mr Fokker or mixed De Caen.

Entry filed under: allotment tales.

magimixing in minutes bootees for May flowers

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Choclette  |  May 6, 2010 at 5:36 am

    Anemones are wonderful and these are lovely photos – I hope they spread for you. I’ve never had much luck with them for some reason.

    Reply
  • 2. Bilbo  |  May 6, 2010 at 7:33 am

    Beautiful!

    Reply
  • 3. Steph  |  May 6, 2010 at 9:06 am

    I love anemones. That’s a shame you only got a 50% showing of the ones you put in. Maybe they’ll come through eventually. What a nice treat you’ll have coming through year after year. The pink pinks are gorgeous 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Steph  |  May 6, 2010 at 9:06 am

    pink pinks? i meant ‘pink pics’ !

    Reply
  • 5. Jacqueline  |  May 6, 2010 at 10:43 am

    I just love when flowers pop up year after year, it is such a treat and these are glorious 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Nip it in the bud  |  May 6, 2010 at 8:10 pm

    Choc – I hope so too – don’t want to buy 25 rhizomes again for only 2 to surface.

    Bilbo – thanks (ps. you’re box of garden goodness arrived today :o)

    Steph – I’m thinking there may be some late starters. Fingers crossed for more pink pinks ;o3

    Jac – shall I save you some seed them to scatter about your garden?

    Reply
  • 7. Christine @ Grub, Sweat and Cheers  |  May 7, 2010 at 1:42 pm

    Oh they are beautiful – I’ve never planted any before. Wonder if they could survive our harsh winter…

    Reply
  • 8. Ann  |  May 8, 2010 at 9:15 am

    Lovely pictures, anemones are a beautiful flower, it’ll be interesting to see if you do get any self-seeded ones.

    Reply
  • 9. Johanna  |  May 15, 2010 at 2:00 pm

    love those photos even if I don’t know a thing about anemones

    I have given you an award at http://gggiraffe.blogspot.com/2010/05/awards-and-kreativ-meme.html – do the meme and pass on the award if you like but no pressure if you don’t have the time and/or inclination

    Reply
  • 10. Sophie  |  May 16, 2010 at 9:05 am

    I also love anemonen like we say here in Belgium. they are very pretty flowers!

    Reply
  • 11. reapwhatyougrow  |  May 18, 2010 at 5:51 pm

    I’ve never had much luck with Anemone’s reflowering the next year, but they are lovely flowers while they last
    .

    Reply
  • 12. reapwhatyougrow  |  May 18, 2010 at 5:53 pm

    By the way, I am on ravelry too, I am for some reason called cloudybay. Will try to link up so we can compare projects!

    Reply
  • 13. Nip it in the bud  |  May 19, 2010 at 6:37 pm

    Christine – mine survived the harshest winter on record for 30 years so I reckon they’re worth a try!

    Ann – poppies spring up around the plot so I’m sure they will (perhaps other gardeners nearby won’t thank me for it though!)

    Johanna – thanks for the compliment on both accounts. I’m grateful for the honour of being nominated but tend not to partake in award sharing (I barely seem to get time for blogging even these days)

    Sophie – where else but in blog world can you learn words in a new language through a shared love of flowers :o)

    Moy – I wouldn’t worry about your anemones not seeding when you have such beautiful irises in your garden.
    I shall look you up on Ravelry – I don’t recall my login so just as well my computer logs me straight in

    Reply
  • 14. Johanna  |  May 20, 2010 at 10:51 am

    no worries – I have many awards I have not participated in – but happy to bring a little warm feelings to blogs I enjoy reading

    Reply
  • 15. julia  |  September 9, 2010 at 4:22 pm

    may have a pic of your blue anemone in full bloom and one where the seeds are well exposed? I am writing a book dedicated to my deceased mom and she loved blue anemones. I would like to use the picture in my book if you give me permission to do so. Thank you for your lovely, informative blog.
    Julia

    Reply
    • 16. Nip it in the bud  |  September 9, 2010 at 9:31 pm

      Hi Julia, I’m sorry to hear your mum’s no longer with you.
      I’m happy for you to use my anemone photo if it helps you remember your mum so fondly. I appreciate you asking and will email you now …

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 422,184 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

