bootees for May flowers

May 19, 2010 at 7:33 pm 13 comments

Two very special friends have become mum’s this month so I’ve been busily knitting up more baby bootees.  I knew in advance that Jasmin and Matt were naming their daughter Daisy Belle and needed no further excuse for making a flower inspired pressie.   Ever the gardener I picked a grass coloured yarn as I’m not a fan of conventional pastel pinks and blues for new babies.  I couldn’t find a pattern for tiny knitted flowers so opted for the simplicity of felt flowers again (rather tricky this tiny but made possible using manicure scissors!).  With the daisy flowering on the front I used poppers instead of buttons for the straps.  Daisy was born a few weeks early bless her so it’ll be a little while before her bootees fit her.  Nevertheless it was really satisfying for me to post off her  parcel knowing they’d be delivered the same day as she was.

Mel and Keiron’s baby kept everyone waiting and wondering for an extra 2 weeks but arrived safe and well last week.  At 9lb 11oz I don’t think Rosa Willow will have much trouble filling her bootees!

Entry filed under: being creative.

amazing anemones how to grow perfect Primo Rollos

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Choclette  |  May 19, 2010 at 7:55 pm

    I so love your booties – they make me feel quite broody. I know the “knit and natter” group at work make flowers, but no idea if they can or do make tiny ones. Interesting that both babies have floral names – is this the latest fashion I wonder? One of my friends recent babies is a daisy too.

    Reply
  • 2. Bilbo  |  May 19, 2010 at 9:01 pm

    GORGEOUS! You are a clever girl, and those are so much more fun than wishy washy pastels.

    Reply
  • 3. Jacqueline  |  May 19, 2010 at 10:12 pm

    They are lovely. Such a thoughtful gift. I am of the colourful baby clothes band.

    Reply
  • 4. miss m  |  May 20, 2010 at 12:52 am

    9lbs 11 ! Whoa, that’s a BIG baby ! Congrats to both couples ! 🙂
    Your booties are sooooo cute ! I want some ! Do you do 8 1/2 ?

    Reply
  • 5. Johanna  |  May 20, 2010 at 10:49 am

    gorgeous boottees – I love the colour and the flowers – you are so clever and I am sure your friends will love their gifts

    Reply
  • 6. anenthusiast  |  May 20, 2010 at 9:13 pm

    Funnily enough I really do think flower names are in fashion. My 8 month old is Poppy and and little friend a few weeks older is Ivy! Gorgeous, gorgeous bootees!

    Reply
  • 7. peggy  |  May 21, 2010 at 11:41 pm

    What gorgeous bootees and handmade gifts for the lucky babies! I think the days of pastel pinks and blues are long gone judging by my own children and the colours they chose when buying for their babies.

    Reply
  • 8. Nip it in the bud  |  May 25, 2010 at 8:00 am

    Choc – you’re a knitter too then? If you come across any teeny tiny flowerlets do let me know. Judging by the other comments flower names are looking popular

    Bilbo – thanks. I’ve got some patterns for knitted veg which also look ace but I’ll have to teach myself to crochet first!

    Jac – babies are style icons these days!

    Miss M – {grin} that’s what Mel asked too. I think they’d be a slip, trip and fall waiting to happen!

    Johanna – thanks, the flowers make all the difference don’t they ;o) reckon they’d look cute too with some button work

    anenthusiast – ah little white ones with bright red poppies would look lovely me thinks. I bet you have a lot of fun in your house :o)

    Peggy – i love giving and receiving handmade gifts. And so appreciated – it makes you feel all glowy :o)

    Reply
  • 9. UK lass in US  |  May 29, 2010 at 11:18 pm

    Aw, so sweet! I’m a little disappointed that I don’t seem to know many people that are expecting, as I keep finding these sweet patterns for baby things around the place. I’ve had those booties bookmarked for a while.

    Reply
    • 10. Nip it in the bud  |  May 30, 2010 at 11:47 am

      I’ve got some of your sewing patterns tagged too but it’s skill rather than a lack of little girls to create them for that holds me back!

      Reply
  • 11. Christine @ Grub, Sweat and Cheers  |  June 3, 2010 at 4:25 pm

    Oh they are adorable. I love the vibrant colours. I have to knit a baby present this summer and was thinking a blanket but am having a hard time deciding on neutral non-pastel colours…

    Reply
  • 12. reapwhatyougrow  |  June 23, 2010 at 9:24 am

    Hi Nic
    Was great to meet you the other day. I absolutely adore these bootees and you have inspired me to make something for my little nephew. The more I read, the more I realise how much we have in commong, although I think there is a definite connection between gardening and knitting/crochet, although I can’t work out what!

    Moy
    x

    Reply
    • 13. Nip it in the bud  |  June 23, 2010 at 2:54 pm

      I’m still reeling in the synchronicity of you being at the allotment when we visited. It was lovely to meet you and J too. I read all sorts of blogs and love the fact that so many people garden by day and knit by night and usually with a cat lurking in the background :o)
      Hope you’re all enjoying the sunshine.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 436,834 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

