how to grow perfect Primo Rollos

May 25, 2010 at 8:06 am 10 comments

Net them against pesky pigeons!

These Primo Rollo cabbage plants, donated by Henley, were planted out just over a week ago.  Hopefully I can look forward to lifting a beauty like last years in a month or two if the valiant little pigeon pecked cabbages recover.

I noticed a cabbage white butterfly trapped under the netting today and recalled Matron’s comment in response to last years caterpillar clean up post

‘know anyone who keeps chickens?
they’ll mug you for those caterpillars and might give you some eggs in return!’.

Not sure how everyone else in the office would feel if I rocked up to work with a bag full of caterpillars for my Manager!

I’m feeling a bit squeamish now recalling the fate of last years caterpillars so for no other reason here’s a cheering picture of my purple sensation alliums.  I can’t imagine a more fitting name.  Strange to see that all five purple sensation alliums  survived the winter but none of the white or pink aflatunense alliums did. 

Entry filed under: allotment tales.

bootees for May flowers being territorial

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bilbo  |  May 25, 2010 at 9:48 am

    That first photo is a bit heart-breaking. I suppose an air-rifle is out of the question? :}

    Reply
  • 2. allotofveg  |  May 25, 2010 at 8:00 pm

    I share your brassica based pain.

    Reply
    • 3. allotofveg  |  May 31, 2010 at 10:28 pm

      Have linked to your post “Favourites” as I have finally done my photo montage – hope you don’t mind!

      Reply
  • 4. Jacqueline  |  May 25, 2010 at 8:42 pm

    I though this post was about chocolate for a minute there 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. anita  |  May 25, 2010 at 9:10 pm

    Oh no! Hope they spring back. Still, makes me feel mildly better about a recurring nightmare – sadly based on reality – about being made to cycle over caterpillars in a gladiators-style challenge by a so-called ‘friend’ of mine when I was about 8 years old. I feel very squeamish about the fate about those caterpillars!

    Reply
  • 6. Choclette  |  May 26, 2010 at 8:37 pm

    Last year’s cabbage sure is a beauty and a gorgeous picture of your allium.

    Reply
  • 7. Ann  |  May 29, 2010 at 10:12 am

    It took me years to realise it was the wood pigeons eating my cabbages!!! I was always blaming slugs and snails. Now that I’ve netter them they are growing great. Hope you can find a friendly chicken to do a bit of pest clearing for you!

    Reply
  • 8. Christine @ Grub, Sweat and Cheers  |  June 3, 2010 at 4:26 pm

    Hope they recover! Last year’s was a beauty.

    Something is nibbling at my kale and spinach…think it’s canker worms…yippeeeee….

    Reply
  • 9. Nip it in the bud  |  June 10, 2010 at 8:08 pm

    Bilbo – pigeon pie has been mentioned on a number of occasions along with seagull stew!

    allotofveg – thank you, baldie recovered well. I bet you savoured every mouthful of your one or two florets ;o)
    your photo mosaic is great – we share a love of more than gardening I see

    Jac – {grin} it would be ace to grow a rollo tree. I certainly wouldn’t be giving my last rollo to the pigeons!

    Anita – eewww, that would give me nightmares too. The image of G ‘disposing’ of last years is branded in my memory.

    Choc – thanks, they’re recovering so fingers crossed for an August beauty

    Ann – we never catch them at it crafty things! Caterpillars have been bagsied should any butterflies get under the netting

    Chris – pleased to report they are coming back to life. Canker worms, that doesn’t sound nice.

    Reply
  • 10. plot taming … oh my word! « Nip it in the bud  |  June 2, 2012 at 7:00 pm

    […] a bit too wilty to photograph and lovely purple allium ball heads (not quite as attractive as in photos from previous years with a backdrop of mud and weeds!) Share this:EmailFacebookStumbleUponDiggTwitterLike this:LikeBe […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 423,117 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

