being territorial

June 8, 2010 at 8:52 pm 12 comments



Every time Mikey suns himself on the back wall this Robin appears and begins his territorial warbling. Mikey doesn’t even realise it’s for his benefit.
(video takes a few seconds to load)



Look at him. Does he look scary to you?

Entry filed under: home life.

how to grow perfect Primo Rollos puzzling potatoes

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Norm  |  June 8, 2010 at 9:19 pm

    I love how the cat looks so nonchalant as the robin works his way into a frenzy! I was at my parents’ in South Devon last week and they have a robins’ nest in their wall. It was amazing watching them, but I got treated to some of that frenzied warbling when they spotted me trying to take photos of them!

    Reply
  • 2. Bilbo  |  June 9, 2010 at 7:41 am

    Awwww, bless !

    Reply
  • 3. Ann  |  June 9, 2010 at 9:57 am

    What a fierce Robin! Loved the video, Mikey looks totally unimpressed.

    We’ve had a Sparrow Hawk eating the garden birds around here. This summer the Crows have been mobbing it.

    Reply
  • 4. anitanee  |  June 9, 2010 at 1:49 pm

    Fantastic. Can I hear some very subtle improv running quietly alongside, or is it some random music being played next door that I’ve convinced myself is in rhythm with the Robin?! x

    Reply
  • 5. Tom  |  June 9, 2010 at 4:46 pm

    My Cupid would sit on the side of the outdoor pool sunning herself.
    When one of the mockingbirds would dive-bomb her she would stand on her hind legs at “bat the air” furiously.

    Reply
  • 6. mangocheeks  |  June 9, 2010 at 4:57 pm

    I hope your feeling much better Nic. It seems like such a long time since I commented on your litle blog.

    I like cats, I really do. But I like birds too. So theres room only for one.

    Reply
  • 7. Nip it in the bud  |  June 10, 2010 at 3:16 pm

    Norm – Robins’s are really vocal and if I was a little bird I’d certainly give them a wide birth. ‘nonchalant’ is a very apt description for Mikey – he has no idea what a stir he’s causing!

    Bilbo – I wonder what he’d make of all the wildlife in your garden?

    Ann – ew, hope you don’t find any leftovers among your lettuces. Whenever a sparrow hawk circles at the allotment the crows make a right racket. I found a dead mouse once which I reckon had been dropped from the sky

    Anita – that would be clever and creative of me but no it’s the radio. Perhaps he’s a rocking robin ;o

    Tom – good old Cupid. I love it when cats bat the air, Poppet’s a great proponent of that in our house. She especially loves to scratch at the mirror to frighten off the pesky and persistant tortoiseshell that lives inside it and scratches back just as hard!

    MC – really good thanks just haven’t got back into the swing of blogging. So much to write about I don’t know where to start or it feels like old news. Anyway I grew tired of looking at pigeon pecked cabbages and Mikey made for a short and sweet post. I always appreciate your lovely comments.
    ps. rest assured no robins were hurt in the making of this video ;o) Our 3 are house cats so they’re curious but thankfully don’t bring in feathered presents for us

    Reply
  • 8. Ann  |  June 10, 2010 at 6:03 pm

    Glad the package arrived ok Nic. The embroidery stitches on my machine are really useful for things like the bag and pincushion, it makes it a lot quicker to make them. I still haven’t used my machine to it’s full potential though.

    Reply
  • 9. mangocheeks  |  June 10, 2010 at 8:20 pm

    Thats okay Nic. I haven’t done much cooking recenty, it seems to be salads or dips.

    Reply
  • 10. Hazel at the Hill  |  June 11, 2010 at 12:08 am

    Look at him. Does he look scary to you?

    Well, me being 5’4″ in my stockinged feet, no. If I were a teeny (but fierce robin) then, yes!

    Good to see you back in blogland, Nic. Don’t worry about overwhelming backlog (bloglag as Bilbo will tell you) – draw a line & start again with pic & well chosen words, as you have here.

    Hope you are fighting fit once again – don’t do too much …. dadada ….. sorry, mother hen overdrive………

    Reply
  • 11. Nip it in the bud  |  June 14, 2010 at 9:27 pm

    Ann – sounds like your machine could sing and dance given the opportunity :o) No wonder you keep coming up with such creative designs

    MC – your salads and dips still look so enticing. Loved your rescuing of the butter beans to make a spread

    Hazel – he’s a softy and really has no idea what other cats do to birds. They’re house cats so we’ve never had the displeasure of feathered presents dropped at our feet.
    Bloglag is spot on! At least I have less time for blogging because I’m getting out on the garden more – no complaints there!

    Reply
  • 12. miss m  |  June 25, 2010 at 12:51 pm

    Gotta love UK robins ! So much cuter than ours.

    Great to see Mikey “live”. He’s adorable ! 😀
    I was going to ask about “feathered presents” but then saw your reply to MC. Unfortunately mine (not being house cats) sometimes do. 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 420,556 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

