in praise of poppies

June 21, 2010 at 7:45 am 17 comments


Poppies are flowering in abundance on the allotment especially on uncultivated ground.   The unworked plots are a tangle of nettles, thistles, seeding grass and weeds up close.   From my plot at the bottom of the field the gorgeous scatterings of red, orange and purple poppies brightens my pause from digging.   Beauty is in the eye of the beholder and this particular weed remains a welcome visitor to my plot.

Entry filed under: allotment tales.

puzzling potatoes succulent strawberries

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ann  |  June 21, 2010 at 8:28 am

    Gorgeous, I love those wild poppies, driving past a field of them is a sight for sore eyes!

    Reply
  • 2. Steph  |  June 21, 2010 at 1:09 pm

    great pics. i love the humble poppy 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Gillie  |  June 21, 2010 at 1:25 pm

    I agree about poppies! There’s an empty plot across from my bank where someone has scattered poppy seeds, nothing fancy, but so cheerful!

    Reply
  • 4. michelle  |  June 21, 2010 at 10:10 pm

    So pretty! I too love poppies.

    Reply
  • 5. Christine @ Grub, Sweat and Cheers  |  June 22, 2010 at 4:51 pm

    Stunning pictures…the colour of the first one is amazing. Who knew poppies were weeds…well, ok, likely everybody but me…but still, I’d take them over the beasts devouring my allotment any day.

    Reply
  • 6. Nip it in the bud  |  June 22, 2010 at 9:33 pm

    Ann – a whole field would be breathtaking. I love the bright yellow fields of rape seed too

    Steph – nature left to it’s own devices is simply wonderful

    Gillie – at least they stop other weeds growing too. win-win 😮

    Michelle – I like your cultivated poppy patch. Any plans for the seed heads? I wonder if they taste all that different to the commercially available seeds for sprinkling on bread?

    Christine – purple in the garden is a fave of mine.
    For every villain in the garden there are heroes waiting in the wings (like the ladybirds eating the black fly – but severely outnumbered!) Just think of all the gardening you can do now you’re not training

    Reply
  • 7. reapwhatyougrow  |  June 23, 2010 at 9:26 am

    These are really breathtaking photos. I love all the poppies you have shown, but in particular the lilac/purple double one. What an amazing flower, like a peony.

    I will have to seek some of those out for the garden!

    Reply
    • 8. Nip it in the bud  |  June 23, 2010 at 12:01 pm

      I’m keeping an eye on them so I can snip some seed heads when they die back. If I manage to snaffle them I’ll send you some :o)

      Reply
  • 9. Robin  |  June 23, 2010 at 3:03 pm

    Yeah – that top one – we noticed it the other day (and I took a photo too) when the seeds are ready I intend to nab some.

    Reply
  • 10. Bilbo  |  June 24, 2010 at 10:29 pm

    Hope you get some seeds from the lilac double. It’s a beauty, opium poppies are one of my favourites.

    Reply
  • 11. miss m  |  June 25, 2010 at 12:56 pm

    How dare you call them weeds, Nic !
    (WIth weeds like that, who needs flowers ?)
    Gorgeous ! The purple double is a stunner for sure.

    Reply
  • 12. Nip it in the bud  |  June 25, 2010 at 1:18 pm

    Robin – speaking to Lester this week I fear the ground may be cleared before the seed heads are ready. I nabbed a couple but then read you can’t just dry them out if picked prematurely.

    Bilbo – may have to do a little stealthy seed snaffling for that one… or just ask the plot holder homing them nicely :o)

    Miss M – exactly :o) In this context of their creation I dare to call them weeds for their random self seeding. But we’re definitely in agreement if my ‘beautiful weeds’ post from last year is anything to go by ;o)

    Reply
  • 13. Tom  |  June 26, 2010 at 5:19 pm

    The strawberries look yummie!

    Reply
  • 14. Nic  |  July 1, 2010 at 1:43 pm

    Wow, what a wonderful array of poppies!

    Reply
  • 15. alifelesssimple  |  July 2, 2010 at 5:36 am

    I have so many packets of poppy seeds that I mean to scatter, my favourites are the corn field poppies, or the danish flag poppies.

    Reply
  • 16. Nic's husband  |  July 9, 2010 at 8:55 pm

    Be really careful with picking poppy heads for seeds! All parts of the somniferum poppy contain opiates which could make you ill if you don’t get them at the right time.

    Reply
  • 17. Choclette  |  July 16, 2010 at 7:38 pm

    Aren’t they wonderful. We sowed a couple of packets of wild flowers in our plot this year and we’ve got some gorgeous poppies that have come through – none quite as good as your plum coloured one though.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 436,440 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

