goosegogs

July 19, 2010 at 6:36 am 8 comments

Green’s my favourite colour so I’m quite taken with my new gooseberry header. Not least because the gooseberry bush is a new addition to my plot this year thanks to dear old Henley. Now that Henley can’t manage his plot Dave has taken it over, but not before he was instructed to ‘make sure that nice young girl down the end gets my wheelbarrow’.  I was grinning from ear to ear as I wheeled it and it’s bushy passenger to their new home on my patch and continued to smile as I pondered where but on an allotment site a 35 year old would be considered to be so youthful!  I also wonder how I ever managed without a wheelbarrow all these years.
I hadn’t expected my knee-high gooseberry bush to fruit this year but it’s thriving in it’s new spot.  I put this down to Dave’s sage advice to soak the ground hole first, water in the bush and never let it get too dry while it recovers from the shock of being moved.  I let the birds have the handful of ripe ruby red goosegogs this year.  I won’t be so generous next year when I hope to have enough to try these mouthwatering recipes for jam, cake and ice-cream –  strawberry and gooseberry jam, gooseberry and almond streudel squares, gooseberry and elderflower ice cream, mackerel with gooseberry and thyme.

Entry filed under: allotment tales.

more or less? first harvests

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Johanna  |  July 19, 2010 at 11:58 am

    those beautiful green photos make me very happy – never seen gooseberries on a bush before – they usually look a bit limp in a plastic container before I see them – but these look like food of the gods

    Reply
  • 2. Ruth  |  July 19, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    You take such amazing pics. Will be very grateful for your blog once we’re gone 😦

    Reply
  • 3. Tom  |  July 19, 2010 at 2:50 pm

    Congratulations on your newly acquired wheelbarrow, nice young girl!

    Reply
  • 4. miss m  |  July 19, 2010 at 3:52 pm

    ::having major gooseberrie envy::

    Reply
  • 5. mangocheeks  |  July 19, 2010 at 8:02 pm

    Love your new header. The green is so inviting. Those goosegogs are so plump!

    And Yes how on earth did you manage without a wheelbarrow for so long.
    Happy Wheeling Young lass!

    Reply
  • 6. Christine @ Grub, Sweat and Cheers  |  July 21, 2010 at 4:57 pm

    The green is so lovely and fresh! I’m actually not sure I’ve ever tasted a gooseberry. I’m guessing they are tart?

    Lucky you getting a wheelbarrow!

    Reply
  • 7. Nip it in the bud  |  July 21, 2010 at 10:11 pm

    Johanna – green fans alike us two :o) nothing like home grown gooseberries. Henri gave me some to eat at the allotment today and while the skins retain their tartness the soft insides are so sweet. Could never eat a shop bought gooseberry like that

    Ruth – thanks lovely. Your hubby’s good with the old snaps so maybe a family blog is on it’s way. We’ll miss you all and look forward to sharing Gloucester life with you online

    Tom – {chuckle}

    Miss M – roll on next year when you can envy some delicious puddingy concoction too ;o)

    Mangocheeks – I really don’t know. It’s my new best friend

    Christine – they can be but mainly because shop bought ones are picked too early. Properly ripened on the bush you can eat them raw and if you don’t like the skins the soft centre comes straight out with a single squeeze. Very satisfying!

    Reply
  • 8. Bilbo  |  July 21, 2010 at 10:59 pm

    Green is also the colour of envy and that is just what I feel looking at those wonderful bushes!

    Never mind, in a year or two I will have my own {gg}

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 428,414 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

